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REGULATORY TRAINING

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES




Housekeeping :

v Meet your frainers
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v Role Pall
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ALERT...

We're glad you're
here!

Announcements )

» From the LRE offices:

> Update contact information (i.e.
phone numbers, emails, and mailing
addresses).

» Leftter of atendance:

o> We will provide you the link at the end
of the class. You will need to fill out the
Information to get your letter of
attendance.
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Part 1

Why Alcohol ALERT & Who We Are




» 86% of adults in the US drink alcohol at some point
in their lives.

» 95,000 alcohol-related deaths in the US every
year

» 30% of driving fatalities are due to drunk driving

» 4 out of 10 underage youth (12-20 year olds) say
they have had at least 1 drink in their lives

» FY22-23 Compliance Rate: 62.7%

» In FY 21-22, there were 1,713 alcohol-related
arrests in MoCo. Breaks down 1o:

o Over 4 people arrested every day of the year
for driving under the influence of alcohol

Sources: NIAAA, Washington Regional Alcohol Program (WRAP), 2020 How
Safe Are Our Roads Report, www.wrap.org, MD Department of Health



http://www.wrap.org/

Alcohol Beverage Services ¢

Manages alcohol licensing,
enforcement, & education for over
1000 MoCo businesses ' 2 h H

Serves as a wholesaler and retailer of
distilled spirts, and in most cases,

wine and beer at the wholesale level A BUSINESS OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY GOVERNMENT

for MoCo businesses Y Y T T

Revenue generated goes back into

the County General Fund - over $30 \ . a8 . . . . . .
o | Hoataa T S

million annually




ABS - Spotlights
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MoCo Board of License Commissioners: Issues,
revokes, or suspends licenses for the sale of '”"_f::
alcoholic beverages & issues fines for violations

Community Outreach Programs: Trainings &
Safety Alliance/ Coadlitions, business leagues, &
community meetings

DAMASCUS

Clarksburg
Village

Milestone
LAYTONSVILLE

Retail Stores:

neca Meado Goshen
GERMANTOWN .Crossmg
Klngswew. Olney
27 stores o
Darnestown.
. M Q",‘;?,‘i‘,’, ! glove
Beer, wine, & spirits Falsgrove\( ety Wis®
Montrose
L. . Cabin Johi\ .Cross'"QWheaton. ‘gahl
Citizen & business purchases , S Oconsnge
Potomac. SILVER SPRINC

Date night means focusing on time 2@ DO
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together - not getting hammered... %\ﬂ%\\o..cif;'"g AR
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Part 2

Alcohol’s Effect on the Body




What is Alcohol¢

» Main ingredient in beer, wine & spirits
» Causes intoxication or drunkenness

» A depressant - slows down your
central nervous system




https://www.youtube.com/watchev=l OoW w-uM8



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_OoW_w-uM8

Serving Sizes s

207
=== PURE
o] [efe]go]
12 oz Beer 50z wine 1oz Liguor
5% ABV 12% ABV 50% ABV

ALL ARE STILL ETHYL ALCOHOL!



N o o x W N

Body size (sex)
Mood/Anxiety
Strength & Type of Drink
Food Intake
Medication & Drugs
Rate of Drinking
Age




Blood Alcohol Concentration 2
(BAC)

» Blood Alcohol Concentration or
Content (BAC): Percentage of
alcohol in a person’s bloodstiream

» Driving under the Influence in
Maryland: .08 BAC - a very serious
offense in Maryland, resulting in an
arrest and record.

\




e
©
R
O
O
O
O
[e
0

lon

.|.

