Skip Navigation
Engagement Cluster




Community Partnerships Header

African Affairs Advisory Group

The advisory group meets on the second Thursday of every month at the Silver Spring Civic Building. The AAAG has exceeded its goals every year. The African Affairs Advisory Group serves as liaison between the African communities and the County government. The purpose of the African Affairs Advisory Group is to ensure that the County Executive is well informed of and able to act effectively to respond to the needs and concerns of African immigrants living/and or working in Montgomery County. The Advisory Group is comprised of a chair and vice chair who are designated by and serve at the pleasure of the County Executive and approximately 30 political, religious, and other leaders in the African community. The Advisory Group’s primary tasks include: advise the County government on the needs and concerns of African immigrants in Montgomery County, including but not limited to policy initiatives, budget priorities, economic and other partnership opportunities, and help County agencies with access for the implementation of programs; reach out to the African immigrant community in Montgomery County to bring their needs and concerns to the attention of the County government and to inform them of County programs and resources; identify opportunities for increasing the cultural competence of the County government workforce to better serve African immigrants in the County; identify opportunities for increasing the capacity of nonprofit organizations and faith communities serving African immigrants in the County; and identify opportunities for collaboration of public, community, and private organizations to better serve the County's African immigrant community.

african affairs advisory group members

Advisory Group Members
Advisory Group Recommendations to the County Executive - Fiscal Year 2011 (DOC)
Staff Liaison

Advisory Group Members

Chair: Josephine Garnem
Vice Chair: Solomon Ayele

Committee Co-Chairs:
Economic Development Working Group: Guled Kasim & Elias Waldu
Health Working Group: Josephine Garnem & Ify Nwabukwu
Education Working Group: Solomon Teklai & Soffie Ceesay
Culture Working Group: Fatmata Barrie & Bonie Chungong

Reverend Kennedy Odzafi
Mumin Barre
Mamady Kamara
Eman Yarrow
Abdul Mohammed
Zainab Hassan
Fatou Sallah
Amde Meskel Amde
Sigismond Nicolls
Tamima Ali
Pepita C. Eleonu
RoseMarie Kaikai Broadbell
Michelle Ekanemesong
Peter Agbelie
Yasin Yimam
Enkutatash Alemayehu
Beani A. Fomengia
Abdul Kader
Laissa Overdraogo
Borah Kaabunga