Montgomery County: Keeping It SAFE

Under Twenty-one Alcohol Prevention Coalition

Deter under 21 alcohol use, Reduce youth access to alcohol and

Reduce the effects of under 21 alcohol use

KIS phone: 240-777-6652; KIS web site: www.montgomerycountymd.gov/kis

Cost of Adult and Under 21 DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol)

Description:	Estimated Expense:
Lawyer Fees	\$1,500 - \$5,000
Bail	\$150 - \$2,500
Towing Fees	\$100-\$1,200
Court Costs/Citation Fines	\$300-\$1,500
Alcohol Education Classes	\$600 - \$1,000
Driver Improvement Program	\$75 - \$150
Insurance Rate Increases*	\$3,600 - \$6,600 (AAA estimates \$2,200 a
	year for 3 years)*
Interlock System Rental & Installation	\$200 - \$300
Interlock System Monthly Calibration	\$1020 (\$85 per month)
MVA Reinstatement Fee (if driver loses license or has	\$100
suspension)	
Maryland Probation (Parole) Supervision Monthly Fee	\$480 (\$40 per month)
TOTAL:	\$8,025 - \$19,850

^{*} Please note that some insurance companies will drop drivers even upon arrest, regardless of conviction. High-risk insurance costs at least an additional \$2,000 a year for three years, on average. Most insurance companies look at records for at least three years and sometimes for five years.

Montgomery County: Keeping It SAFE

Under Twenty-one Alcohol Prevention Coalition

Deter under 21 alcohol use, Reduce youth access to alcohol and

Reduce the effects of under 21 alcohol use

KIS phone: 240-777-6652; KIS web site: www.montgomerycountymd.gov/kis

The unexpected and sometimes unquantifiable costs:

Finally, there are several other costs that you need to remember:

- **Psychological Impact:** embarrassment, shame, guilt, worry, or an individual's trustworthiness has been broken.
- Lost time = lost money. People who've gotten DUIs report missing a lot of work (and therefore losing a lot of income) dealing with their mistake, as a result of court dates, community service and sometimes a jail sentence. That doesn't even count the lost free time.
- It's not good for the résumé. A DUI lingers on your criminal record and most employers will do a criminal background check to see if you have any convictions. This could result in a disqualification for jobs that may require driving as part of the job description. One could loose their current job that involves driving as part of the job description. A DUI can affect a many possibilities with your current job or future jobs.
- **DUI and College Applications.** Individuals who have been convicted of an underage DUI must list it on their college applications. This can prevent the student from being accepted. Those convicted of an underage DUI who have not listed it on their application are subject to immediate dismissal from the institution if it is discovered.
- Transportation Impact. In Maryland a minimum 45 day administrative license suspension occurs immediately. Driving privileges can be restored during a suspension, but drivers must demonstrate special hardship, and the restored privileges often come with limitations. This could result in an accumulation of daily bus and/or metro fees. This could also impact your family or friends if you need to rely on them for transportation resulting in increased gas fees and wear and tear on their vehicles on your behalf.
- **Driving Record & Insurance Impact.** You will receive 12 points on your on your driving record and be required to have Maryland SR22 (High Risk Auto Insurance | DWI/DUI) insurance. Maryland SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI -DWI drunk driving alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive.
- Damages & Liability Responsibilities. The driver who was at fault and caused the accident must pay damages to anyone (other driver, passenger, pedestrian) who was injured or harmed by the accident. There are two main categories of damages in Maryland car accident law, property damage and personal injury damages. The at-fault driver must pay to have the damaged vehicle repaired. If injury occurred you will also be responsible to cover the medical bills caused by the accident, the income the injured lost as a result of the accident and an additional amount for pain, suffering, inconvenience and the like. If the driver is under 21 parents and their assets could be impacted by costs or by lawsuits.