ICO

INTOX

Euphoria

Excitement

C

onfusion




Part 3

Responsible Alcohol Beverage
Service




Responsible
Beverage Service

!
-
&
» Ensures that those who sell & serve
alcohol have the knowledge & ¥V
skills fo serve responsibly AND meet
the MD alcohol service legal -
requirements d

» Helps servers prevent excessive £
alcohol consumpftfion and minimize |
harms from excessive drinking that ‘\
has already occurred




Promising Practices

Your Establishment

Menu

/—\/;




Your Establishment

» Adopt “Safe & Sociable” as part of your brand

» Avoid promotions that encourage over-
consumption

» Publicize alcohol policies in visible locations
» Arrange for alternate transportation

» Develop and consistently maintain ID checking
policies

» Observe laws regarding server age

» Ensure documentation policies & practice




Menu

Standardize drink recipes and use the
proper tools — not free pours

Show the ABV percentages on your
drinks

Monitor self serving kiosks

Make alcohol-free beverages available
whenever alcohol beverages are
served

Offer water and free food

27
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Staff

» Train staff, making alcohol safety a priority:

o Teach them how to check IDs, cut someone
off, & refuse service

o Learn the signs of intoxication

o> Know the ABVs of the drinks being served
o Know where drinks are going

o Track the number of drinks

» Give employees the opportunity to achieve their
Alcohol Awareness Certification

» Ensure that employees do not consume alcohol
beverages while working




Civil Liability
Reasonable Efforts

Steps the law requires:

» Taking steps to prevent
infoxication

» Preventing intfoxicated people
from doing harm

It is against the law:

» The sale, possession, or
consumption of alcohol by
minors

» Selling to or serving alcohol fo
someone who is infoxicated

As a bartender, server, or seller of
alcohol, you can be sued individually for
your decisions




Liquor Board
Violations

Steps the law requires:

» Despite how the courts resolve
cases, the BLC can take
administrative action:

o Participation in an Alcohol
Awareness training
requirement (ALERT) within 60
after Board resolution

o Administering fines

o License suspension &
revocation




R N YIS D=

Tips

Servi

Be aware of your
surroundings and take
note of guests who are
heading towards
intoxication.

Use “l statements” &
do not be
accusatory.

DOCUMENT. Keep a
written record of
incidents.

‘0 Refuse
ce

Before approaching any
intoxicated patron, seek
approval and assistance
from your manager and

security staff.

Ask them if they
would like a non-
alcoholic drink
instead.

Offer to call a friend
or faxi to get them
home.

31

Confidently but politely
inform the patron that
you can no longer
serve them alcohol.

NEVER water down
drinks as a sulbstitute
for a cut-off.

Don't hesitate to
call the police if the
person threatens to
do something
unsafe.



Question
Break







Licenses, Permits, & Permissions

34

» 34 types of licenses including :
o Beer, wine, & liquor
o  On- & off-premises

o Special licenses for hotels, performing
arts/art galleries, corporate fraining,
culinary schools

o  Festivals and One-Day licenses
» Various permits and permissions including:
o Catering
o Beer and wine sampling tasting
o Wine corkage
o Refillable beer container
o QOutdoor café
o Business and Temporary Modification
o Use of spirits in cooking

License Types



https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/resources/files/licensure/abs-license-descriptions.pdf

Scenario Discussion -

>

QR Ak
QK .

Scenario 1: A young woman comes in and orders
wine. When | ask for her ID, she provides me with
a vertical one. Should | serve her?

Scenario 2: I'm having a beer while waiting for my
friend at the XYZ bar. My friend calls and says she
Is waiting for me at ABC Restaurant across the
street. | grab my beer and run across the street, to
join her at ABC and sit at the table. Problem?

Scenario 3: A young man sits down and orders a
beer. When | come back with the beer, | ask to
see his ID and upon checking it discover he is
under 21. The beer has never left my hand.
Violation?



Scenario Discussion 4

» Scenario 4: As you are taking drink orders from a

KRR K
KRR &

family, a young woman in the group orders a
pbeer. When you ask for her ID, you discover that
she Is under 21. You refuse 1o serve her but an
older woman in the group says she's her daughter
and she will fake full responsibility. Do you serve
here

Scenario 5: I'm hiring a new server for my business.
The staff member will be serving both food and
alcoholic beverages. A young man whois 18
applies for the position. Can | hire hime



Unapproved Sources of
Alcohol

» Don't allow patrons to give you alcohol as a
gift at your establishment

» Against the law to store any alcoholic
beverages other than those permitted under

your license

» All alcohol must come from the MoCo ABS
warehouse, one of its 27 stores, or an
authorized small winery, brewery, or distillery




