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Introduction 

MEMORANDUM 

January 15,2010 

TO: County Council 

FROM: Glenn Orlin%eputy Council Staff Director 

SUBJECT: Introduction-resolution to amend FYI 0 transportation fees, charges, and fares 

On January 15 the County Executive transmitted a recommendation that the regular Ride 
On fares be increased by 10 cents per ride: from $1.25 to $1.35 for fares paid with a SmarTrip 
Card and from $1.35 to $1.45 for fares paid with cash or tokens. This increase would match the 
Metrobus fare increase under consideration by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit 
Authority. The County's (and region's) policy for many years is to strive to have all the public 
bus systems charge the same fare. The Executive also proposes increasing the Metrorail-to-Ride 
On transfer from $0.75 to $0.85 and the Day Pass from $3.00 to $3.20. These increases would 
go into effect on March 1, the same day that the Metrobus increase would go into effect if the 
WMATA approves its increase on January 28. The Department of Transportation estimates that 
these fare increases would generate $205,000 more revenue during the last four months of FYI O. 

The Executive's transmittal memorandum is on ©1 and a draft adoption resolution is on 
©2-8. The proposed fare changes are on ©3. 

A public hearing on the Executive's proposal will be held on Thursday, February 4 at 
7:30 pm in the Council's 3rd Floor Hearing Room. Final Council action is tentatively scheduled 
for February 9. 

f:\orlin\fyIO\fylOt&e\fees fines fares\IOOI19intro.doc 
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Isiah 
County Executive 

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE 
ROCKV1LLE, MARYLAND 20850 

MEMORANDUM 

January 15,2010 

TO: Nancy Floreen, President, County counc~ ~ 

FROM: Isiah Leggett, County Executive---P~ 
SUBJECT: Transmittal Fare Increase Recommendation and Resolution 

The purpose ofthis memorandum is to transmit a recommendation for FY10 Ride On 
service fare increase effective March 1, 2010, contingent on the Washington Metropolitan Transit 
Authority (WMATA) approving a similar fare increase. 

WMATA is holding a public hearing forum and one of the items being discussed is a ten 
cent increase to bus fares staring March 1, 2010. WMA TA's board will vote on any changes on 
January 28, 2010, and this is one of the items they are considering in lieu ofservice cuts. WMATA is 
proposing this as a temporary fare increase until the end of the fiscal year. However, the expectation is 
that this increase will be kept or raised higher on July 1,2010. WMATA will have to hold another public 
hearing before approving, continuing or expanding the fare increase for FYll. 

In order to promote seamless travel and encourage ridership, Montgomery County has 
always kept the Ride On base fare the same as the base fare for Metrobus. Our systems are coordinated 
and complementary, and it would be confusing to customers to have a difference in base fare prices. At 
this fare, our fare prices would still be much lower than most comparable bus systems in the nation. The 
fare increase would go in effect March 1,2010,27 days before the proposed service cuts. A decision 
needs to be made quickly, so that we could notif'y our riders of the change, as well as prepare for it. 

I recommend that we increase Ride On fares contingent with WMATA. We expect this 
to be a ten cent fare increase so our cash fare would increase from $1.35 to $1.45 and the SmarTrip fare 
would increase from $1.25 to $1.35. Concurrently, I would recommend that the Day Pass increase from 
$3.00 to $3.20 and the Metrorail to Ride On transfer is increased from 75 cents to 85 cents and tokens 
increase from $1.35 to $1.45. This would keep us in line with WMATA and would create theleast 
confusion to our customers. This fare increase would gerterate an additional $205,000 for this fiscal year. 

Please contact Carolyn Biggins, Division Chief, Transit Services at 240-777-5806 ifyou 
have any questions. 

IL:tt 

CD 
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Resolution: 
Introduced: 
Adopted: 

COUNTY COUNCIL 

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND 

By: County Council at the request of the County Executive 

SUBJECT: Setting transportation fees, charges, and fares 

Background 

1. 	 According to Section 2-57 A of the Montgomery County Code, as of July 22, 2004 all fees, 
charges, and fares for any transportation or transportation-related service or product provided by 
the Department of Transportation must be set by Council resolution adopted after a public hearing 
and approved by the Executive, unless any law expressly requires a different process. If the 
Executive disapproves a resolution within 10 days after it is adopted and the Council readopts it 
by a vote of six Councilmembers, or if the Executive does not act within 10 days after the Council 
adopts it, the resolution takes effect. 

