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MEMORANDUM 

June 11,2010 

TO: County Council 

GO 
FROM: Glenn Orlin, Deputy Council Staff Director 

SUBJECT: Introduction-resolution to amend FYII transportation fees, charges, and fares 

According to Section 2-57 A of the Montgomery County Code, all fees, charges, and fares for any 
transportation or transportation-related service or product provided by the Department of Transportation 
must be set by Council resolution adopted after a public hearing and approved by the Executive, unless 
any law expressly requires a different process. If the Executive disapproves a resolution within 10 days 
after it is adopted and the Council readopts it by a vote of six Councilmembers, or if the Executive does 
not act within 10 days after the Council adopts it, the resolution takes effect. The fees, charges, and fares 
currently in effect are those in Council Resolution 16-1358 adopted on May 19, 2010 and approved by 
the Executive on May 29, 2010. 

On May 27, 2010 the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority approved some fares for 
Metrobus that were different than those charged for comparable rides on Ride On. The County's 
practice has been to charge the same fare on Ride On as on Metrobus for comparable trips. The revenue 
impact of these changes is anticipated to be minimal. 

On June 4, 2010 the County Executive requested elimination of the Code Red Free Program on 
Ride On, noting that the program costs the County $45,000 in lost revenue on each Code Red weekday, 
and $26,000 and $20,000 on each Code Red Saturday and Sunday, respectively. Montgomery County is 
currently the only jurisdiction in the region which has this program. The Executive's memo is on ©l. 

The public hearing and action on this amended resolution is scheduled for June 22, 2010. A draft 
of this resolution is on ©2-8; all the proposed changes are on ©3. 
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OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE 
ROCKViLLE. MARYLAND 2M50 

Isiah Leggett 
Executive 

MEMORANDUM 

June 4, 2010 

TO: Nancy Floreen, Council President 

FROM: Isiah Leggett, County Executive Original signed by 

Islah Leggett 


SUBJECT: Code Red Ride Free Program Elimination 

This purpose of this memorandum is to recommend elimination of the Code Red Ride 
Free Program on Ride On. For fifteen years, Montgomery County has offered free bus rides on days 
forecast to be an "Air Quality Action Day" or "Code Red Day" by the Council of Governments. The 
program's intent was to encourage motorists to leave their cars at home and take public transportation in 
an effort to reduce vehicle emissions in the Washington region. 

Montgomery County is the last jurisdiction in the Metropolitan Washington area to offer 
free transit service during these events. Northern Virginia Transportation Commission eliminated their 
program effective May 1, 2009. Metrobus will not be participating due to budget constraints and the 
District of Columbia has never participated. 

Every time that a Code Red Day is issued, Ride On estimates that the county loses 
$45,000 in revenue for a weekday, $26,000 in revenue if it's a Saturday and $20,000 in revenue ifit's a 
Sunday. Previous weekday Code Red day's ridership analysis shows minimal to no increase in ridership 
for a single alert day and 5-7 percent ridership increase if there are multiple Code Red days in succession. 
In 2009, there were no Code Red Days, 2008 had three and 2007 had three. 

Since the Coumy Council is updating Transit's fares to coincide with the Washington 
Metropolitan Transit Authority'S fare decisions of last week this would be the right time to make this 
change as well. This would align our policy with other jurisdictions in our region, with little to no 
impact on ridership and save thousands ofdollars in revenue that is lost for the "Code Red Day." 

I appreciate your time and consideration on this matter. 

ILde 

cc: 	 County Council Members 

Glenn Orlin, County Council staff 

Arthur Holmes, Jr., Director 


(j) 
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Resolution: 
Introduced: 

---~ 

Adopted: 

COUNTY COUNCIL 

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND 

By: County Council 

SUBJECT: Setting transportation fees, charges, and fares 

Background 

1. 	 According to Section 2-57 A of the Montgomery County Code, as of July 22, 2004 all fees, 
charges, and fares for any transportation or transportation-related service or product provided by 
the Department of Transportation must be set by Council resolution adopted after a public hearing 
and approved by the Executive, unless any law expressly requires a different process. If the 
Executive disapproves a resolution within 10 days after it is adopted and the Council readopts it 
by a vote of six Councilmembers, or if the Executive does not act within 10 days after the Council 
adopts it, the resolution takes effect. 

2. 	 The fees, charges, and fares currently in effect are those in Council Resolution 16-1358 adopted 
on May 19,2010 and approved by the Executive on May 29, 2010 .. 

3. 	 On May 27, 2010 the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority approved some fares for 
Metrobus that were different than those charged for comparable rides on Ride On. The County's 
practice has been to charge the same fare on Ride On as on Metrobus for comparable trips. 

4. 	 On June 4, 2010 the County Executive requested elimination of the Code Red Free Program on 
Ride On, noting that the program costs the County $45,000 in lost revenue on each Code Red 
weekday, and $26,000 and $20,000 on each Code Red Saturday and Sunday, respectively. 
Montgomery County is currently the only jurisdiction in the region which has this program. 

