MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

Offices of the County Executive * 101 Monroe Street « Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject , Number
Dishonored Check Fees 5-14

Originating D’epaftment , | Effective Date
Department of Finance : May 7, 2014

Montgomery County Regulation on
Dishonored Check Fees
Department of Finance

Issued by: County Executive
Regulation No. 5-14
COMCOR No. 20.41.01.01

Authority: Montgomery County Code 2004, §20-41
Supersedes: Executive Regulation 50-92
Council Review: Method 3 under Code Section 2A-15
Register Vol. 31 No. 3

Effective Date: May 7, 2074
Comment Deadline: March 30, 2014

Summary: This regulation amends COMCOR 20.41.01 to amend the service charge for dishonored checks
or drafts.

Staff contact: Jeri Cauthorn, 240-777-8861, or Jeri.Cauthorn@montgomerycountymd.gov

Address: Department of Finance, Executive Office Building, 15" Floor

101 Monroe Street, Rockville, Maryland 20850
Background: The service charge has not been amended since 1992. State law authorizes a $35.00 fee and this

regulation will modify the County fee to be consistent with the fee authorized by State law and
allow the fee to increase if State law changes to allow a larger fee.

COMCOR 20.41.01 Dishonored Check Fees

20.41.01.01

Section 20-41 of the Montgomery County Code 1984, imposes a service charge of ten dollars ($10.00) or
such other reasonable amount as may be established by executive regulation under method (3) of Section
2A-15 of the County Code when any check or draft tendered to the County in payment of any tax, fee,
charge, penalty, interest or fine is dishonored by a bank.
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20.41.01.02

A service charge in the amount of $35.00 or such other greater amount as authorized by State law, is
imposed on each dishonored check or draft tendered to the County.

20.41.01.03

The service charge is due on each dishonored check or draft unless otherwise provided in other laws,

resolutions or regulations.

20.41.01.04

The Director of Finance may require that the total amount due, including the service charge, be paid in cash,

certified check or money order.

Approved as to form and legality:
& ‘ S A=Y

Office of the County Attorney/Date

sk~

Isiklh Leggett * / i
County Executive |

Page 2 of 2




