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MEMORANDUM 

February 5, 2010 

TO: County Council 

FROM: Glenn Orlir~eputy Council Staff Director 

SUBJECT: Action-resolution to amend FYI 0 transportation fees, charges, and fares 

T&E Committee (and Council staff) recommendation (3-0): Approve a revised 
schedule of transportation fees, charges, and fares for FYlO, reflecting the Executive's 
proposed increase to Ride On fares effective March 1 and the proposed parking fines 
effective on Aprill, as shown in the resolution on ©l2-l8. 

*** 

On January 15 the County Executive transmitted a recommendation that the regular Ride 
On fares be increased by 10 cents per ride: from $1.25 to $1.35 for fares paid with a SmarTrip 
Card and from $1.35 to $1.45 for fares paid with cash or tokens. This increase would match the 
Metrobus fare increase approved by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority 
(WMATA) on January 28. The County's (and region's) policy for many years is to strive to 
have all the public bus systems charge the same fare. The Executive also proposes increasing the 
Metrorail-to-Ride On transfer from $0.75 to $0.85 and the Day Pass from $3.00 to $3.20. These 
increases would go into effect on March 1, the same day that the Metrobus increase will go into 
effect. The Department of Transportation (DOT) estimates that these fare increases would 
generate $205,000 more revenue during the last four months of FYIO. The Executive's 
transmittal memorandum is on ©1; the resolution introduced on January 19 is on ©2-8. 

On January 29 the DOT Director recommended also increasing Ride On's express route 
fare for Route 70 (Milestone in Germantown to Bethesda) to be comparable with WMATA's 
fare increase for its express routes (©9). The fare would increase from $3.00 to $3.10 with a 
SmarTrip Card, and from $3.10 to $3.20 with cash or tokens. DOT believes the revenue due to 
this change will be minimal, and so it has not adjusted the $205,000 revenue estimate. On 10 
is the public hearing notice DOT posted on Ride On buses, including Route 70. 



On February 3 the Executive recommended increasing all parking fines by $5, except the 
fines for parking in a fire lane or handicapped space and for illegal commercial parking (©11). 
DOT believes this will generate $261,700 more revenue during the last three months of FYI0. 
The Executive also recommended increasing Ride On fares further by 15 cents per ride starting 
July 4, but since that increase would not occur until FYI1, action on it will be postponed until 
this spring, when the Council takes up this resolution again during its review of the Operating 
Budget. 
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OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECuTIVE 

ROCKYlLLE, MARYLAl'lD 20850
Isiah Leggett 

County Executive 

MEMORANDUM 

January 15, 2010 

TO: Nancy Floreen, President, County counc~ ~ 

FROM: Isiah Leggett, County Executive~~ 
SUBJECT: Transmittal Fare Increase Recommendation and Resolution 

The purpose of this memorandum is to transmit a recommendation for FYlO Ride On 
service fare increase effective March 1,2010, contingent on the Washington Metropolitan Transit 
Authority (WMATA) approving a similar fare increase. 

WMATA is holding a public hearing forum and one of the items being discussed is a ten 
cent increase to bus fares staring March 1,2010. WMATA's board will vote on any changes on 
January 28,2010, and this is one of the items they are considering in lieu of service cuts. WMATA is 
proposing this as a temporary fare increase until the end ofthe fiscal year. However, the expectation is 
that this increase will be kept or raised higher on July 1,2010. WMATA will have to hold another pubric 
hearing before approving, continuing or expanding the fare increase for FYll. 

In order to promote seamless travel and encourage ridership, Montgomery County has 
always kept the Ride On base fare the same as the base fare for Metrobus. Our systems are coordinated 
and complementary, and it would be confusing to customers to have a difference in base fare prices. At 
this fare, our fare prices would still be much lower than most comparable bus systems in the nation. The 
fare increase would go in effect March 1,2010,27 days before the proposed service cuts. A decision 
needs to be made quickly, so that we could notify our riders of the change, as well as prepare for it. 

