Skip to main content

Members of the CJCC

Created -- Montgomery County Code Section 2-60 (as amended 3/04)

Purpose -- Evaluate the organization and adequacy of law enforcement and the administration of justice in the County; review and comment, at the request of the County Executive or County Council, on programs proposed by law enforcement and criminal justice agencies for: long-term impacts on the criminal justice system; feasibility; and implementation issues; respond to requests from the Executive, Council, and the judicial system for any analysis concerning criminal justice programs; educate the community about law enforcement, crime prevention, reentry of individuals to the community, and other criminal justice issues, promote respect for law, and encourage community involvement in law enforcement and other appropriate components of the criminal justice system; facilitate coordination of the programs and activities of County law enforcement and criminal justice agencies; facilitate coordination of County law enforcement and criminal justice agencies with those of the State and neighboring state and local governments; promote efficient processing of criminal cases at every stage from arrest to completion of trial and correctional programs; and advise the County on how to achieve fair and effective law enforcement, crime prevention, and juvenile justice. The Commission makes reports and recommendations to the Executive and Council as it finds appropriate. The Commission must report to the Council and Executive on request.

Membership -- 32 members total (twenty are ex-officio; see list on page 3). The County Executive appoints, subject to Council confirmation, a member of the MC Council selected by the Council President, a member of the County Legislative Delegation selected jointly by the Chairs of the House and Senate Delegations; 7 members of the public, one of whom must be a member of the Maryland bar who practices law in the County; an employee of the Division of Parole and Probation in the State Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, after giving the Director of the Division an opportunity to make a recommendation; an employee of the State Department of Juvenile Justice, after giving the Secretary of the Department an opportunity to make a recommendation; and a member of the Advisory Board on Victims and their Families, after giving the Board an opportunity to make a recommendation.

Financial Disclosure -- Not required.

Terms -- Appointed members serve three year terms.

Chair and VC -- After considering recommendation of the CJCC, if any, the CE must Designate the Chair and Vice Chair who serve one-year terms.

Meetings -- The Commission must meet at least four times per year.

Staff -- Hon. Mike Subin, 240-777-2773


Type of Position:

Ex-Officio Members, CJCC

The County requests the following 12 individuals to serve as ex-officio members of the Commission:

  1. Administrative Judge of the Circuit Court for Montgomery County; Hon. John Debelius, 50 Md. Ave., Rockville
  2. Administrative Judge of the District Court for Montgomery County; Hon. Eugene Wolfe, 27 Courthouse Sq., Rockville
  3. State's Attorney for Montgomery County; Hon. John J. McCarthy, 50 Md. Avenue, Rockville
  4. County Sheriff; Hon. Darren Popkin, 50 Maryland Avenue, Rockville
  5. Clerk of the Circuit Court for Montgomery County; Hon. Loretta Knight--, 50 Maryland. Avenue, Rockville
  6. Public Defender for Montgomery County; Brian Shefferman, 199-P East Montgomery Avenue, Rockville
  7. Chief of the City of Rockville Police Department; Chief T. Treschuk, 111 Maryland Avenue, Rockville
  8. Chief of the City of Gaithersburg Police Department; Chief Mark Sroka, 14 Fulks Corner Avenue, Gaithersburg,MD 20877
  9. Chief of the City of Takoma Park Police Department; Chief Ronald Ricucci, 7500 Maple Avenue, Takoma Park
  10. Chief of the Village of Chevy Chase Police Department; Chief Adventino Dasilva, 5906 Conn. Ave., Chevy Chase 20815
  11. Chief of the Montgomery County Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission Police Department; Chief Darien Manley, 12751 Layhill Road, Silver Spring 20906; and
  12. Director of the Department of School Safety and Security for the Montgomery County Public Schools, Robert B. Hellmuth, 850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville


The following 8 individuals are ex-officio members of the Commission:

  1. Chair of the County Council's Public Safety Committee; Phil Andrews, 100 Maryland Avenue, Rockville
  2. Chief Administrative Officer; Timothy Firestine, 101 Monroe Street, Rockville
  3. Chief of the County Police Department; Chief J. Thomas Manger, 2350 Research Blvd., Rockville
  4. Director of the Department of Correction and Rehabilitation; Art Wallenstein, 51 Monroe Street, Rockville
  5. Chief of Behavioral Health and Crisis Services of the Department of Health and Human Services; Raymond Crowel, 401 Hungerford Drive, Rockville
  6. Chief of Children, Youth, and Family Services of the Department of Health and Human Services; Kate Garvey, 401 Hungerford Drive, Rockville (VICE CHAIR)
  7. Director of the Dept. of Technology Services, Sonny Segal, 101 Monroe Street, Rockville
  8. Assistant Chief of the Fire Code Enforcement and Fire Explosive Investigations Sections of the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service, Assistant Chief Michael Donahue, 101 Monroe Street, Rockville


Criminal Justice Coordinating Commission Montgomery County, Maryland
101 Monroe Street · 2nd Floor · Rockville, Maryland 20850 · 240.777.2539
Go Top