Skip Navigation

Montgomery County Department of Liquor Control

 Alcohol Awareness Training

THE REQUIREMENT - ARTICLE 2B-SS 13-101• On & Off Premise retail alcohol beverage establishments are required to maintain at least one licensee or designated employee who has been currently certified in an approved alcohol awareness training program.
• Establishments in Montgomery, Harford and Howard Counties are requiredto have a certified license-holder or a certified person employed in a supervisorycapacity designated by the licensee present during the hours in which alcoholmay be sold.
• Certification must be renewed every four years to remain current. (Pleasesee “Training Programs” below
• Failure to have a certified representative may result in license renewaldelays, as well as, fines, suspensions or even revocation of your retail alcoholbeverage license. Currently penalties for failure to comply are $100 for thefirst offense; and $500 fine or a suspension/revocation of the license, or both,for each subsequent offense.
• Temporary licenses (except those issued in St. Mary's County) and classE - steamboat, F - railroad and G - aircraft licenses are exempt from this mandate.
 

Important Message to All
Alcohol Beverage License Holders

 

All alcoholic license establishments are required by law to have a state approved alcohol awareness certified person (licensee or person employed in a supervisory capacity) on the licensed premise during all hours in which alcoholic beverages may be sold.

 Penalties include a $100 fine for the fist offense; $500 fine or a suspension/revocation of the license, or both, for each subsequent offense.


Maryland Certified Alcohol Trainings:

Alcohol Awareness Course
AP-36218
8612 Sweet Autumn Dr., Baltimore, MD 21244
Contact
: John S. Murray      (English/Spanish
Telephone
: 410-553-8927    /Japanese/Korean)
E-mail:
  jmurrayaa@aol.com
Call to register ($65 per trainee for any of the courses or to set up a class at your place to suit your schedule (special group rates are available)


Maryland Hospitality Education Foundation (MHEF) BEST Training
AP-36224
6301 Hillside Court, Columbia, MD 21046
Contact:
Marshall Weston (English/Spanish)


Korean American Social Agency
AP-36240
2107 Maryland Ave., Suite B, Baltimore, MD 21218
Contact
: Chang Bae
Telephone: 410-625-0621
E-mail: changaibae@gmail.com


EMI Services, Management Services
AP-45145
2136 Sudbury Pl. NW Washington, DC 20012
Contact:
Norm Neverson (English/Spanish)
Telephone: 301-961-5690 or 202-882-7175
E-mail: neverson1@juno.com


Prime Choice Consulting, LLC
10500 Sager Ave., Suite G, Fairfax, VA 22030
Contact:
Grace Lee (Korean and English)
Telephone:
703-309-0281


Maryland TAM, Inc., Maryland State Licensed Beverage Association (MSLBA)- Education Resource
AP-36236
150 E Main St., Suite 104, Westminster, MD 21157
Contact:
Jane Springer (Spanish, Korean, Japanese and Chinese written translations)
Telephone:
410-876-3424 or 1-800-921-1382
E-mail: mdtam@msn.com
Website: www.mslba.org/marylandtam.htm 
Registration fees are $65/Person if your establishment is a Member of the Maryland State Licensed Beverage Assoc., $75/Person for participants from Non-Member establishments.


TIPS (Training for Intervention Procedures)
AI51255
Suess Group
1144 Pinemont Place, Unit 2B, Annapolis, MD 21403
Contact:
Richard Suess
Telephone: 443-321-4618
Website: http://www.gettips.com
Alcohol awareness classes held on and off premise.
Call for more information.



AI40748
Five Top Training Classes
312 E. Third Street, Frederick, MD
Contact:
Susan Hayes (English, Spanish)
Telephone:
240-367-7482
E-mail: FiveTop@aol.com
Website:  http://www.gettips.com
Alcohol awareness classes held on and off premise.
Call for more information.


Prevention Through Education (PTE)
AP-51244
11 N. Washington Street, Suite 640, Rockville, MD 20850
Contact:
Howard Walsh
Telephone: 301-602-8721 or 240-277-6477
E-mail: walshhoward@hotmail.com
Website: www.howardwalsh.com
Training fees are $65/Person.  Alcohol Awareness classes held on and off premise. Flexible scheduling.



*Other Alcohol Awareness Courses, approved by the Maryland State Comptroller’s Office, are available. Call 410-260-7381 or visit http://www.comp.state.md.us/ for more information..

 

The Department of Liquor Control encourages establishments to train all staff who sell/serve alcohol.

To add or update trainer information please call the DLC Outreach Office, 240-777-1904.

 

Act responsibly when consuming alcoholic beverages!

For website comments or to report website problems or broken links, please email us.
This email address does not handle service requests or complaints.

Department of Liquor Control • 201 Edison Park Drive • Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Telephone 240-777-1900 • FAX 240-777-1962 • E-mail
dlc@montgomerycountymd.gov