Skip to main content

Office of Consumer Protection

Advisory Committee on Consumer Protection

VIEW REPORT ON GAS APPLIANCES   This report by the Montgomery County Advisory Committee on Consumer Protection was undertaken at the request of the County's Office of Consumer Protection (OCP) after a joint investigation by OCP and WSSC discovered that out of more than 3,000 gas appliance installations from 2010 and 2011 in Montgomery County by six large retailers and one installer subcontractor for a large retailer, more than two thirds had either not been properly inspected following installation or had been installed by unlicensed individuals.  Under the "Plumbing and Fuel Gas Code" for Montgomery and Prince George's counties, it is against the law for anyone other than WSSC-licensed plumbers/gas fitters to install gas appliances, including water heaters, dryers,  heating systems and stoves.  All such appliances must then be inspected by WSSC wimedium 5 days of installation.  After reviewing comments from consumers, retailers, Fire and Rescue Services and WSSC, the Advisory Committee made seven independent recommendations which are contained in the report.

Created Montgomery County Code Section 11-3.
Purspose The Committee advises the Office of Consumer Protection in carrying out its duties and functions under Chapter 11, and may hold public hearings on any topic related to consumer protection.
Membership Nine members - preferably at least two from the Better Business Bureau, the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce or a local chamber, or another county-wide or local association of merchants; one from the Community Action Board; one recommended by the Community Action Board; and five from the community at large.
Terms Three years - no compensation.
Meetings See  County meeting calendar  or call 240-777-3661 for updates.
Staff Sharon Margolis, T: 240-777-3696 Email:
Office of Consumer Protection

Public-at-Large: Corinne Yourman, First Full Term (2017); Almond Dickens, Sr., First Partial Term (2015); Barry Klein, Second Term (2016); Sidney Green, Chair, First Term (2016); Bernard Rod, First Full Term (2015); Joshua Lamel, First Term (2018); Runako Allsopp, Second Term (2016); Susan Decker, Vice Chair, First Partial Term (2015); Community Action Board: Ronald M. Jennings, Sr., First Term (2017)

Go Top