Montgomery County
Alcohol Beverage Services

Division of Licensure, Education
and Regulation

ALERT

ALCOHOL LAW ENFORCEMENT AND
REGULATORY TRAINING

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES




Housekeeping :

v Meet your trainers

v Participate in polls

v Role Poll

Click if you want to switch to a
different microphone or speaker




Follow Us On Social Medio :

Facebook: & Instagram:

@MoCoRASP B @MoCo RASP ll @M oCoRASP




ALERT...

We're glad you're

Announcements 4

» From the LRE offices:

o> Update contact information (i.e.
phone numbers, emails, and mailing
addresses).

» Letter of altendance:

o> We will provide you the link at the end
of the class. You will need to fill out the
Information to get your letter of
affendance.






Part 1

Why Alcohol ALERT & Who We Are




» 86% of adults in the US drink alcohol at some point
in their lives.

» 95,000 alcohol-related deaths in the US every
year

» 30% of driving fatalities are due to drunk driving

» 4 out of 10 underage youth (12-20 year olds) say
they have had at least 1 drink in their lives

» FY22-23 Compliance Rate: 62.7%

» In FY 21-22, there were 1,713 alcohol-related
arrests in MoCo. Breaks down to:

o Over 4 people arrested every day of the year
for driving under the influence of alcohol

Sources: NIAAA, Washington Regional Alcohol Program (WRAP), 2020 How
Safe Are Our Roads Report, www.wrap.org, MD Department of Health



http://www.wrap.org/

Alcohol Beverage Services :

Manages alcohol licensing,
enforcement, & education for over
1000 MoCo businesses . 2

Serves as a wholesaler and retailer of
distilled spirts, and in most cases,

wine and beer at the wholesale level A BUSINESS OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY GOVERNMENT

for MoCo businesses AAW’A Kl

Revenue generated goes back into

the County General Fund - over $30 \ . =} . . . . . .
- ' N, pt 3 L

million annually L
g




ABS — Spotlights

MoCo Board of License Commissioners: Issues,
revokes, or suspends licenses for the sale of
alcoholic beverages & issues fines for violations

Community Outreach Programs: Trainings &
Safety Alliance/ Coalitions, business leagues, &
community meetings

DAMASCUS

Clarksburg
Village

®
Milestone

. . > e LAYTONSVILLE
Retail Stores: R o
; GERMANTOWN .CI'OSSII"IQ
L Kingsview
o

27 stores

Beer, wine, & spirits

.F'ika World
Montrose

ey . i A .Crossing%ealon
Citizen & business purchases ' S\ Gcersiaion
R T

Date night means focusing on time ampdong) 1 Sitver
f) ane! SpringTAKOMﬂ
together - not getting hammered... 00c.,

\\\ Chase



Part 2

Alcohol’s Effect on the Body




What is Alcohol¢

» Main ingredient in beer, wine & spirits
» Causes intoxication or drunkenness

» A depressant - slows down your
central nervous system






https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_OoW_w-uM8

Serving Sizes 6

207
=== PURE
o] [efe]go]
12 oz BEEH 50z wine 10z Liguor
5% ABV 12% ABV 50% ABV

ALL ARE STILL ETHYL ALCOHOL!



S 0 N

Body size (sex)
Mood/Anxiety
Strength & Type of Drink
Food Intake
Medication & Drugs
Rate of Drinking
Age

NG

e




Blood Alcohol Concentration e
(BAC)

» Blood Alcohol Concentration or
Content (BAC): Percentage of
alcohol in a person’s bloodstream

» Driving under the Influence in
Maryland: .08 BAC — a very serious
offense in Maryland, resulting in an
arrest and record.

