Water Quality Advisory Group January 2024

Bob Buglass

WSSC, Environmental Sciences Section

301-206-8082

Bob.Buglass@wsscwater.com

Government Agency, non-voting (Second term expires 5/31/25)

Keith Brooks

Derwood

301-642-3108

kbrooksx@verizon.net

Public-at-Large (Fourth term expires 5/31/25)

Travis Gorleski

Derwood

301-590-2832

Travis.gorleski@montgomerycountymd.gov

Agricultural (First term expires 5/31/26)

Phillip Mariscal

Washington

240-308-0375

Phillip.mariscal@gmail.com

Public-at-Large (First term expires 5/31/26)

Edward Ohanian

Montgomery Village

301-590-8926

ohanianevo@att.net

Public-at-Large (First term expires 5/31/24)

Amanda Rockler

Sandy Spring

240-393-8346

arockler@umd.edu

Academic and Scientific (First term expires 5/31/25)

Tracy Rouleau, Chair

Gaithersburg

240-316-8949

tracyrouleau@gmail.com

Academic and Scientific (First term expires 5/31/26)

Linda Silversmith

Rockville

301-641-9508

linsil@usermail.com

Public-at-Large (Fourth term expires 5/31/25)

Tim Stemann

Olney

301-337-8467

tstemann@gmail.com

Business (Second term expires 5/31/23)

Miranda Reid

Department of Environmental Protection

240-773-0802

Miranda.reid@montgomerycountymd.gov

Department Liaison

Amy Stevens

Department of Environmental Protection

w: 240-777-7766

amy.stevens@montgomerycountymd.gov

Government Agency, non-voting (First term expires

5/31/25)

Mark Symborski

MNCPPC, Department of Planning

301-495-4636

Mark.Symborski@mncppc-mc.org

Government Agency, non-voting (Fifth term expires

5/31/25)

Allison Wright

Silver Spring

919-951-8794

allisonwright@yahoo.com

Environmental (Second term expires 5/31/23)

WATER QUALITY ADVISORY GROUP

<u>CREATED:</u> Montgomery County Code, Section 19-49, Adopted November 1994

<u>PURPOSE:</u> To protect, maintain, and restore high-quality chemical, physical, and biological conditions in

the waters of the state in the County; reverse past trends of stream deterioration through improved water management practices; maintain physical, chemical, biological and stream habitat conditions in County steams that support aquatic life along with appropriate recreational, water supply, and other water uses; restore County streams damaged by inadequate water management practices, by reestablishing the flow regime, chemistry, physical conditions, and biological diversity of natural stream systems as closely as possible; help fulfill interjurisdictional commitments to restore and maintain the integrity of the Anacostia River, the Potomac River; and the Chesapeake Bay; and promote and support educational and volunteer initiatives that enhance public awareness and increase direct participation in stream stewardship and reduction of water pollution. Recommends to the Executive and the Council by March 1 each year water quality goals, objectives, policies and

programs.

MEMBERSHIP: 18 members, including up to three non-voting representatives of government agencies and

three representatives each of the public-at-large, academic and scientific experts, environmental groups, the agricultural community, and the business community.

<u>FINANCIAL</u>

<u>DISCLOSURE:</u> Not required.

<u>TERMS:</u> Three year terms—no compensation.

MEETINGS: Second Monday night of each month, virtual Microsoft Teams meetings and in person

meetings at the DEP Office, 2425 Reedie Drive, 5th Floor, Wheaton, MD 20902

<u>WEBSITE</u>: <u>https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/water/advisory-group.html</u>

STAFF: Miranda Reid, DEP

Miranda.reid@montgomerycountymd.gov