Bring Your Bag
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montgomerycountymd.gov/bag

Montgomery County’s Carryout Bag Law: The Basics for Residents

Starting January 1, 2012, all retail establishments in Montgomery County that sell
goods and provide their customers a carryout bag (either paper or plastic) are required
to charge 5 cents per bag.

Retail establishments include all stores, permanent booths,
service stations, grocery stores, department stores,
specialty goods sellers, convenience stores, restaurants and others.

m  Montgomery County’s new Carryout Bag Law is designed to improve our
environment by cutting down plastic bags—a significant source of litter—which
pollute our streets, streams, and playgrounds, and harm property values.

m A similar program has been in effect in Washington DC for the past 18 months
and has already reduced plastic bag litter that clogs the rivers and
streams in Washington DC by an estimated 65 percent.

m  Proceeds from the Carryout Bag Law go exclusively to programs that fight
litter and provide stormwater pollution control in Montgomery County.

m Residents can avoid the charge for carryout bags by bringing their own
bags to carry purchases out of the store.

m The 5-cent charge also applies to purchases made over the phone/Internet/
fax, or at a self-checkout counter, if you are using store-provided carryout bags.

= Some bags are exempt from the Carryout Bag Law. Examples include
bags used to package bulk or perishable items, prescription drugs, as well as
paper bags from restaurants and delis for customers to carry out prepared or
left-over food.

For More Information:
visit montgomerycountymd.gov/bag
or call 311




