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Keeping Youth SAFE as best as you can
Tips: When the party is NOT in your home

Call the host to verify the plans

Are other parents aware?

Exchange contact information with the host’s parents/guardians.
Will there be supervision throughout the entire evening?
Discuss all the party plans with your teen.

What kind of neighborhood is the home or facility located in?

Know the street address and a phone number.

What kind of lighting is there? Street, parking lot, building lights.

How far away is parking from the party location?

Avre there any concealed areas: construction sites, bushes, landscaped areas?

What kind of terrain is there that might cause an injury, for example a sprained ankle?
Are there any loose items such as decorations, trash, forgotten equipment or tools that
could be used as projectiles? If it can be picked up and tossed, it will be.

It is ok to check out the area before the event date.

What time will your teen get home?

Keep in mind the provisional driver license restrictions. Time (12 am to 5 am) and
passenger restrictions
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/rookie-driver/general-provisional.htm
Allow for travel time when deciding on a curfew

How late do you want to stay up?

What is going on the next day?

If your teenager stays overnight with a friend after the party, personally check with the parents.

Be sure the parents will be home and want your teen to stay over.
Spontaneous “sleep-over” arrangements should always be confirmed with the host
parents.

Develop a signal or code with your teen in case they need help.

Make sure that your teen knows to contact you if the plans change or emergencies arise.
Up close and personal: greet your teen with a hug and/or a kiss when they return home.
Reassure your teen that they can contact you for a ride home, anytime. Avoid probing questions

at the time of pick up. Save the discussion for the next day after you both have rested. Have open
conversations.
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e Remember that it is illegal to serve, provide, or furnish alcohol to children under the age
of 21

e Effective October 1, 2016, Alex and Calvin’s Law:
Prohibiting a person from knowingly and willfully allowing an individual under 21 years
old to possess or consume an alcoholic beverage at a residence the person owns or leases
and in which the person resides or furnishing an alcoholic beverage for consumption to
an individual under 21 years old if the adult knew or reasonably should have known the
individual would operate a motor vehicle and did operate the vehicle under the influence
of alcohol and caused serious injury or death; etc. Maryland Criminal law 10-116 & 10-
117
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?stab=01&pid=billpage&tab=subject
3&ys=2016rs&id=HB0409

National

e Remember it is illegal to permit smoking for children under the age of 18.
Many kids are vaping now and it is difficult for parents to detect due to lack of odor.
Nicotine delivery system: e-cigarettes, e-cig, hookah pen, e-hookah, vape pipe. Regular
or flavored
Also an instrument for smoking Marijuana.
Maryland and Federal tobacco sales laws:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/notobaccosalestominors/Documents/ctpc_federal chart.pdf
Many kids are vaping now and it is difficult for parents to detect due to lack of odor.

e Legal drinking age: 21

For further assistance, call 301-670-SAFE (7233).

Keeping It SAFE: Under 21 alcohol prevention coalition, 240-777-6652
or abs.kKis@montgomerycountymd.gov

Under 21 alcohol use is illegal, unhealthy, and unacceptable
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