2. 	 The fees, charges, and fares currently in effect are those in Council Resolution 16-1214 adopted 
on December 1, 2009 and approved by the Executive on December 10,2009. 

3. 	 On January 15,2010 the County Executive recommended increasing the price ofthe regular cash 
fare or token to $1.45, the regular fare paid with SmarTrip to $1.35, the Metrorail-to-Ride On bus 
transfer to $0.85 and the regional one day bus pass to $3.20. 

4. 	 A public hearing on this resolution was advertised and held. 

Action 

The County Council for Montgomery County approves the following resolution: 

Transportation fares, fees, and charges in Resolution 16-1214 are amended as described in Table 
1, attached, and the increases to the regular cash fare or token, SmarT rip regular fare, Metrorail-to­
Ride On bus transfer and all regional one day bus pass goes into effect on March 1, 2010. 

This is a correct copy of Council action. 

Linda M. Lauer, Clerk of the Council 	 Date 

Approved 

Isiah Leggett, County Executive 	 Date 



-----Resolution No.: 

TABLE 1: TRANSPORTATION FARES, FEES, AND CHARGES 

I. 	Transit Fares 
Regular cash fare or token 
Regular fare paid with SmarTrip 
Route 70 cash fare or token 
Route 70 fare paid with SmarTrip 
Bethesda 8 (Route 92) and VanGo (Route 28) shuttles 
Designated routes in Free-Wheeling Days promotion 
Kids Ride Free Program (2-7 pm weekdays) 
Code Red days 
Give and Ride Program 
Senior/Disabled with identification card 
attendant accompanying customer 
with Attendant-Eligible card 

MetroAccess Certified Customer with ID 
MetroAccess - companion 
Children under age 5 
Local bus transfer (SmarT rip only) 
Metrorail-to-Ride On bus transfer 
Senior/Disabled transfer 
Metrobus weekly pass 
MARC weekly and monthly passes 
MT A Commuter Bus Pass 
Regional One Day bus pass 
Ride On Monthly Pass 
Youth Cruiser pass 
Summer Youth Cruiser pass (for 3-month period of June, July, and August) 
'C' Pass (for current County employees) 
'U' Pass (for Montgomery College fee-paying students) 

[$1.35] $1.45 
[$1.25] 
$3.10 
$3.00 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 

Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
[$0.75] $0.85 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
[$3.00] $3.20 
$30.00 
$10.00 Per Month 
$15.00 
Free 
Free 



-----Resolution No.: 

II. Parking Fees (Note: No payment is required for motorcycles in spaces or areas where only 
motorcycle parking is permitted. No payment is required for any vehicle at all public parking spaces 
on County holidays.) 

A. Bethesda Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 10 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 7 am to 10 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages from 7 am to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $1.00 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.65 Per Hour 

2. Garage 49 
Daily Maximum $10.50 Per Day 
Lost Ticket $10.50 Per Day 

3. Special Permits 
a. Parking permits 

Parking Convenience Sticker $120.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $10.50 Per Day 
"AMIPM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $90.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $50.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons $13.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

B. Silver Spring Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages (except Garages 60 and 61) from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday 
through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
a. 	 Parking permits 

Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $6.00 Per Day 
"AM/PM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. 	 Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $65.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $35.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons 	 $5.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit 	 $2.00 Per Month 

3. Garages 60 and 61 	 $0.75 Per Hour 



-----Resolution No.: 

c. 	Wheaton Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Saturday, and in garages from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) 

$0.50 Per Hour 
$0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker 
Townhouse Resident Permit 

$95.00 Per Month 
$2.00 Per Month 

D. Montgomery Hills Parking Lot District 

1. 	 Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 

2. 	 Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $45.00 Per Month 
Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

E. Areas Outside Parking Lot Districts 

1. 	 Meters on-street and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday through Friday 
Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. 	 Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 



-----Resolution No.: 