5. 	 A public hearing on this resolution was advertised and held. 

Action 

The County Council for Montgomery County approves the following resolution: 

Transportation fares, fees, and charges in Resolution 16-1358 are amended as described in Table 
1, attached. The amendments eliminate the Code Red Ride Free Program and conform Ride On's fares 
to those approved by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority for Metrobus. The new 
transit fares go into effect on June 27, 2010. 

This is a correct copy of Council action. 

Linda M. Lauer, Clerk of the Council 	 Date 

Approved 

DateIsiah Leggett, County Executive 



-----Resolution No.: 

TABLE 1: TRANSPORTATION FARES, FEES, AND CHARGES 


I. Transit Fares 
Regular cash fare or token [$1.60] $1.70 
Regular fare paid with SmarTrip $1.50 
Route 70 cash fare or token [$3.75] $3.85 
Route 70 fare paid with SmarTrip $3.65 
Bethesda 8 (Route 92) and VanGo (Route 28) shuttles Free 
Designated routes in Free-Wheeling Days promotion Free 
[Code Red days 	 FreeJ 
Give and Ride Program 	 Free 
MetroAccess Certified Customer with ID 	 Free 
MetroAccess - companion 	 Free 
Children under age 5 	 Free 
Local bus transfer (SmarTrip only) 	 Free 
Metrorail-to-Ride On bus transfer 	 $1.00 
Metrorail-to-Route 70 transfer 	 $3.15 
Local bus-to-Route 70 transfer 	 $2.15 
Metrobus weekly pass 	 Free 
MARC weekly and monthly passes 	 Free 
MT A Commuter Bus Pass 	 Free 
Ride On Monthly Pass 	 $30.00 
Boarding Route 70 with weekly or monthly pass 	 $2.15 
Youth Cruiser pass 	 $11.00 Per Month 
Summer Youth Cruiser pass (for 3-month period of June, July, and August) $18.00 
'C' Pass (for current County employees) 	 Free 
'U' Pass (for Montgomery College fee-paying students) 	 Free 
Senior~ with identification card from 9:30 am-3:00 pm weekdays Free 
Senior~ with identification card except from 9:30 am-3:00 pm weekdays 

with cash fare or token 	 [$0.80J $0.85 
with SmarTrip card 	 $0.75 
Metrorail-to-Ride On bus transfer (SmarTrip only) 	 $0.25 
Local bus transfer (SmarTrip only) 	 Free 

[SeniorlDisabled transfer 	 Free] 
Senior* with identification card for Route 70 except from 9:30 am-3:00 pm weekdays 


with cash fare or token $1.90 

with SmarTrip card $1.80 

Metrorail-to-Route 70 with SmarTrip $1.30 

Local bus-to-Route 70 with SmarTrip $1.05 

Boarding with weekly or monthly pass $1.05 


* 	For the purposes of this resolution, a person with disabilities not certified for MetroAccess service is 
, treated the same as a senior. 



-----Resolution No.: 

II. Parking Fees (Note: No payment is required for motorcycles in spaces or areas where only 
motorcycle parking is permitted. No payment is required for any vehicle at all public parking spaces 
on County holidays.) 

A. Bethesda Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 10 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 7 am to 10 pm, Monday 
through Friday, and in garages from 7 am to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $1.00 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.65 Per Hour 

2. Garage 49 
Daily Maximum $10.50 Per Day 
Lost Ticket $10.50 Per Day 

3. Special Permits 
a. Parking permits 

Parking Convenience Sticker $120.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $10.50 Per Day 
"AM/PM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $90.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $50.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons $13.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

B. Silver Spring Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, 
Monday through Friday, and in garages (except Garages 60 and 61) from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday 
through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
a. 	 Parking permits 

Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 
Daily Parking Permit $6.00 Per Day 
"AM/PM" Parking Permit $20.00 Per Month 

b. Carpool Permits 
2 Persons $65.00 Per Month 
3 and 4 Persons $35.00 Per Month 
5 or More Persons 	 $5.00 Per Month 

c. Townhouse Resident Permit 	 $2.00 Per Month 

3. Garages 60 and 61 $0.75 Per Hour 
Monthly Permit $140.00 Per Month 



Resolution No.: 
~~-~-

C. Wheaton Parking Lot District 

1. Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Saturday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Saturday, and in garages from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) 

$0.50 Per Hour 
$0.50 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker 
Townhouse Resident Permit 

$95.00 Per Month 
$2.00 Per Month 

D. Montgomery Hills Parking Lot District 

1. 	 Meters on-street from 9 am to 6 pm, Monday through Friday, and in lots from 9 am to 6 pm, 
Monday through Friday 

Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.25 Per Hour 

2. Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $45.00 Per Month 
Townhouse Resident Permit $2.00 Per Month 