I recommend that we increase Ride On fares contingent with WMATA. We expect this 
to be a ten cent fare increase so our cash fare would increase from $1.35 to $1.45 and the SmarTrip fare 
would increase from $1.25 to $1.3 5. ConcuiTently, I would recommend that the Day Pass increase from 
$3.00 to $3.20 and the Metrorail to Ride On transfer is increased from 75 cents to 85 cents and tokens 
increase from $1.35 to $1.45. This would keep us in line with WMATA and would create the)east 
confusion to our customers. This fare increase would generate an additional $205,000 for this fiscal year. 

Please contact Carolyn Biggins, Division Chief, Transit Services at 240-777-5806 ifyou 
have any questions. 

IL:tt 
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----------------Resolution: 
Introduced: 
Adopted: 

COUNTY COUNCIL 

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND 

By: County Council at the request of the County Executive 

SUBJECT: Setting transportation fees, charges, and fares 

Background 

1. 	 According to Section 2-57 A of the Montgomery County Code, as of July 22, 2004 all fees, 
charges, and fares for any transportation or transportation-related service or product provided by 
the Department of Transportation must be set by Council resolution adopted after a public hearing 
and approved by the Executive, unless any law expressly requires a different process. If the 
Executive disapproves a resolution within 10 days after it is adopted and the Council readopts it 
by a vote of six Councilmembers, or if the Executive does not act within 10 days after the Council 
adopts it, the resolution takes effect. 

2. 	 The fees, charges, and fares currently in effect are those in Council Resolution 16-1214 adopted 
on December 1, 2009 and approved by the Executive on December 10, 2009. 

3. 	 On January 15,2010 the County Executive recommended increasing the price of the regular cash 
fare or token to $1.45, the regular fare paid with SmarTrip to $1.35, the Metrorail-to-Ride On bus 
transfer to $0.85 and the regional one day bus pass to $3.20. 

4. 	 A public hearing on this resolution was advertised and held. 

Action 

The County Council for Montgomery County approves the following resolution: 

Transportation fares, fees, and charges in Resolution 16-1214 are amended as described in Table 
1, attached, and the increases to the regular cash fare or token, SmarTrip regular fare, Metrorail-to­
Ride On bus transfer and all regional one day bus pass goes into effect on March 1,2010. 

This is a correct copy of Council action. 

Linda M. Lauer, Clerk of the Council 	 Date 

Approved 

Isiah Leggett, County Executive 	 Date 



-----Resolution No.: 

TABLE 1: TRANSPORTATION FARES, FEES, AND CHARGES 

I. Transit Fares 
Regular cash fare or token 
Regular fare paid with SmarTrip 
Route 70 cash fare or token 
Route 70 fare paid with SmarTrip 
Bethesda 8 (Route 92) and VanGo (Route 28) shuttles 
Designated routes in Free-Wheeling Days promotion 
Kids Ride Free Program (2-7 pm weekdays) 
Code Red days 
Give and Ride Program 
Senior/Disabled with identification card 

attendant accompanying customer 
with Attendant-Eligible card 

MetroAccess Certified Customer with ID 
MetroAccess - companion 
Children under age 5 
Local bus transfer (SmarTrip only) 
Metrorail-to-Ride On bus transfer 
Senior/Disabled transfer 
Metrobus weekly pass 
MARC weekly and monthly passes 
MTA Commuter Bus Pass 
Regional One Day bus pass 
Ride On Monthly Pass 
Youth Cruiser pass 
Summer Youth Cruiser pass (for 3-month period of June, July, and August) 
'c' Pass (for current County employees) 
'U' Pass (for Montgomery College fee-paying students) 

[$1.35] $1.45 
[$1.25] 
$3.10 
$3.00 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 

Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
[$0.75] $0.85 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
[$3.00] $3.20 
$30.00 
$10.00 Per Month 
$15.00 
Free 
Free 



-----Resolution No.: 

II. Parking Fees (Note: No payment is required for motorcycles in spaces or areas where only 
motorcycle parking is permitted. No payment is required for any vehicle at all public parking spaces 
on County holidays.) 

