Skip Navigation

image

Food and Facilities Licensing Home


Environmental Health


Health Care Facilities


Licensing Services

Food and Facilities Licensing

Health Care - Group Homes

Group Homes are facilities licensed by the State of Maryland or the County offering residential accommodations, supervision, or assisted community living for the residents. The number of residents includes members of the staff who resides at the group home but does not include infants less than two months old.

Listed below is the information needed to apply for a license for a Group Home for the Elderly (Assisted Living) or a Group Home for the Non-Elderly.

Elderly Group Home (Assisted Living)

A group home for the elderly is a community-based residential program for three to 16 unrelated individuals that provides housing, supportive services, supervision, personalized assistance, health-related services, or a combination of these services to meet the needs of residents who are unable to perform or, who need assistance and/or personal guidance and direction in performing the activities of daily living or instrumental activities of daily living, in a way that promotes optimum dignity and independence for the residents.      

Any person or entity desiring to operate a group home for the elderly in Montgomery County for three to 16 individuals.      

Group Homes in Montgomery County with three to 16 residents require BOTH a Montgomery County and a State of Maryland license before beginning to operate and annually thereafter. According to Montgomery County Code Chapter 23A-8 (a) “A Building must not be advertised or used as a Group home until the Director issues an annual license. A building must not be advertised or used as a group home after a license has expired or has been revoked or suspended.”

New applicants may call the Licensure and Regulatory Office at 240-777-3986 to request an application or select this link.  Group home applications are automatically sent three months prior to licensure expiration date and must be returned to Licensure & Regulatory Services no less than sixty days before the license expiration date.

$60.00 per bed licensure fee

Submit ALL the following documents with your application:

NOTE: Renewal-only applicants may eliminate the Use and Occupancy Permit and complete the Program Statement checklist unless changes occur.

1.   A Use and Occupancy Permit-if the group home has nine or more occupants residing in the home (Chapter 23 A-9(a) (Tel#:240-777-0311)

2.   Has complaint procedures which includes all the following information required by Montgomery County Code Chapter 23A. (The Resident Agreement Grievance Procedure required by the state cannot be substituted for this form.).

a.  Has Complaint Procedure Information Sheet formatted with the group home’s name  and address as well as provider’s name and contact telephone number.

b.  How resident complaints will be addressed.

c.  The name(s) of staff authorized to receive complaints.

d.  The time frame for the licensee to investigate complaints (no longer than 30 days).

e.  How the licensee will inform the complainant of the investigation results.

f.  How the licensee will attempt to resolve complaints.

g.  Lists the County and State licensure agencies, phone numbers and addresses to contact if complaints are not resolved satisfactorily, including the Licensure & Regulatory Office.

h.  Any complaint that has not been resolved to the complainant’s satisfaction should be forwarded in writing to the Licensure & Regulatory Office.

3.   Accurate fee per number of beds.

4.   Program Statement which includes-Chapter 23A-9 (d):

a.  The program purpose, goals, and objectives;

b.  The means to accomplish the goals and objectives;

c.  The needs and capabilities of the population served;

d.  The proposed budget, resources, and procedures to meet those needs;

e.  The proposed operating methods and procedures for medication management, transportation, social and recreational services, 24 hour supervision, personal care services, and food service;

f.    Client admission and retention criteria;

g.   Qualifications and experience of the applicant and the personnel operating the group home.

5.   A copy of the State Assisted Living license

6.   A completed Emergency Contact form.

7.   Fire Approval/Permit for the number of beds.

A Group Home for the Elderly must receive ALL the following approvals and documents before a Montgomery County Group Home License will be issued:

1.  A complete Montgomery County Group Home License application with fee attached.

2.  A fire approval form dated and signed by the fire marshal and indicating the number of approved resident beds.

3.  An environmental approval form dated and signed by the environmental inspector and indicating the number of approved resident beds.

4.  For group homes with a well or septic system, a Well & Septic approval form dated and signed by the well & septic inspector and indicating the number of approved resident beds (contact Well & Septic to make an appointment at: 240-777-0311).

5.  A Use & Occupancy Permit if the group home has nine or more occupants residing in the home.

6.  A copy of a current State Assisted Living License.

Obtaining a State License:

Call the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Health Care Quality, at 410-402-8217 to request application instructions and forms. Their website is www.dhmh.state.md.us/ohcq.  

A person may not operate an Assisted Living Program in the State of Maryland for one or more residents without obtaining a State license.

Mail the original State Assisted Living documentation and application to:

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

Office of Health Care Quality

Bland Bryant Building-Spring Grove Hospital Center

55 Wade Avenue

Catonsville, MD 21228

Renewing a Montgomery County License for a Group Home for the Elderly:

A Montgomery County Group Home license is issued for twelve months and must be renewed annually. Fire, environmental, and well & septic inspections and approvals are also required annually. Renewal applications are sent to the provider three months prior to the license expiration date and are due 60 days before the license expires.