\




Blood Alcohol Concentration Levels 7

.02%

» Relaxation, declined ability to do
two tasks

.05%

» Impaired judgment, reduced
coordination

.08% “

» Poor muscle coordination, impaired
perception

.10%

» Slurred speech, reduced ability to
break properly




Signs of Intoxication

1. Reddening of the face
Loss of coordination
Slurred speech
Sleepiness

Impaired vision

Mood changes

DR On s N B s

Vomiting




Rollercoaster of
INntoxic AllGE

1. Euphoria
Excitement
Confusion
Stupor
Coma
Death

o » A w N




Part 3

Responsible Alcohol Beverage
Service




Responsible
Beverage Service

» Ensures that those who sell & serve
alcohol have the knowledge &
skills to serve responsibly AND meet
the MD alcohol service legal
requirements

» Helps servers prevent excessive
alcohol consumption and minimize
harms from excessive drinking that
has already occurred




Promising Practices

[Your Establishment
[Menu




Your Establishment

» Adopt “Safe & Sociable” as part of your brand

» Avoid promotions that encourage over-
consumption

» Publicize alcohol policies in visible locations
» Arrange for alternate transportation

» Develop and consistently maintain ID checking
policies

» Observe laws regarding server age
» Ensure documentation policies & practice




Menu

Standardize drink recipes and use the
proper tools — not free pours

Show the ABV percentages on your
drinks

Monitor self serving kiosks

Make alcohol-free beverages available
whenever alcohol beverages are
served

Offer water and free food

26




Staff

» Train staff, making alcohol safety a priority:

o Teach them how to check IDs, cut someone
off, & refuse service

o Learn the signs of intoxication

o Know the ABVs of the drinks being served
o Know where drinks are going

o Track the number of drinks

» Give employees the opportunity to achieve their
Alcohol Awareness Certification

» Ensure that employees do not consume alcohol
beverages while working




ocumentation

Establishments greatly benefit from:

» Having an incident log (bound book),
keep records for 3 years

» |dentifying how it occurred

v

Notifying management

» Collecting withess information & asking
them to sign the document

Police non-emergency number 301-279-8000;
develop a relationship with local police

L —

INCIDENT REPORT FORM

[Date. Time of Day: =
_ Primary Staff Person: _

Dther Staff Involved:
Name/Description of Patron:

[ 10 confiscated [ Transportation Offered

D Non-Alcohol Beverage Served D Police Contacted

Intervention Strategies Used:

Vitnesses:
Comments:

Form Completed By:
[Signature:




Civil Liability
Reasonable Efforts

Steps the law requires:

» Taking steps to prevent
infoxication

» Preventing intoxicated people
from doing harm

It is against the law:

» The sale, possession, or
consumption of alcohol by
minors

» Selling fo or serving alcohol fo
someone who is infoxicated

As a bartender, server, or seller of
alcohol, you can be sued individually for
your decisions




Liguor Board
Violations

Steps the law requires:

» Despite how the courts resolve
cases, the BLC can take
administrative action:

o Participation in an Alcohol
Awareness training
requirement (ALERT) within 60
after Board resolution

o Administering fines

o License suspension &
revocation




Bo.  Serv

S il P

Tips

Be aware of your
surroundings and take
note of guests who are
heading towards
intoxication.

Use "I statements” &
do noftf be
accusatory.

DOCUMENT. Keep a
written record of
incidents.

0 Refuse
ce

Before approaching any
intoxicated patron, seek
approval and assistance
from your manager and

security staff.

Ask them if they
would like a non-
alcoholic drink
instead.

Offer to call a friend
or taxi to get them
home.

31

Confidently but politely
inform the patron that
you can no longer
serve them alcohol.

NEVER water down
drinks as a substitute
for a cut-off.

Don’'t hesitate to
call the police if the
person threatens to
do something
unsafe.



Question
Break




Part 4

Alcohol Rules & Regulations




Licenses, Permits, & Permissions

34

» 34 types of licenses including :
o Beer, wine, & liquor
o  On- & off-premises

o Special licenses for hotels, performing
arts/art galleries, corporate training,
culinary schools

o  Festivals and One-Day licenses
» Various permits and permissions including:
o Catering
o Beer and wine sampling tasting
o Wine corkage
o Refillable beer container
o Outdoor café
o Business and Temporary Modification
o Use of spirits in cooking

License Types



https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/resources/files/licensure/abs-license-descriptions.pdf

Scenario Discussion -

>

QR Ak
QR ¢

Scenario 1: A young woman comes in and orders
wine. When | ask for her ID, she provides me with
a vertical one. Should | serve here

Scenario 2: I'm having a beer while waiting for my
friend at the XYZ bar. My friend calls and says she
Is waiting for me at ABC Restaurant across the
street. | grab my beer and run across the street, to
join her at ABC and sit at the table. Problem?