A. Bethesda Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 10 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 7 am to 10 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages from 7 am to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $1.00 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.65 Per Hour 

2. Garage 49 
Daily Maximum $10.50 Per Day 
Lost Ticket $10.50 Per Day 

3. Special Permits 
a. Parking permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $120.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $10.50 Per Day 
"AMlPM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $90.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $50.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons $13.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

B. Silver Spring Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages (except Garages 60 and 61) from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday 
through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
a. 	 Parking permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $6.00 Per Day 
"AMlPM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $65.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $35.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons 	 $5.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit 	 $2.00 Per Month 

3. Garages 60 and 61 	 $0.75 Per Hour 

® 




-----Resolution No.: 

C. 	Wheaton Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Saturday, and in garages from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday , 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) 

$0.50 Per Hour 
$0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker 
Townhouse Resident Permit 

$95.00 Per Month 
$2.00 Per Month 

D. Montgomery Hills Parking Lot District 

1. 	 Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 

2. 	 Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $45.00 Per Month 
Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

E. Areas Outside Parking Lot Districts 

1. 	 Meters on-street and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday through Friday 
Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. 	 Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 



-----Resolution No.: 

III. Parking Fines and Other Charges (with County Code Section Citations) 

A. Motor vehicles, traffic control and highways, generally 

31-6(b)(2) Snow emergency - Parked in Right-of-Way 
31-7 Unregistered vehicle/parking prohibited 
31-8 Impeding traffic, threaten public safety 

B. Parking regulations generally - on-street 

31-11(b) 
31-12 
31-12 
31-13 
31-14 

31-16 
31-17 
31-18 
31-19 
31-20 

EmergencylTemporary no parking sign 
Violation of official sign (except residential permit parking) 
Residential permit parking violation 
Parking ofvehicle - snow accumulation 
Parking of heavy commercial vehicles, recreational vehicles, 

or buses 
Over 24 hours 
Within 35 feet of intersection 
Posted time limit 
Obstructing driveways (within 5 feet) 
No person will: 
(a) Stop, stand or park a vehicle whether occupied or not: 

( 1 ) Impeding traffi c 
(2) On a sidewalk 
(3) Within an intersection 
(4) On a crosswalk 
(5) Alongside street repair 
(6) On bridge! in tunnel 
(7) On any highway ramp 
(8) Official school board/Montgomery College sign 
(9) Rush hour restriction 

(10) Behind Official sign in Right-of-Way 
(b) Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, 

except momentarily to pick up or discharge a passenger: 
(1) within 15 feet of fire hydrant 
(2) within 20 feet of painted crosswalk 
(3) within 30 feet of traffic control signal/device 
(4) at a firehouse entrance clearance 
(5) at a No Standing sign 
(6) double parking 
(7) at a posted/marked fire lane 
(8) in front of theaters, posted 
(9) more than 12 inches from curb 

(10) opposite the flow oftraffic 
(11) blocking another vehicle 
(12) not within designated parking space 
(13) at a posted bus stop 
(14) at a posted taxi stand 
(15) in a handicapped parking space 

$75.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$40.00 
$50.00 

$75.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$250.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$250.00 



-----Resolution No.: 

(c) Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except temporarily for the purpose of 
and while actually engaged in loading or unloading merchandise or passenger: 
(1) within 50 feet ofa railroad crossing 
(2) at an official No Parking sign 

c. Off-street public parking regulations 

31-26 (a) No person shall park a vehicle on a public parking facility: 
(1 ) in violation of an official sign 
(2) in a No Parking zone 
(3) not within a designated parking space 
(4) in or on driving aisle/driveway/signwalks . 
(5) at a bagged meter/temporary signlbarricade 
(6) blocking another vehicle 
(7) over 24 hours where not authorized 
(8) vehicle unregistered/inoperative 
(9) in violation, front-in-only, posted 

(10) straddling marked parking spaces 
(11) unattended/running 
(12) impeding traffic 

31-27 (b) Prohibited vehicle/weightlsize/type 
31-30(c) (c) Snow/ice emergency 

D. Parking meters generally 

31-35 Expired parking meter 
31-36 Overtime parking at parking meter 
31-37 More than 3 feet from parking meter 
31-38 More than 1 vehicle in parking space except motorcycles 

