

PEDESTRIAN, BICYCLE AND TRAFFIC SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

March 7, 2013 – 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. Executive Office Building – 9th Floor Conference Room

Rolling Agenda – Subject to Change

1) PBTSAC Committee Business:

Colleen Mitchell, Vice Chair

- Welcome and Introductions: Purpose of Tonight's Meeting
- Review of Minutes from January Meeting Approval/Changes (1)
- Update on Reappointments (Dunckel)
- PBTSAC Annual Report 2012 (Mitchell) (2)
- Letter from Leggett: Request for Pedestrian Safety Education Funding (3)
- Pedestrian Collision Data Analysis/2013 Fatalities (Didone)

2) Follow-up on January Bicycle Meeting

Steve Friedman

- Issues Raised Action Items?
- HB 339 Mandatory Helmet Laws
- Maryland Transportation Fund

3) Pedestrian Crossings

Colleen Mitchell, Fred Lees

Issues Raised by Disabilities Community: Anyesha Mookherjee

- Crosswalk striping (and signal head) policy:

High Visibility versus Parallel Line? Providing 4 legs in high activity areas (e.g. Spring Street and Colesville) What is maintenance goal?

- Installing ADA-compliant truncated domes when other facilities not improved
- Marked, unsignalized crossings with high vehicular speeds.
- Unmarked, unsignalized crosswalks policy of State and County
- Placement of speed cameras on State roads in relation to crossings (Georgia Ave between Spring Street and 16th).
- Use of HIB in advance of crosswalk (MD117, MD320)

The above topics to be discussed in terms of: rules, regulations, who is responsible, what are available resources, what are the challenges, what are best practices

8) New Business/Comments

Committee

- Street Smart Campaign 2013 (Dunckel)
- Annual Meeting with Isiah Leggett March 19, 7:00 pm (Mitchell)
- Seneca Valley High School (Didone)
- Blair Walk Project Train-the-Trainer (Kirby)

9) Adjourn

Department of Transportation

Erwin Mack Chair Colleen Mitchell Vice Chair

David Anspacher Ramin Assa Thomas Didone Darrel Drobnich Valerie Ervin Steve Friedman Angel Garcia-Ablanque John Hall Arthur Holmes, Jr. Alan Migdall Peter Moe Alyce Ortuzar Reemberto Rodriguez David Sharp Jack Strausman