Scenario 3: A young man sits down and orders a
beer. When | come back with the beer, | ask to
see his ID and upon checking it discover he is
under 21. The beer has never left my hand.
Violatione



Scenario Discussion -

>

R KR RK
KR g

Scenario 4: As you are taking drink orders from a
family, a young woman in the group orders a
pbeer. When you ask for her ID, you discover that
she is under 21. You refuse to serve her but an
older woman in the group says she's her daughter

and she will fake full responsibility. Do you serve
here

Scenario 5: I'm hiring a new server for my business.
The staff member will be serving both food and
alcoholic beverages. A young man who is 18
applies for the position. Can | hire hime



Unapproved Sources of
Alcohol

» Don't allow patrons to give you alcohol as a
gift at your establishment

» Against the law to store any alcoholic
beverages other than those permitted under
your license

!

» All alcohol must come from the MoCo ABS '* { 4N 3
warehouse, one of its 27 stores, or an |
authorized small winery, brewery, or distillery




Open Container Laws

» NO open containers in “the passenger areas” of
vehicles

» Patrons who order a bottle of wine with a meal but
don’t finish it may take the bofttle home with them

» Unfinished bottles must be re-corked or re-capped
before leaving the premises



Part 5

Inspections




i

Alcohol license framed & easily
readable to the public

Alcohol Awareness Certification/Person on
premises during hours on license

Records accessible & tidy — more
on this in a few minutes

Keg registration

Bar service & operation
regulations followed

Source/storage regulations
followed

Routine
INnspections




Alcohol License .

Good Example Bad Example » License in aframe and
e TR
ASTHOSE\AHJ Under glOSS
l AR E
IUINNESS

ek L eSO
3 O o £ 1l

» Posted in location where the
general public can easily
READ the complete
document



Alcohol Awareness Training p

L R » A person who is certified by an approved
2 Cortificate alcohol awareness program must be.
U@Awmﬂ@k present on the licensed premises during

N e known ot CerIGate s beco e the hours in which alcohol is sold
YDUR NAME_ Al

» Your business could incur fines and

possibly lose your license if you do nof
comply

The more Alcohol Awareness certified employees you
have on deck, hopefully the safer your establishment



Records

» Beer, Wine, and Liquor Invoices (from county
and private suppliers)

o Available on premises at all times and
maintained for at least 2 years

» Employee Records

o Available on premises at all times and

maintained for 1 year after an employee
leaves

o  Records must include: name, address, phone
or email, date of birth, and date of hire

—

S Bad Example
— e
—_—




Keg Registrations (Off-Sale Only) ¥

» Your Responsibility:

» Order registration book:
Comptroller’s office 410-260-6381

» Registration forms provided, keep
on premises for 30 days

» Stickers must be affixed

ALL KEG SALES MUST BE REGISTERED




Bar Operations i

Hours of Service

v
v
v

No after hours of alcohol sales/service allowed
Food must be available if you're serving alcohol
Adhere to closing times set by the County
v’ Beer & Wine Alcohol Cleared:
v 2 a.m. all week, off-sale ends at 1 a.m.
v' Beer, Wine & Liquor Alcohol Cleared:
v’ 2 a.m. Sunday through Thursday
v 3 a.m. Friday and Saturday

Prohibited from:

v' Reusing or refilling any bofttle or container

v' Adulterating, diluting, or fortifying contents of a bottle or container
Label premixes with ingredients & date made — discard after 5 days
Bottles must have original labels on them

Under age 21 employees can serve alcohol (18 years old — minimum)
Bottle service of distilled spirits is not allowed...with exception of a private
renfed room




