PARK THE PHONE d e Laws Jake's Law:
ST NIARED T Maryland law prohibits the A driver that causes SERIOUS INJURY
I AN A use of a handheld cell phone  or DEATH wihile falking on a handheld

or texting while driving. === cell phone or texting may receive a

S e

P L PRISON SENTENCE of up fo 3 YEARS
R T e The Fine:

and a fine of up to $5,000.

Police can stop and ticket drivers
for using a handheld cell phone. =

S What Can You Do?

Drivers will face fines ==

=

(including court costs) of: '« Park Your Phone. Set a good example.
= $83 first offense * Manage Your Time. Driving is not the
"'3:?-.;; $140 second offense time to talk or text on a cell phone.

1::‘51 60 thi.l'd Offense ~_* Have a Designated Texter. Ask

someone else to send or read text

- (a:gc_! subsequent offenses) messages for you.
Drivers also can be ticketed * Ride Responsibly. If you are a
for writing, sending or reading passenger and a driver is using a
a text or electronic message handheld cell phone, ask them to
while driving. The fine is: pull over or wait until they arrive at
$70 and 1 point the destination.
* Buckle Up! It's the single most
If the use of the device contributes important step to save your life in the
to a crash, the fine may increase to: event of a crash!

$110 and 3 points
: More than 30 000 people are INJURED
Mar Y’ and’s Cell Phone CELL PHONE use and TEXTING are ~ annually on Maryland’s roads as a
and Texfing Laws teading causes of DISTRACTED DRIVING. result of DISTRACTED DRIVING.

‘ —U‘ TOWARD ZERO DEATHS
L

[Z“_\EJR | — MARYLAND—

Highway Safety Office

i

~ |
R ek R L LIFE COUNTS Martin O'Malley, Governor

towardzerodeathsmd.com | MARYLAND | Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor




La Ley:

ESTACIONE SU TELEFOND

La ley de Maryland prohibe el uso de
un teléfono celular de mano o enviar
mensajes de texto mientras conduce.
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= o?{\ ‘34’ -La policia puede detener y multar

=X a los conductores por utilizar un
‘ teléfono celular de mano.
e =% Los conductores deben esperar multas
(incluye costos de la corte) de:

= $83 en la primera infraccion

$160 en la tercera infraccién
"’é‘ (e infracciones posteriores)

Los conductores también pueden
‘ ser multados por enviar o leer un
mensaje de texto o correo electrénico

/ mientras conducen. La mulia es:

~$70 y 1 punto

Si el uso del celularjcontribuye o un
accidente, la multa puede aumentar a:

$110 y 3 punios

Fl uso del TELEFONO CELULAR y
ENVI0 DE MENSAJES DE TEXTO son

las causas principales de los
CONDUCTORES DISTRAIDOS
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La Ley de Jake:

Un conductor que cause DANOS
GRAVES o Ia MUERTE mieniras habla

-.==~ por teléfono celular de mano o envia
A I_.a Multa: =

mensajes de fexto puede recibir una
SENTENCIA de hasta 3 AKOS y una

mulfa de hasta $5 0010,

>~ ¢Qué Puede Hacer?

Q%’i- Estacione el teléfono. Dé el ejemplo.

* Administre su tiempo. No es el
momento de hablar o mandar un
mensaje de texto por un teléfono
celular mientras se conduce.

* Tenga una persona designada para
mensajes de texto. Pidale a otra
persona que envie o lea sus mensgjes.

* Sea un pasajero responsable. Si
es un pasajero y el conductor estd
utilizando un teléfono celular de mano,
pidale que detenerse o esperar hasta
que lleguen a su destino.

* iAbrochese el cinturén! Es el paso
mds importante que le salvard la vida
si sufre un accidente.

Yds de 30 007 personas son HERIDAS
cada afio en los caminos de Maryland
debido a los CONDUCTORES DISTRAIDOS.
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