Skip Navigation


Nancy Navarro banner

Nancy's Committees

There are currently six Council standing committees: Education; Health and Human Services; Management and Fiscal Policy; Planning, Housing, and Economic Development; Public Safety; and Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment. Each Committee has budget review and program oversight responsibilities. Some cross-cutting issues may be reviewed by two committees meeting jointly.

In some of the committees, an individual other than the Chair has been designated as the Lead Councilmember for an issue or group of issues. Lead Councilmembers take the initiative in developing agenda items in their areas of responsibility and act as chair of the committee when their items are being discussed.

Council committees customarily meet on Mondays and Thursdays. During the Council budget seasons (January through June), committee sessions are held more frequently. 

All Committee meetings can be viewed on-demand 24 hours after the meeting concludes. Click here to: View Committee Meetings 

Nancy Navarro currently serves on the following Committees:  

  • Government Operations and Fiscal Policy (GOFP):
    Chair: Nancy Navarro
    Jurisdiction: Economic and fiscal policy; spending affordability; County Government administrative departments; cable and telecommunications issues; technology issues; personnel and compensation issues; procurement policy; oversight of interagency teams on training, public information, procurement, and PEG (public, education, and government) cable television channels.
    Video Archives: View Committee Sessions
    Public Hearing Procedure : Click for Details

  • Education Committee (ED):
    Member: Nancy Navarro
    Jurisdiction: Issues relating to Montgomery County Public Schools and Montgomery College.
    Video Archives: View Committee Sessions
    Public Hearing Procedure : Click for Details


Montgomery County Council, 100 Maryland Ave, Rockville MD 20850
Phone: (240) 777-7900 (voice) • (240) 777-7888 (fax) • (MD Relay) Dial 711 or 800-201-7165
Contact the County Council and Legislative Branch Offices