Other Considerations

Drinking in Public

o = On public property unless authorized fo do so
i FEESL SRR In a parking lot open to the public in general
In a parked vehicle at the above locations

Lewdness or prostitution

Pictures, videos, or electronic reproductions of the sexual act
Nude dancing

The placement of $ on any performer

OO OO0

Pay to Play (includes purchase of food/beverage)

A Game of Chance

Eligible to win money or a prize (including chips for additional
playtime when others must pay- constitutes value)

OO0

O

Must include these 3 elements



Compliance Checks 5

Compl iance Check




Question
Break




Part 6

Under 21 Alcohol Use & IDs




Serving those UGS

» Strict penalties for establishments &
those who serve:

o Fines, jail time, & liquor license
revocation

o $1000 fine for first offense & up to
$20,000 for repeat offenses

o Person selling — possible 2 years in
lell







Acceptable Forms of ID .

Acceptable Unacceptable

v' Valid Driver’s License An expired ID

v MVA State ID College ID

v Military ID Foreign driver’s license
v Permanent resident card/green Credit card

card Library card
v Valid passport or passport card Birth certificate




1D
Requirements

Government-issued
Birthdate

Owner’s photo
Signature

Not expired

Intact

Must be taken out of
the wallet — picture
isn’t valid




»  -GetID into your
hands

» -Read the
information on ID

» -Examine the ID vs.
carrier

» -Employ tools to
validate ID

» -Testindividual




s an ID Fake, Borrowed, or Stolen?




550004DAE

Cugtomer identifier
T16700342
Name
BANISTER
GLENDA, REILLY

it

Address
4050 VALLEY PIKE
WINCHESTER, VA 22602

IO A QL2 2708

Sex Date of lmm

» F 02/22/1931
0 i Eyes Iss ORI
\U&f\db &’L‘Lﬁ <) BLU 05/14/2009
W Grgan Donor Height
DD ASD456789 S5FT 5IN

Exp
02/29/2016

 MARYLAND?

Dnver s License

ustomer identifier|

5-000- ooo-oomoom '

Family name

SAMPLE

(|3 iven-rza ames ||

| JANE DIAN“IE‘ ‘

i
dress— |
‘SANYS EET
G EN BURN MD 21062
Ane ﬁfbm.‘, 1‘#& Height Weight Date of exp
/07/19‘ m \‘ 5-8" 132 07/07/2023

et "1 SErT Classifications . Endorsements Date of issue

03/25/2016

2 M )
07/074985 .

NOTA LICENSE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE f

PASSPORT
PASSTRORT

000078004£3USASD01013M1517169100000000<381



http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permanent_residence_(United_States)&ei=_mpFVN-DOdHAggTi8YHQBw&bvm=bv.77880786,d.cWc&psig=AFQjCNETIY8uzf34KGF-Fd4KBoembo237w&ust=1413921881115770

W MARYLAND: ~ |
“ WD iver's License 0 : V' L e
L oTizdgs - ;

; A B Cantemer tdewerhior
$-000-000-000-000 ? T16700185 2368
A I Noms
Family name { i ; MAURY,
w SAMPLE L e JUSTIN WILLIAM 3
2 o i $
Vddeors ’
2 17 FIRST STREET >
0 ; ;Iaumon.vn
% | 1 ]
) i D 21062

ex - Height Weight
5-8" 132

ssifications. Endorsemfits

Identification Card

‘% VIARY W BE ID o

| sty

Tia700342 ;

e §

S ‘i :

'lln-i.— el ' o E
At ;ll.l-ll .”"'- =:'

“ e e b

. 8 b0 ¥

- l\\\
[ DISTRICT or COLUMBIA (jp)
IOENTFICATION CARD N

Al A

TTy!
DISTRICT or COLUMBIA
ORIVER LICENSE

[ 1)
tu:‘cmmmv DRrT . we
"

WARKNG TN DO 090 fan

- - . - mi. Limm

-
- M 2 &R0 - <
ey VITTRAN

\‘I!‘M"—'.'ﬂ" " )

e
o A

D Gallery

[ omas ooy lsa s S TIAE=——




STATES OF AMERIK

PAESP(‘JFIT CARD »

Nationality

: e + /C03005988
S | EXEMPLAR

TRAVELER

Given Names

' Extres On
29 NOV zﬁs
1821 -07

m\\_ UNITED BTATES DEPARTMENT OF Q%ﬁ?

