
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS 

LICENSING AND REGISTRATION UNIT 
 

CLASS 3 
Accessory Dwelling Unit Rental License Application 

 

 

PART A ACCESSORY DWELLING UNIT (ADU): 

Address:    
Street Address 

 
Is ADU under construction or will be?   Y / N 

*See #1 (a) ii on back 

Start Date of Rental:  /  /   
 

  

ADU Detached? Y/N 

City 
 
 
 
Number of Occupants:    

(18 years of age or older) 

Zip 
 

Obtained Building Permit?   Y / N 
*See #1 (a) iii on back 

Number of Kitchens:   
(This includes main house kitchen) 

Location of ADU on property:   Lot Acreage:     
 

Location of Entrance Door to ADU:     
 

Square footage of driveway:     
       *See 3 on back 

 
 

Change to Original Floor Plan?   Y / N 
       (If Yes, explain on separate paper) 

Sq. ft. of principal dwelling:   Sq. ft. of ADU:     

Date of Purchase:  (If within 6 months, include HUD‐1/Closing form) 

Is ADU approved by Homeowners Association? Yes / No / N/A 
        *See #8 on back 

Year ADU Built:   
*See #7 on back 

Is there an active special exception (SE) for your ADU?  Y / N If so, SE #:    I want SE revoked:    Yes / No 
 

PART B OWNER INFORMATION: 
*See 1 (b) on back 

 

First Owner’s Name Second Owner’s Name 
 
 

Full Street Address/State/Zip Full Street Address /State/Zip 
 
 

Primary Phone Cellular Phone Primary Phone Cellular Phone 
 
 

Email Address Email Address 
 

I affirm under penalty of perjury that the above information is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. I also understand that if there are any changes in property 
ownership, owner address, or agent/contact information that I must notify Montgomery County Department of Housing and Community Affairs (DHCA), Licensing & 
Registration within 10 days of the change. 

 

Owner’s Signature Date Second Owner’s Signature Date 

(Please Read All Instructions on Back Prior 
to Submitting Application) 

Fees Required at Application Submission: 
Application Fee: $260.00 

Annual License Fee (7/1 - 6/30): $122.00 
Sign Fee:  $230.00 

Total: $612.00 

Mail Application with Payments to: 
DHCA/Licensing and Registration Unit 

1401 Rockville Pike, 4th Floor 
Rockville, Maryland 20852 

 
Checks Payable to: Montgomery County, MD 

Official Use Only: 
License No.    

 
Received Date   

Evidence of OPR   

Apt/Driveway Sketch          

Residential Zone     

Meets requirements:  Y / N 



Class 3 Accessory Dwelling Unit Application Instructions 
1. File Class 3 Accessory Dwelling Unit license application with Department of Housing and Community Affairs, Licensing and 

Registration Unit. You must mail or apply in person at the following address: Hours: 8:30 AM – 5 PM, Mon-Fri 
DHCA/Licensing and Registration Unit, 1401 Rockville Pike, 4th Floor • Rockville, Maryland 20852  

a. Part A:  Accessory Dwelling Unit (ADU) 

i. Full street address including city, state and zip code. 
ii. If the ADU is a new construction or under construction, select “Y” and a building permit is required. You 

will be able to apply for permits from the Department of Permitting Services by providing a copy of your 
initial inspection report from and stamped drawings from DHCA. 

iii. If you have a building permit, select “Y”. If not, you will be able to apply for permits from the Department 
of Permitting Services by providing a copy of your initial inspection report and stamped drawings from 
DHCA.  Submit copies of open permits with ADU application. 

iv. Indicate the start date of rental and the number of occupants over the age of 18 years old. 
v. If ADU is detached from main house, select “Y” and write the location of the ADU. 

vi. Indicate how many kitchens are in all (main house, ADU, etc). 
vii. Indicate location of the ADU entrance door. (i.e., right side of house, rear) 

viii. Indicate the dimensions of the driveway. 
ix. Indicate the lot acreage (i.e., 1 acre, half acre, etc). 
x. Indicate the square footage of the entire house and the square footage of just the ADU alone. 
xi. If there was a change in the original floor plan, select “Y” and indicate the change(s). 

xii. If you purchased the property within the last 6 months, please include copy of the settlement form. 
 

b. Part B:  Owner Information 

i. Write all legal owners’ full names and full street addresses, include primary phone numbers, cellular 
numbers, and email addresses. All legal owners must sign the application. If needed, attach a separate 
sheet for additional owner information and signatures. 

2. Show evidence of primary residence for all legal owners (select one below) 

a. The owner’s most recent Maryland income tax return; or 
b. The owner’s current Maryland’s driver’s license; or 
c. The owner’s real estate tax bill for the address of the proposed accessory dwelling unit. 

 
3. Provide detailed drawings with the dimensions of the proposed accessory dwelling unit and the driveway. Must 

be submitted on an 8 ½” x 11” paper. If blueprint, scale down to an 8 ½” x 11” sized paper. Must show dimensions, entrance 
door, interior doors, windows, bathroom fixtures, kitchen appliances, each room labeled (kitchen, bathroom etc.), stairs or door 
to main house (if applicable).  Driveway drawing must show driveway with dimensions labeled (length and width). 

4. Sign affidavit for attestation of the continued use of the property as the owner’s primary residence, attestation that the 
ADU will not be occupied by more than two persons 18 years age or older, the community association does not prohibit 
ADU, and owners are not more than 30 days past due on any common ownership community fees. Affidavit does not 
need to be notarized or signed in front of our staff. All legal owners must sign.  All legal owners must sign. 

5. The filing fee, license application fee, and sign fee deposit are paid at time of submission. $125 of the application fee is 
refundable if the DHCA Director finds the property does not meet zoning requirements. 

6. Post Class 3 ADU public notice sign within 5 days of acceptance on the property in a place visible from each public road 
which abuts the property. Sign remains posted for 30 days or until initial inspection is completed, whichever is 
longer.  $110 of the sign fee deposit will be refunded when the sign is returned in a clean, undamaged, and reusable 
condition. 

7. Is this property built before January 1, 1978? If YES, the ADU MUST be registered with Maryland Department of the 
Environment (MDE) and inspected for lead paint after construction is completed. Maryland law requires that all owners 
of residential rental property comply with the State Lead Poisoning Prevention requirements and that proof of 
compliance be provided to local government before authorizing a property be rented. For further information regarding 
Lead Poisoning Prevention and compliance, call MDE at 1‐800‐633‐6101 or 410‐537‐4199. Copies of Lead Inspection 
Certificates or MDE registration must be provided to our office with your Class 3 Accessory Dwelling Unit application. 
This is not required if the property will not be rented, but you must then submit a signed statement with your application. 

8. Contact your homeowners’ association or see your association’s covenants or deed for their rules and regulations 
regarding accessory dwelling units. Any decisions by DHCA will not override the covenants or deed. 

Note: If your check is returned unpaid, your account will be debited electronically for the original check amount and electronically or via 
paper for the state’s maximum allowable service fee. Payment by check constitutes authorization of these transactions. Edited 6/21/23 
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