Skip to main content

Training

ALERT esta diseñado para educar a las personas que sirven y venden alcohol, gerentes y dueños de las empresas con licencia de bebidas alcoholicas en el cumplimiento de las leyes y regulaciones en el Condado de Montgomery.

Aprenda como desarrollar practicas responsables sobre las leyes y regulaciones en materia de alcohol y revisar problemas identificados por personal del condado y el estado de Maryland.

Next upcoming ALERT training in spanish, click here.

Asista al siguiente seminario ALERT

ALERT is designed to educate Montgomery County servers, sellers, managers and owners in alcohol beverage regulatory compliance.
Participants will learn how to develop responsible alcohol policies, review issues identified by County and State enforcement agencies and have an opportunity to meet and network with peers and county officials.
This training complements the state certified training, it does not replace it.

When?
ALERT is held from 10AM - 1PM on the 2nd and 4th Monday of every month (except if the Monday falls on a holiday).
Please note, if you arrive over 1/2 hour late, a letter of attendance will not be issued due to the mandate not being met.
View all upcoming classes

Where?
201 Edison Park Drive, Gaithersburg, MD 20878

Cost?
There is no cost to attend ALERT, but seating is limited. RSVP is recommended.

RSVP?
240-777-1999
240-777-1991
DLC@MontgomeryCountyMD.gov

The Requirement - Article 2B-SS 13-101
  • On & Off Premise retail alcohol beverage establishments are required to maintain at least one licensee or designated employee who has been currently certified in an approved alcohol awareness training program.
  • Establishments in Montgomery, Harford and Howard Counties are required to have a certified license-holder or a certified person employed in a supervisory capacity designated by the licensee present during the hours in which alcohol may be sold.
  • Certification must be renewed every four years to remain current.
  • Failure to have a certified representative may result in license renewal delays, as well as, fines, suspensions or even revocation of your retail alcohol beverage license. Currently penalties for failure to comply are $100 for the first offense; and $500 fine or a suspension/revocation of the license, or both, for each subsequent offense.
  • Temporary licenses (except those issued in St. Mary's County) and class E - steamboat, F - railroad and G - aircraft licenses are exempt from this mandate.
The Training Programs
 

Certification is valid for a period of four years, and the holder shall complete retraining in an approved program for each successive four-year period.
Below is a list of alcohol awareness programs that are approved by Maryland.

Maryland state approved alcohol awareness training programs
Act responsibly when consuming alcoholic beverages!
201 Edison Park Drive, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
240-777-1900 DLC@MontgomeryCountyMD.gov
Go Top