Open Container Laws

» NO open containers in “the passenger areas” of
vehicles

» Patrons who order a bofttle of wine with a meal but
don't finish it may take the bottle home with them

» Unfinished bottles must be re-corked or re-capped
before leaving the premises




hocumentation

Establishments greatly benefit from:

» Having an incident log (bound book),
keep records for 3 years

» |dentifying how it occurred

v

Notifying management

» Collecting withess information & asking
them to sign the document

Police non-emergency number 301-279-8000;
develop a relationship with local police

_[Manager:

INCIDENT REPORT FORM

Date: Time of Day:
—— _ Primary Staff Person:

Other Staff Involved:
IName/Description of Patron:

D 1D Confiscated D Transportation Offered

D Non-Alcohol Beverage Served D Police Contacted

ntervention Strategies Used:

itnesses:
omments:

orm Completed By:
ISignature:

Information




Part 5

Inspections




i

Alcohol license framed & easily
readable to the public

Alcohol Awareness Certification/Person on
premises during hours on license

Records accessible & tidy — more
on this in a few minutes

Keg registration

Bar service & operation
regulations followed

Source/storage regulations
followed

Routine
INnspections




Alcohol License 43

Good Example Bad Example » License in a frame and
s — N s ‘ under glass

UINNESS

Mokl XS ‘

| » Posted in location where the
general public can easily

READ the complete
document



Alcohol Awareness Training z

» A person who is certified by an approved
alcohol awareness program must be
present on the licensed premises during

May it be knownthattis Certificate. fas becn presc the hours in which alcohol is sold
"YOUR NAME"

for Outs! cl evement in

% Successfully Complet leohol Awarcness Cc
> AS 1) il 505

SAULUL

» Your business could incur fines and

possibly lose your license if you do not
comply

The more Alcohol Awareness certified employees you
have on deck, hopefully the safer your establishment



Records

» Beer, Wine, and Liquor Invoices (from county
and private suppliers)

o Available on premises at all times and
maintained for at least 2 years

» Employee Records

o Available on premises at all fimes and

maintained for 1 year after an employee
leaves

o  Records must include: name, address, phone
or email, date of birth, and date of hire

- Bad Example



Keg Registrations x

» Your Responsibility:

» Order registration book:
Comptroller’s office 410-260-6381

» Registration forms provided, keep
on premises for 30 days

» Stickers must be affixed

ALL KEG SALES MUST BE REGISTERED




Bar Operations .

Hours of Service

v
v
v

No after hours of alcohol sales/service allowed
Food must be available if you're serving alcohol
Adhere to closing times set by the County
v’ Beer & Wine Alcohol Cleared:
v 2 a.m. all week, off-sale ends at 1 a.m.
v' Beer, Wine & Liquor Alcohol Cleared:
v’ 2 a.m. Sunday through Thursday
v 3 a.m. Friday and Saturday

Prohibited from:

v' Reusing or refilling any bottle or container

v' Adulterating, diluting, or fortifying contents of a bottle or container
Label premixes with a date — can’t be used after 5 days

Bottles must have original labels on them

Under age 21 employees can serve alcohol (18 years old — minimum)
Bofttle service of distilled spirits is not allowed...with exception of a private
renfed room




Other Considerations

Drinking in Public

S On public property unless authorized to do so
' = In a parking lot open to the public in general
In a parked vehicle at the above locations

Lewdness or prostitution

Pictures, videos, or electronic reproductions of the sexual act
Nude dancing

The placement of $ on any performer

SENEVEN

Pay to Play (includes purchase of food/beverage)

A Game of Chance

Eligible to win money or a prize (including chips for additional
playtime when others must pay- constitutes value)

VAN

O

Must include these 3 elements



Compliance Checks .