- Passport Card'no: *f"

OF the Llnrted Siates =

-'.-.nn:..m--:r.'u'.-;i
i.lni‘tddﬂ-ﬂé"‘
D.Ez:t:ﬂsuﬁ" BT aalirgson T e ca it ﬁ. 'I m“

1S MOV 2015
Fratiriemesah  Mettedn Spesdet it

- il s ;-;g%

e

P<USAMOSS<<F EFI.HK*‘!*:"C{{{{{{{*:{{{{{{{{{{*: {*-‘,{{'-"i{

OD0O7EB0043USASDODI0T3NT 5’1_1 1&69100000000<381564



UScisH
000-000-000
Country of Birth.
" Republic of !
== Dateﬁ@‘_‘ th
14 OCT 1990
Card Expires:

DA A R APt N ALV Ry MM e o

™
I*V\

B R

D Gallery

Category

OCE Gad 2 P FOSE- SAET. RITE RO0S-4900

I




[ USA

NEW YORK STATE

LEARNER PERMIT

1 ki
445 161 175
Class DJ
poe01/26/2001
NONE. Expres 01/26/2026
Height strictions’, .
6FT OIN  TNONE ™ SexM Eyes BLU
T Height 5'-08"
08704/201
Exp Issued01/27/2017
= 03/21/2023 E NONE
L T Comom . e
,  MOOSE
\dd 700 {?' <&

JAMES, IAN

30 TIFFANY CIR

5 LE
RIA MANHASSET, NY 11030

" UNDER 18 UNTIL
 01/26/2019

"D G012 - - UNDER 21 UNTIL

UNDER 18§ UNTIL 21 UNTIL Date of birth 01/26/2022
0312172013 0302112016 03/31719 / RS

Vertical IDs

Issued to residents under age 21. No math required - expiration date on the ID



Tools for Checking IDs

» |D Checking Guide : Different states have
specific features — check the guide

» |ID Barcode Scanners
» Flashlights and/or black lights
» Magnifying glass



https://www.driverslicenseguide.com/

Part /

Evaluation & Contact Info




» w>

Call: 240.777.1900 — Monday-Friday,
3:00AM — 4:30PM

Email; ABS@montgomerycountymd.gov

Connect: With ABS experts, two-way
communication

Proactive outreach: on order status and
product availability

Measured responsiveness: To your
inquiries

iStore: Connect with ABS experts on any
inquiries regarding your iStore account

ABS Communication Center
We're Here for Youl!

63


https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/cc/
mailto:ABS@montgomerycountymd.gov
https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/cc/

NS

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES

Division of Licensure, Regulation & Education

Licensing Manager 240.777.1989
Compliance Manager 240.777.1999
Pre-Licensing 240.777.1936
Community Outreach 240.777.1999







Part 8

BLC Hearings Tutorial

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES




Who is the Board of
License Commissionerse

» ABS-LRE staff supports the County Executive appointed
Board of License Commissioners (Liquor Board)

» Approves new and transfers licenses and approves one
day licenses

» Any changes (including floor plans, seating capacity
and hours of operatfion) must be submitted to the
licensing office. Notify the licensing office in writing to let
them know of changes

» Annual renewals
» Show-cause hearings/violations
» Fine up to $20,000, may suspend or revoke licenses

IMPORTANT: If a license is revoked, the licensee may
never again hold an alcohol license in Maryland



Preparing for the
Hearing

PREPARE

All applicants & managers must attend the

hearing .