E. Administration, enforcement, penalties, and collection 

31-62 (c) Impoundment or immobilization fee 

31-52 (e) Fee for withholding the registration of a vehicle 

31-57(a) First late penalty for failure to fully pay fine or appeal citation 
within 15 days 

$50.00 
$50.00 

$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 
$50.00 

$35.00 
$40.00 
$35.00 
$35.00 

$115.00 

$10.00 

$25.00 

31-59 Second late penalty for failure to fully pay the original fine and penalties 
within 45 days of the original issuance of the citation $25.00 

F. Residential Parking Permits 

31-48(h) Biennial fee $35.00 



-----Resolution No.: 

IV. Transportation Management District (TMD) annual fees 

In this section Gross Floor Area (GF A) is defined as described in Section 52-47 ofthe County Code. 

A. Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1, 2006 where payment of TMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0. 1 O/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

B. Friendship Heights Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1, 2006 where payment of TMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1,2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

C. North Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.1 O/square foot GF A 

D. Silver Spring Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

* Between July 1,2009 and June 30, 2010, 2.5 cents/sfGFA will be charged for each full quarter after 
a use and occupancy permit has been issued. 

® 




DEPARTMENT OF TR..A.NSPORTATION 


Isiah Leggett 	 Arthur Holmes, Jr. 
County Executive 	 Director 

MEMORANDUM 


January 29,2010 


TO: 	 Nancy Floreen, President 
Montgomery County Council 

FROM: 	 Arthur Holmes, Jr., Director ~~ 
Department of Transportation - . . ~ 

;9
SUBJECT: 	 Memorandum - Ride On Express Fare Increase 

N 
co 

The purpose of the memorandum is to recommend an addition to the County 
Council's proposed fare increase for the Ride On system. As you are aware, Metrobus fares and 
Ride On fares are coordinated for the ease of our customers and for operational considerations. 
On January 28, 2010, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) approved 
the lO-cent fare increase starting March 1, 201 O. \\I'MATA is proposing a lO-cent increase to the 
express fare as well. As Ride On's Route 70 (Milestone to Bethesda) is complementary to the 
Metrobus J7 (Lakeforest to Bethesda), and overcrowding may occur on Ride On if the fares are 
not coordinated, I recommend an increase of IO-cents on Ride On's express route fare. 

WMATA's fare increase is officially a temporary increase in fares until the end of 
the fiscal year. However, the expectation is that this increase will be kept or raised higher on 
July 1,2010. WMATA will have to hold another public hearing before approving, continuing or 
expanding the fare increase for FYII. 

Again, I recommend that we increase Ride On fares to coincide with WMA TA's 
fares. This would keep us in line with WMA T A, and would create the least confusion for our 
customers. Please contact Carolyn Biggins, at 240-777-5806 if you have any questions. 

AH:de 

(j) 

Office of the Director 

101 Monroe Street, 10th Floor· Rockville, Maryland 20850 • 240-777-7170 • 240-777-7178 FAX 
www.montgomerycountymd.gov 

Located one block west of the Rockville Aietro Station 

http:www.montgomerycountymd.gov


NOTICE OF 

PUBLIC HEARING 


ON PROPOSED RIDE ON 

FARE CHANGES 


(Starting March 1,2010) 

The County Executive has proposed increasing Ride On fares by 10 to 20 cents. The Montgomery 
County Council hereby notifies the general public that it will receive testimony on the Executive's 
recommendations and any related proposal regarding transportation fees, charges, and fares. The hearing 
will be held on February 4,2010 at 7:30 pm in the 3rd Floor Hearing Room of the Council Office 
Building, 100 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, Maryland. 

Individuals and representatives of organizations who would like to speak at the public hearing are 
requested to ca11240-777-7803 on or before February 3, 2010 by 5 pm to register to speak. Please 
provide a name, address, telephone number, and organization, if any. Sign language interpreter services 
will be provided only upon request with notice as far in advance as possible but not less than 72 hours 
prior to the date of the hearing. Large print format is also available upon request. 

Comments may be written, faxed or e-mailed on the proposed Ride On Fare Changes to the Montgomery 
County Council by the close of business on February 5, 2010. 