PLEASE NOTE that receipt of an approval from any of the above does not mean a Montgomery County Group Home License has been approved. You are not licensed as a group home by Montgomery County until you receive a document stating you have a Montgomery County Group Home License with the effective date of the license as well as the expiration date.

Non-Elderly Group Home

A group home for the non-elderly is a community-based residential program for three to 16 unrelated individuals that provides housing, supportive services, supervision, personalized assistance, health-related services, or a combination of these services to meet the needs of residents who are unable to perform or, who need assistance and/or personal guidance and direction in performing the activities of daily living or instrumental activities of daily living, in a way that promotes optimum dignity and independence for the residents.

Any person or entity wishing to operate a group home for the non-elderly in Montgomery County for three to 16 individuals.

Group Homes in Montgomery County with three to 16 residents require BOTH a Montgomery County and a State of Maryland license before beginning to operate and annually thereafter. According to Montgomery County Code Chapter 23A-8 (a) “A Building must not be advertised or used as a Group Home until the Director issues an annual license. A building must not be advertised or used as a group home after a license has expired or has been revoked or suspended. 

NEW APPLICANTS may call the Licensure and Regulatory Office at 240-777-3986 to request an application, or select this link.

Renewal applications are automatically sent three months prior to licensure expiration date and must be returned to Licensure & Regulatory Services no less than sixty days before the license expiration date.

$50.00 per bed licensure fee.

NOTE: Renewal-only applicants may eliminate the Use and Occupancy Permit and complete the Program Statement checklist unless changes occur.

1.  A Use and Occupancy Permit-if the group home has nine or more occupants residing in the home (Chapter 23 A-9(a) (Tel#:240-777-0311)

2.  Complaint procedures which includes all the following information required by Montgomery County Code Chapter 23A. (The Resident Agreement Grievance Procedure required by the state cannot be substituted for this form.)

a.  A Complaints Procedure Information Sheet formatted with the group home’s name  and address as well as provider’s name and contact telephone number.

b.  How resident complaints will be addressed.

c.  The name(s) of staff authorized to receive complaints.

d.  The time frame for the licensee to investigate complaints (no longer than 30 days).

e.  How the licensee will inform the complainant of the investigation results.

f.  How the licensee will attempt to resolve complaints.

g.  Lists the County and State licensure agencies, phone numbers and addresses to contact if complaints are not resolved satisfactorily, including the Licensure & Regulatory Office.

h.  Any complaint that has not been resolved to the complainant’s satisfaction should be forwarded in writing to the Licensure & Regulatory Office.

3.  Accurate fee per number of beds.

4.  Program Statement which includes-Chapter 23A-9 (d):

a.  The program purpose, goals, and objectives;

b.  The means to accomplish the goals and objectives;

c.  The needs and capabilities of the population served;

d.  The proposed budget, resources, and procedures to meet those needs;

e.  The proposed operating methods and procedures for medication management, transportation, social and recreational services, 24 hour supervision, personal care services, and food service;

f.  Client admission and retention criteria;

g.  Qualifications and experience of the applicant and the personnel operating the group home.

5.  A copy of the  State license

6.  A completed Emergency Contact Form

7.  Fire Approval/Permit for the number of beds.

A Group Home for the Non-Elderly must receive ALL the following approvals and documents before a Montgomery County Group Home License will be issued:

1.  A complete Montgomery County Group Home License application with fee attached.

2.  A fire approval form dated and signed by the fire marshal and indicating the number of approved resident beds.

3.  An environmental approval form dated and signed by the environmental inspector and indicating the number of approved resident beds.

4.  For group homes with a well or septic system, a Well & Septic approval form dated and signed by the well & septic inspector and indicating the number of approved resident beds approved (contact well & septic to make an appointment 240-777-0311).

5.  A Use & Occupancy Permit if the group home has nine or more occupants residing in the home.

6.  A copy of a current State license.

Obtaining a State License:

For information on obtaining a Group Home for Individuals with Mental Illness license, call the Montgomery County CORE Service Agency at 240-777-1400.

For information on obtaining a license to care for minor children, contact the Governor’s Office for Children at 410-767-2332. The website providing information for applicants is www.goc.maryland.gov  (select Residential Child Care programs).

 

Renewing a Montgomery County license for a Group Home for the Non-Elderly:

A Montgomery County Group Home is issued for twelve months and must be renewed annually. Fire, environmental and well & septic inspections and approvals are also required annually. Renewal applications are sent to the provider three months prior to the license expiration date and are due 60 days before the license expires.

PLEASE NOTE that receipt of an approval from any of the above does not mean a Montgomery County Group Home License has been approved. You are not licensed as a group home by Montgomery County until you receive a document stating you have a Montgomery County Group Home License with the effective date of the license as well as the expiration date.

Forms: