Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service

FIRE CHIEF'S GENERAL ORDER

NUMBER: 07-21

October 9, 2007

TO: All MCFRS Personnel

FROM: Fire Chief Thomas W. Carr, Jr.

SUBJECT: MCFRS Implementation of the Metropolitan Washington

Council of Governments (MWCOG) Unit Numbering System

Effective on October 15, 2007 at 0700 hours, Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service and Prince George's Fire/EMS Department will begin implementing the first phase of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments unit numbering system. This system is based on the assignment of an individual numeric jurisdictional identifier for each major geographic jurisdiction within the MWCOG. These numeric assignments are:

0 – Washington, DC 1 – Arlington County

2 – City of Alexandria 3 – Metro Washington Airport Authority

4 - Fairfax County5 - Prince William County6 - Loudoun County7 - Montgomery County8 - Prince George's County9 - Frederick County

The unit number is a three digit matrix that uses the jurisdictional identifier, followed by a two digit fire/rescue station number. As a result of the COG implementation, Rescue 1 will assume the identifier as Station 41, and Rescue 2 will become Station 42. **Attachment A** indicates the full listing of COG station numbers in Montgomery County, including the federal installations.

Apparatus/Unit Identification. These numbers identify each piece of apparatus, in conjunction with the unit type, and the unit's assigned station number, using Montgomery County's jurisdictional identifier "7" as the prefix for each MCFRS station's number. The **examples** below illustrate this concept.

- E11 will be E701, vocalized on the radio as "Engine Seven-Oh-One."
- A18 will be A701; M19 will be M701.

If two or more units of the same type are assigned to a single station, an Alpha suffix is added to the unit identifier to identify each subsequent unit of the same type assigned to that station. The Alpha suffix of the first unit (i.e., E703-A) is *silent*, and will not be transmitted. However, all subsequent units of that same unit type will transmit their suffix designator, beginning with Bravo.

FCGO # 07-21, Page 2
MCFRS Implementation of the MWCOG Unit Numbering System

Examples:

- E31 will be E703 (*silent* Alpha); E32 then becomes E703-Bravo;
- M89 will be M708 (*silent* Alpha); M88 then becomes M708-Bravo;
- A87 will be A708 (silent Alpha); A86 then becomes A708-Bravo.

For CAD and records management purposes, the Alpha suffix will not appear. However, the Bravo, Charlie, Delta, etc., suffixes will appear as A741B, A741C, A741D. **Attachment B** provides a full listing of unit numbers.

When a second- or third-line unit, i.e., Bravo or Charlie, is moved up to frontline status, it assumes the *silent*-Alpha designator. **Example**: When Engine 716B moves up to frontline service at FS716, it will be E716. The EMS units at Bethesda-Chevy Chase Rescue Squad and Wheaton Volunteer Rescue Squad are exceptions, and will retain their unit designation, as indicated in **Attachment B**.

Personnel/Portable Identification. With the implementation of the COG numbers, the portable radio identifier by position will also change. The Unit Officer will always answer as the Unit, regardless of whether using the mobile or a portable radio. **Example**: The officer on Rescue Squad 741 will always announce/answer as "Rescue Squad 741." The remaining positions on the unit will use plain English position descriptions, in addition to the unit identifier, as shown below.

E1/T1/RS1/A1/M1	will become Driver
E3/T3/RS3	will become Right (Officer side bucket)
E4/T4/RS4	will become Left (Driver side bucket)
E5/T5/RS5	will become Five
R6/T6/RS6	will become Six
T7	will become Tiller

Implementation Phasing. MWCOG numbering will be implemented in two phases:

Phase 1 includes field response units from the LFRDs, and Duty Operations Chief level and below;

Phase 2 includes staff and support personnel, and will be implemented within six months of Phase 1.

Any necessary adjustments to the unit designations and components of this General Order may develop after I implementation. Please direct any questions to Operations Division Chief Phil Guercio at (240) 777-2471.

lssued:	Revised:	Rescinded:
---------	----------	------------

Attachment A

FCGO # 07-21 MCFRS Implementation of MWCOG Unit Numbering

Montgomery County Fire/Rescue Stations and Federal Station Numbers

Station #	Community	COG Station #
01	Silver Spring	701
02	Takoma Park	702
03	Rockville	703
04	Sandy Spring	704
05	Kensington	705
06	Bethesda	706
07	Chevy Chase	707
08	Gaithersburg	708
09	Hyattstown	709
10	Cabin John	710
11	Glen Echo	711
12	Hillandale	712
13	Damascus	713
14	Upper Montgomery	714
15	Burtonsville	715
16	Silver Spring	716
17	Laytonsville	717
18	Kensington	718
19	Silver Spring	719
20	Bethesda	720

Station		COG
#	Community	Station #
21	Kensington	721
23	Rockville	723
24	Colesville	724
25	Kensington	725
26	Bethesda	726
28	Gaithersburg	728
29	Germantown	729
30	Cabin John	730
31	Rockville	731
33	Rockville	733
35	Clarksburg	735
40	Sandy Spring	740
R1	B-CC Rescue Squad	741
	Wheaton Volunteer	
R2	Rescue Squad	742
50	Bethesda Navy Medical	750
51	NIH	751
52	NSWC - Carderock	752
53	NIST	753
54	Walter Reed – Annex	754
55	Walter Reed – DC	755