Send your comments to: 

Montgomery County Council 
100 Maryland Avenue 
Rockville, Maryland 20850 
(240) 777-7900 (voice) / (240) 777-7888 (fax) 1(240) 777-7914 (TTY) 
E-mail: county.council!Wmontgomervcountvmd.gov 

Title VI: Montgomery County assures that no person shall, on the grounds of race, color, national origin, as 
provided by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987 be excluded from 
participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under any program or 
activity. This statement is required by Title 23 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 200, and Title 49 CFR Part 
21. 

http:county.council!Wmontgomervcountvmd.gov


OFFICE OF THE COCNTY EXECUTIVE 
ROCKVILLE, MARYLAI'.TI 20850Isiah Leggett 

County Executive 
MEMORANDUM 

February 3,2010 

TO: Nancy Floreen, President, County counCil). , ..~_ 

FROM: Isiah Leggett, County Executive -Pc~ 
SUBJECT: Ride On Service Reduction Proposals 

The purpose of this memorandum is to transmit to you my recommendations for changes 
to the Ride On service reduction proposals based on the public forum comments, as well as many emails 
and other correspondence. As you are aware, the Fiscal Year 2010 Savings Plan proposed an elimination 
of nine weekday routes, 15 Saturday and/or Sunday routes, many trip changes, and frequency changes. 
Based upon the many comments I have received and proposed additional revenue sources, I recommend 
we do not proceed with eliminating several weekday routes (21, 30, 33, 53, and 81). I also recommend 
eliminating only route 36 mid-day service. All other changes should go forward effective Aprilll, 2010. 

To fund this proposed change in the Savings Plan, I recommend the County Council 
approve the following: 

1. 	 Increase the parking fme charge by $5 per ticket (except parking in a handicapped space or a fire lane, 
which will remain at $250.00 and those for heavy vehicles, recreation vehicles or buses will remain at 
$75.00) effective April 1, 2010. 

2. 	 Increase the base Ride On fare by $.15 effective July 4, 2010. The Washington Metropolitan Area 
Transit Authority (WMATA) General Manager's proposed Fiscal Year 11 budget includes an 
additional $.15 fare increase for the bus in July as welL 

These two revenue changes, together with the fare increase proposed for March 1, will 
generate sufficient funds in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 to restore the aforementioned services and the 
February savings projected for ·Call and Ride in my original savings plan. 

However, I want to stress that the Council should approve the remaining route reductions. 
Given the extraordinary fiscal pressure in both FY10 and FYll we need to implement continuing cost 
savings immediately. While resolving the FY11 budget gap will be challenging enough and require very 
painful choices, FY12 will be equally challenging, especially if the solutions for this year and FYll are 
focused on one time actions and deferral of obligations into the future. 

I urge your favorable consideration of this recommendation. Ifyou have any questions, 
please contact Arthur Holmes, Jr., Director, Department ofTransportation, at 
240-777-7167. Thank you in advance for your consideration. 

IL:de 
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----------------Resolution: 

Introduced: ~anuary 19,2010 

Adopted: 


COUNTY COUNCIL 

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND 

By: County Council at the request of the County Executive 

SUBJECT: Setting transportation fees, charges, and fares 

Background 

1. 	 According to Section 2-57 A of the Montgomery County Code, as of July 22, 2004 all fees, 
charges, and fares for any transportation or transportation-related service or product provided by 
the Department of Transportation must be set by Council resolution adopted after a public hearing 
and approved by the Executive, unless any law expressly requires a different process. If the 
Executive disapproves a resolution within 10 days after it is adopted and the Council readopts it 
by a vote of six Councilmembers, or if the Executive does not act within 10 days after the Council 
adopts it, the resolution takes effect. 

2. 	 The fees, charges, and fares currently in effect are those in Council Resolution 16-1214 adopted 
on December 1,2009 and approved by the Executive on December 10,2009. 

3. 	 On January 15,2010 the County Executive recommended increasing the price of the regular cash 
fare or token to $1.45, the regular fare paid with SmarTrip to $1.35, the Metrorail-to-Ride On bus 
transfer to $0.85 and the regional one day bus pass to $3.20. 