III. Parking Fines and Other Charges (with County Code Section Citations) 

A. Motor vehicles, traffic control and highways, generally 

31-6(b)(2) Snow emergency - Parked in Right-of-Way 
31-7 Unregistered vehicle/parking prohibited 
31-8 Impeding traffic, threaten public safety 

B. Parking regulations generally - on-street 

31-11(b) 
31-12 
31-12 
31-l3 
31-14 

31-16 
31-17 
31-18 
31-19 
31-20 

Emergency/Temporary no parking sign 
Violation of official sign (except residential permit parking) 
Residential permit parking violation 
Parking of vehicle - snow accumulation 
Parking of heavy commercial vehicles, recreational vehicles, 

or buses 
Over 24 hours 
Within 35 feet of intersection 
Posted time limit 
Obstructing driveways (within 5 feet) 
No person will: 
(a) Stop, stand or park a vehicle whether occupied or not: 

(1) Impeding traffic 
(2) On a sidewalk 
(3) Within an intersection 
( 4) On a crosswalk 
(5) Alongside street repair 
(6) On bridge/ in tunnel 
(7) On any highway ramp 
(8) Official school board/Montgomery College sign 
(9) Rush hour restriction 

(10) Behind Official sign in Right-of-Way 
(b) Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, 

except momentarily to pick up or discharge a passenger: 
(1 ) within 15 feet of fire hydrant 
(2) within 20 feet of painted crosswalk 
(3) within 30 feet of traffic control signal/device 
(4) at a firehouse entrance clearance 
(5) at a No Standing sign 
(6) double parking 
(7) at a posted/marked fire lane 
(8) in front of theaters, posted 
(9) more than 12 inches from curb 

(10) opposite the flow oftraffic 
(11) blocking another vehicle 
(12) not within designated parking space 
(13) at a posted bus stop 
(14) at a posted taxi stand 
(15) in a handicapped parking space 

$75.00 

$50.00 

$50.00 


$50.00 
$50.00 
$40.00 
$50.00 

$75.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$250.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$250.00 



-----Resolution No.: 

(c) Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except temporarily for the purpose of 
and while actually engaged in loading or unloading merchandise or passenger: 

(1) within 50 feet ofa railroad crossing 
(2) at an official No Parking sign 

C. Off-street public parking regulations 

31-26 (a) No person shall park a vehicle on a public parking facility: 
(1) in violation of an official sign 
(2) in a No Parking zone 
(3) not within a designated parking space 
(4) in or on driving aisle/driveway/signwalks 
(5) at a bagged meter/temporary sign/barricade 
(6) blocking another vehicle 
(7) over 24 hours where not authorized 
(8) vehicle unregistered/inoperative 
(9) in violation, front-in-only, posted 

(10) straddling marked parking spaces 
(11 ) unattended/running 
(12) impeding traffic 

31-27 (b) Prohibited vehicle/weightlsize/type 
31-30(c) (c) Snow/ice emergency 

D. Parking meters generally 

31-35 Expired parking meter 
31-36 Overtime parking at parking meter 
31-37 More than 3 feet from parking meter 
31-38 More than 1 vehicle in parking space except motorcycles 

E. Administration, enforcement, penalties, and collection 

31-62 (c) Impoundment or immobilization fee 

31-52 (e) Fee for withholding the registration ofa vehicle 

31-57(a) First late penalty for failure to fully pay fine or appeal citation 
within 15 days 

$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$35.00 
$40.00 
$35.00 
$35.00 

$115.00 

$10.00 

$25.00 

31-59 Second late penalty for failure to fully pay the original fine and penalties 
within 45 days of the original issuance of the citation $25.00 

F. Residential Parking Permits 

31-48(h) Biennial fee $35.00 



-----Resolution No.: 

IV. Transportation Management District (TMD) annual fees 


In this section Gross Floor Area (GFA) is defined as described in Section 52-47 of the County Code. 


A. Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1, 2006 where payment of TMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

B. Friendship Heights Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1, 2006 where payment of TMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GFA 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

C. North Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1, 2006 where payment of TMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

D. Silver Spring Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GFA 

* Between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010, 2.5 cents/sf GF A will be charged for each full quarter after 
a use and occupancy permit has been issued. 

® 