Hearings are held in our offices located at 201
Edison Park Dr. Gaithersburg, MD

Briefly describe the type of business, the business
concept, & the uniqueness of the business

Be prepared to talk about any alcohol:

o Experience you may have had in
Montgomery County (serving food and/or
alcohol, bartending, managing a facility,
owning a business, etc.)

o Violations during this time




Preparing for your
Hedring

You will be asked to:

» Scan & send a floor plan via email prior to the
hearing showing all areas of your facility,
including entrances, individual seats, storage
areas, bathroomes, kitchen, bar, outdoor cafes,
exits & walls

» Briefly explain the floor plan
Submit a copy of your menu if you serve food

» Take an ID test through Zoom prior to your
hearing date. You will analyze 10 ID's for
validity

v




Qualifying Questions

» How old does a person need to be to purchase alcohol?
Age 21

» How old does a person need to be to serve alcohol in MD?
Agel8

» What are the 5 acceptable forms of ID?

o State Issue Driver’s License

o State Issued (MVA) ID Card

o PasS@ei

o Military ID

o Immigration Card/Green Card



Qualifying Questions

/1

» Employee records & all alcohol receipts:
o Where will you keep your employee records & alcohol invoices/receipts?

On premise, unlocked, available at all times for the inspector or police

o

- How long will you keep employee records after they are no longer working for ¥
you?
One year after they leave, current employees will have records on premise at all
times ‘

- How long will you keep your alcohol invoices/receipis?
Two years or longer

» Purchasing alcohol:
o Where will you purchase your alcohol?

Montgomery County Alcohol Beverage Services, one of the Montgomery County
Liquor Stores, or authorized small wineries, breweries, or distilleries




Qualifying Questions

Only for Class B License (Beer, Wine & Liquor) What is the maximum legal

food to alcohol ratio requirement? What ratio do you expect to have?
60% alcohol /140% food, (60/40) the higher the food sales the better

Have you attended the ALERT Class? How many staff members will you
have attend the ALERT Class?

Best practice is to have all staff trained

How many employees will you have? How many will be Alcohol
Awareness Certified?

o Best practice is to have all or most staff trained
o Someone must be on premises at all times with this certification

Are you aware of the high schools in the area of your business?

What will the inspector look for during routine inspections?

/2




Qualifying Questions

» Be ready to answer the following questions:

©

@

List your regular hours of daily operation (these may be changed)

What policies & guidelines do you have for the sale of alcohol?

What written, alcohol-related policies do you have for your employees?

Will you be using promoter?

Will you be accepting vertical IDs?

¥ MARYLAND

Driver's License

Horizontal = Over 21
Vertical = Under 21

y

78



The Liguor Board
Hearing — Almost Done

» You will receive a cover letter & copy of the resolution
within 10 days via email

» Following the hearing, call the Licensing Office
240.777.1999 to schedule a final inspection so you may
then pick up your alcohol license

» For the final inspection, you will need:
o Cerfificate of Use and Occupancy
o Food Service Facility License
o Alcohol Certificate
o Maryland Sales and Use Tax License.
o Traders License
o Bulk Transfer Permit (for Transfer Applications)



Annual License Renewal

» Alllicenses to sell/serve alcohol in Montgomery
County expire at 12:00 a.m. on May 1 each
year

» Applications must be received or postmarked
by March 31. ABS suggests filing your
o]ppllco’rlon online by visiting: _
https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/li
censure/liceERnSEs

» Two fees are due annually:

o A $100 ($120 for paper renewals) processing
fee due at the fime of renewal application
submission.

o The license fee (varies by license) due when
the license is picked up



https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/licensure/license/
https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/licensure/license/

Before We Close.... e

» You have;

o 30 days upon receipt of the
Resolution to transfer your license
and 2 years to pick up a new
license

o 30 days to turn in a transfer
application from the purchase of a
business

» If you close for 10 consecutive days,
you must notify the Board in writing or
via email fo avoid a 10-day notice
leading to the expiration of the license

» Questionse



ASS

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES
Division of Licensure, Regulation & Education

Licensing Manager 240.777.1989
Compliance Manager 240.777.1999
Pre-Licensing 240.777.1936
Community Outreach 240.777.1999

Follow us on Facebook @MoCoRASP or X @MoCo RASP
Instagram @mocorasp
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