Skip to main content

MCFRS News Release

For Immediate Release:
April 19, 2012

Release ID: 12-013
Contact: Scott Graham, Public Information Office
(240) 876-1260 Phone
(240) 777-2442 Media Line
Follow us @MCFirePIO

Leggett, Public Safety and Elected Officials, Family Members of Fallen Officers Dedicate Montgomery County's Public Safety Memorial

Friday, April 20, 2012
11:00 a.m.
100 Edison Park Drive
Gaithersburg, Maryland

Rockville - - - Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett will be joined by Maryland Congressman Chris Van Hollen and County Council President Roger Berliner at an outdoor ceremony dedicating the County’s new Public Safety Memorial in Gaithersburg. 

Other participants will include: Fire Chief Richard Bowers, Police Chief J. Thomas Manger, Maryland-National Capital Park Police, Montgomery County Division Chief Darien Manley, Sheriff Darren Popkin, Department of Correction & Rehabilitation Director Arthur Wallenstein and family, friends and supporters of fallen public safety personnel.   

The granite memorial is engraved with the names of the 30 public safety heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty.  It was built through a public-private partnership and was erected on the grounds of the new Public Safety Headquarters.

Directions and Parking:  Take I-270 to Exit 6B, Route 28 west (W. Montgomery Ave. becomes Darnestown Rd.)  Follow R-28 west for approximately 3 and ½ miles.  Make a right turn onto Edison Park Drive.  The memorial is located near the lake on the left. Members of the media will be directed to reserved parking to accommodate microwave trucks.

Inclement weather: Call 240-777-2474 for updated information.





Go Top