4. 	 On January 29, 2010 the Director of the Department of Transportation recommended increasing 
price of the regular cash fare or token on Ride On Route 70 to $3.20, and the regular fare paid 
with SmarTrip on the Route 70 to $3.10. 

5. 	 On February 3,2010 the County Executive recommended raising all parking fines by $5 except 
those for parking in a fire lane or handicapped space, or illegal commercial vehicle parking. 

6. 	 A public hearing on this resolution was advertised and held on February 4,2010. 

Action 

The County Council for Montgomery County approves the following resolution: 

Transportation fares, fees, and charges in Resolution 16-1214 are amended as described in Table 
I, attached. The increases in transit fares go into effect on March 1, 2010. The increases in parking 
fines go into effect on April 1, 20 IO. 

This is a correct copy of Council action. 

Linda M. Lauer, Clerk of the Council 	 Date 

Approved 

DateIsiah Leggett, County Executive 



-----Resolution No.: 

TABLE 1: TRANSPORTATION FARES, FEES, AND CHARGES 

I. Transit Fares 
Regular cash fare or token 
Regular fare paid with SmarTrip 
Route 70 cash fare or token 
Route 70 fare paid with SmarTrip 
Bethesda 8 (Route 92) and VanGo (Route 28) shuttles 
Designated routes in Free-Wheeling Days promotion 
Kids Ride Free Program (2-7 pm weekdays) 
Code Red days 
Give and Ride Program 
SeniorlDisabled with identification card 
attendant accompanying customer 
with Attendant-Eligible card 

MetroAccess Certified Customer with ID 
MetroAccess - companion 
Children under age 5 
Local bus transfer (SmarTrip only) 
Metrorail-to-Ride On bus transfer 
Senior/Disabled transfer 
Metrobus weekly pass 
MARC weekly and monthly passes 
MT A Commuter Bus Pass 
Regional One Day bus pass 
Ride On Monthly Pass 
Youth Cruiser pass 
Summer Youth Cruiser pass (for 3-month period of June, July, and August) 
'C' Pass (for current County employees) 
'D' Pass (for Montgomery College fee-paying students) 

[$1.35] $1.45 
[$1.25] $1.35 
[$3.10] $3.20 
[$3.00] $3.l 0 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 

Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
[$0.75] $0.85 
Free 
Free 
Free 
Free 
[$3.00] $3.20 
$30.00 
$10.00 Per Month 
$15.00 
Free 
Free 



-----Resolution No.: 

II. Parking Fees (Note: No payment is required for motorcycles in spaces or areas where only 
motorcycle parking is permitted. No payment is required for any vehicle at all public parking spaces 
on County holidays.) 

A. Bethesda Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 10 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 7 am to 10 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages from 7 am to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $1.00 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.65 Per Hour 

2. Garage 49 
Daily Maximum $10.50 Per Day 
Lost Ticket $10.50 Per Day 

3. Special Permits 
a. Parking permits 

Parking Convenience Sticker $120.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $10.50 Per Day 
"AMIPM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $90.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $50.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons $13.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

B. Silver Spring Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages (except Garages 60 and 61) from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday 
through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
a. 	 Parking permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $6.00 Per Day 
"AM/PM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. 	 Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $65.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $35.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons 	 $5.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit 	 $2.00 Per Month 

3. Garages 60 and 61 	 $0.75 Per Hour 
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C. 	Wheaton Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Saturday, and in garages from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) 

$0.50 Per Hour 
$0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker 
Townhouse Resident Permit 

$95.00 Per Month 
$2.00 Per Month 

D. Montgomery Hills Parking Lot District 

1. 	 Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $45.00 Per Month 
Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 PerMonth 

E. Areas Outside Parking Lot Districts 

1. 	 Meters on-street and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday through Friday 
Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. 	 Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 
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III. Parking Fines and Other Charges (with County Code Section Citations) 

A. Motor vehicles, traffic control and highways, generally 

31-6(b)(2) Snow emergency Parked in Right-of-Way 
31-7 Unregistered vehicle/parking prohibited 
31-8 Impeding traffic, threaten public safety 