E. Areas Outside Parking Lot Districts 

1. 	 Meters on-street and in lots from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday through Friday 
Short-Term (First 3 hours) $0.75 Per Hour 
Long-Term (More than 3 hours) $0.50 Per Hour 

2. 	 Special Permits 
Parking Convenience Sticker $95.00 Per Month 



-----Resolution No.: 

III. Parking Fines and Other Charges (with County Code Section Citations) 

A. Motor vehicles, traffic control and highways, generally 

31-6(b)(2) Snow emergency - Parked in Right-of-Way 
31-7 Unregistered vehicle/parking prohibited 
31-8 Impeding traffic, threaten public safety 

B. Parking regulations generally - on-street 

31-11(b) EmergencyfTemporary no parking sign 
31-12 Violation of official sign (except residential permit parking) 
31-12 Residential permit parking violation 
31-l3 Parking ofvehicle snow accumulation 
31-14 Parking of heavy commercial vehicles, recreational vehicles, 

or buses 
31-16 Over 24 hours 
31-17 Within 35 feet of intersection 
31-18 Posted time limit 
31-19 Obstructing driveways (within 5 feet) 
31-20 No person will: 

(a) Stop, stand or park a vehicle whether occupied or not: 
(1) Impeding traffic 
(2) On a sidewalk 
(3) Within an intersection 
(4) On a crosswalk 
(5) Alongside street repair 
(6) On bridge/ in tunnel 
(7) On any highway ramp 
(8) Official school boardIMontgomery College sign 
(9) Rush hour restriction 

(10) Behind Official sign in Right-of-Way 
(b) Stand or park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, 

except momentarily to pick up or discharge a passenger: 
(1) within 15 feet of fire hydrant 
(2) within 20 feet of painted crosswalk 
(3) within 30 feet oftraffic control signal/device 
(4) at a firehouse entrance clearance 
(5) at a No Standing sign 
(6) double parking 
(7) at a posted/marked fire lane 
(8) in front of theaters, posted 
(9) more than 12 inches from curb 

(10) opposite the flow of traffic 
(11) blocking another vehicle 
(12) not within designated parking space 
(13) at a posted bus stop 
(14) at a posted taxi stand 
(15) in a handicapped parking space 

$85.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$60.00 
$60.00 
$50.00 
$60.00 

$75.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$250.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$250.00 

® 




-----Resolution No.: 

(c) Park a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except temporarily for the purpose of 
and while actually engaged in loading or unloading merchandise or passenger: 
(1) within 50 feet of a railroad crossing 
(2) at an official No Parking sign 

C. Off-street public parking regulations 

31-26 (a) No person shall park a vehicle on a public parking facility: 
(1) in violation of an official sign 
(2) in a No Parking zone 
(3) not within a designated parking space 
(4) in or on driving aisle/driveway/signwalks 
(5) at a bagged meter/temporary signlbarricade 
(6) blocking another vehicle 
(7) over 24 hours where not authorized 
(8) vehicle unregistered/inoperative 
(9) in violation, front-in-only, posted 

(10) straddling marked parking spaces 
(11) unattended/running 
(12) impeding traffic 

31-27 (b) Prohibited vehicle/weightlsize/type 
31-30(c) (c) Snow/ice emergency 

D. Parking meters generally 

31-35 Expired parking meter 
31-36 Overtime parking at parking meter 
31-37 More than 3 feet from parking meter 
31-38 More than 1 vehicle in parking space except motorcycles 

E. Administration, enforcement, penalties, and collection 

31-62 (c) Impoundment or immobilization fee 

31-52 (e) Fee for withholding the registration of a vehicle 

31-57(a) First late penalty for failure to fully pay fine or appeal citation 
within 15 days 

$60.00 
$60.00 

$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 
$60.00 

$45.00 
$50.00 
$45.00 
$45.00 

$115.00 

$10.00 

$25.00 

31-59 Second late penalty for failure to fully pay the original fine and penalties 
within 45 days of the original issuance of the citation $25.00 

F. Residential Parking Permits 

31-48(h) Biennial fee $35.00 



-----Resolution No.: 

IV. Transportation Management District (TMD) annual fees 


In this section Gross Floor Area (GFA) is defined as described in Section 52-47 of the County Code. 


A. Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GFA 
$0.10/square foot GFA 

B. Friendship Heights Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$O.lO/square foot GF A 

C. North Bethesda Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1,2006 where payment ofTMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July I, 2006* 
$0.10/square foot GF A 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

D. Silver Spring Transportation Management District 

Commercial space occupied before July 1, 2006 where payment of TMD fee 
was a condition of subdivision or optional method approval 

Commercial space first occupied on or after July 1, 2006* 
$0.1 O/square foot GFA 
$0.10/square foot GF A 

* Between July 1, 2010 and June 30, 2011, 2.5 cents/sf GF A will be charged for each full quarter after 
a use and occupancy permit has been issued. 


