Skip to main content

What You Should Know About FIREWORKS:

As you prepare to celebrate Independence Day with family picnics, outings to the beach and neighborhood barbecues, take steps to prevent these festivities from turning into tragedies. Each Fourth of July, hundreds of children are permanently disfigured due to burns by fireworks. Here's what you should know:

  • Each year, fireworks in the United States cause approximately twelve deaths, 2000 serious eye injuries, and 5000 other injuries (including amputated fingers).
  • Although many people mistakenly believe that sparklers are safe, sparklers burn at 1,800 degrees Fahrenheit (nearly hot enough to melt gold)!
  • In Montgomery County, all fireworks are illegal to possess or discharge including gold label sparklers.

Snap-and-pop noise makers, snakes, and party poppers are the only exception to this law.

Maryland's Fireworks Laws:

  • Fireworks include any firecracker, skyrocket, or Roman candle. Toy caps are only permitted if the explosive content is under .25 grains and they are designed so the hand cannot come in contact with the cap when in use.
  • In Maryland, private use and possession of fireworks, including sparklers, is illegal and carries a $500 fine.
  • It is against the law to sell fireworks in Maryland, and carries a $1,000 fine.
  • Public fireworks displays require proper permits and insurance.

Celebrate Wisely!

  • Teach children that fireworks are NOT toys. Explain the dangers of explosives and fireworks to your children.
  • Do not allow your children to handle fireworks, including sparklers. Set a good example! Do not handle fireworks or sparklers yourself.
  • Obtain the proper permits and insurance before holding any public fireworks display.
  • Enjoy the thrill of fireworks and pyrotechnics at public displays by licensed professionals.

Fireworks Safety Code
 

 

Go Top