B. Parking regulations generally - on-street 

31-1l(b) Emergency/Temporary no parking sign 
31-12 Violation of official sign (except residential permit parking) 
31-12 Residential permit parking violation 
31-13 Parking of vehicle snow accumulation 
31-14 Parking of heavy commercial vehicles, recreational vehicles, 

or buses 
31-16 Over 24 hours 
31-17 Within 35 feet of intersection 
31-18 Posted time limit 
31-19 Obstructing driveways (within 5 feet) 
31-20 No person will: 

(a) Stop, stand or park a vehicle whether occupied or not: 
(1) Impeding traffic 
(2) On a sidewalk 
(3) Within an intersection 
(4) On a crosswalk 
(5) Alongside street repair 
(6) On bridge/ in tunnel 
(7) On any highway ramp 
(8) Official school board/Montgomery College sign 
(9) Rush hour restriction 

(10) Behind Official sign in Right-of-Way 
(b) Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, 

except momentarily to pick up or discharge a passenger: 
(1) within 15 feet of fire hydrant 
(2) within 20 feet of painted crosswalk 
(3) within 30 feet of traffic control signal/device 
(4) at a firehouse entrance clearance 
(5) at a No Standing sign 
(6) double parking 
(7) at a posted/marked fire lane 
(8) in front of theaters, posted 
(9) more than 12 inches from curb 

(10) opposite the flow of traffic 
(11) blocking another vehicle 
(12) not within designated parking space 
(13) at a posted bus stop 
(14) at a posted taxi stand 
(15) in a handicapped parking space 

[$75.00] $80.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 

[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$40.00] $45.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 

$75.00 ' 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 

[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 

[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
$250.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
$250.00 

® 
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(c) Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except temporarily for the purpose of 
and while actually engaged in loading or unloading merchandise or passenger: 
(1) within 50 feet of a railroad crossing 
(2) at an official No Parking sign 

C. Off-street public parking regulations 

31-26 (a) No person shall park a vehicle on a public parking facility: 
(1) in violation of an official sign 
(2) in a No Parking zone 
(3) not within a designated parking space 
(4) in or on driving aisle/driveway/signwalks 
(5) at a bagged meter/temporary sign/barricade 
(6) blocking another vehicle 
(7) over 24 hours where not authorized 
(8) vehicle unregistered/inoperative 
(9) in violation, front-in-only, posted 

(10) straddling marked parking spaces 
(11) unattended/running 
(12) impeding traffic 

31-27 (b) Prohibited vehicle/weightlsize/type 
31-30( c ) (c) Snow/ice emergency 

D. Parking meters generally 

31-35 Expired parking meter 
31-36 Overtime parking at parking meter 
31-37 More than 3 feet from parking meter 
31-38 More than 1 vehicle in parking space except motorcycles 

E. Administration, enforcement, penalties, and collection 

31-62 (c) Impoundment or immobilization fee 

31-52 (e) Fee for withholding the registration ofa vehicle 

31-57(a) First late penalty for failure to fully pay fine or appeal citation 
within 15 days 

[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 

[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00J $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00] $55.00 
[$50.00J $55.00 

[$35.00] $40.00 
[$40.00] $45.00 
[$35.00] $40.00 
[$35.00] $40.00 

$115.00 

$10.00 

$25.00 

31-59 Second late penalty for failure to fully pay the original fine and penalties 
within 45 days of the original issuance of the citation $25.00 

F. Residential Parking Permits 

31-48(h) Biennial fee $35.00 

® 
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IV. Transportation Management District (TMD) annual fees 

In this section Gross Floor Area (GFA) is defined as described in Section 52-47 of the County Code. 

A. Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1,2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GFA 

B. Friendship Heights Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1,2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.1 O/square foot GF A 

C. North Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0. 1 O/square foot GFA 

D. Silver Spring Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1,2006* 
$0.10/square foot GFA 
$0.10/square foot GFA 

* Between July 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010,2.5 cents/sf GF A will be charged for each full quarter after 
a use and occupancy permit has been issued. 