Complianc-e Check




Question
Break




Part 6

Under 21 Alcohol Use & IDs




Serving those Under Age 21

» Strict penalties for establishments &
those who serve:

o Fines, jail fime, & liquor license
revocation

o $1000 fine for first offense & up to
$20,000 for repeat offenses

o Person selling — possible 2 years in
lell




https://www.youtube.com/waich2v=re5STaWQaWd4

54


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=re5TqWQgWd4

Acceptable Forms of ID .

Acceptable Unacceptable

v' Valid Driver’s License An expired ID

v' MVA State ID College ID

v Military ID Foreign driver’s license
v’ Permanent resident card/green Credit card

card Library card
v Valid passport or passport card Birth certificate




1D
Requirements

Government-issued
Birthdate

Owner’s photo
Signature

Not expired

Intact

Must be taken out of
the wallet - picture
isn’'t valid




» -GetID into your
hands

» -Readthe
information on ID

» -Examine the ID vs.
carrier

» -Employ tools to
validate ID

» -Testindividual




Name that |

}
3

Customer identifier
T16700342
Name
BANISTER
GLENDA, REILLY

Address
4050 VALLEY PIKE
WINCHESTER, VA 22602

Date of birth
02/22/1931
Iss ORI
05/14/2009

ThBroosas 02 221881

W Organ Donor Height

DD ASD456789 SFT SIN 3‘5129/201 6

NOT A LICENSE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE

Dnver s License

Customer identifier 07/0—7/1‘ 5
$-000-000-000-000 ;

Family name

SAMPLE

(uiven names

JANE DIANE

Address

123 ANY STREET

GLEN BURNIE MD 21062

i).m of birth Sex Height Weight Date of exp
5-8" 132 07/07/2023

Classifications . Endorsements - Date of issue

03/25/2016

550004DAE

VETERAN

T PCUSAMOSS<<F RANK<<<<<<<<<<<L<<<L<<<<<L<<<<<<
0000780043USA5001013M1511169100000000<381564


http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permanent_residence_(United_States)&ei=_mpFVN-DOdHAggTi8YHQBw&bvm=bv.77880786,d.cWc&psig=AFQjCNETIY8uzf34KGF-Fd4KBoembo237w&ust=1413921881115770

et MARYLAND?
i Driver's License

Customer identifier |

$-000-000-000-000

Family name

SAMPLE

Given-names

JANE DIANE
A‘LM ress

123 ANY STREET
GLEN BURNIE MD 21062

550004DAE

0

-
07/07/4985

5 Skx Height Weight
ez -8 132
\ ow/ ‘ | Clashcations . Endorserifhit Date 8 &
= Z 03/2° «
METERAN 2
If Il : = ‘ &
. v 1
» R >
‘ Identification Card ©
$-000-000-000-000
v
SAMPLE
JASON THOMAS
123 ANY STREET
GLEN BURNIE MO 21062
3 pe - g
145
WORGAN DONOR

A

[ DISTRICT o¢s COLUMBIA (.0‘\
IOENTIFICATION CARD a7
e Ty tan)

(
DISTRICT or COLUMBIA
ORIVER LICENSE

R )
1234 COMMODORE JOSMUA BARMEY DRNVE Ne
"ine

WASHING TON DC 09900 000

- - - el L=
~ s I =0 -
e ry >
domer Saalovesd ;';‘—'"

=
e VETTRAN

e
Mnu“u'n'l hl

e

-

Nome
MAURY,

Ndderss

14401

Sor
M

vl

BRN

Hrigh
un IS IN

Convemer vbenesfier

T16700185
JUSTIN WILLIAM

{7 FIRST STREEY
STAUNTON.VA

(ome o+~

TR

.-

BANISTIR
CLENDA REMLY

b

SO WALLEY Pk -
WML TEA WA 3

et

L
W remacs
by
ol L
L
« 0N

Miaowm
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ID Gallery



B atenaiity. ¥ ** Passport Card'no. %
= uea /003005988
U Surname _
2 soe o« EXEMPLAR
o Given Names Al
3 i HAPPY A,
0 9. Sex ( Date of Birth +
o £l M \LLJAN 1981
W. "1;'.:1{ ) ~ Place of B
7 sy NEW.YORK. —
S }§ - Jssued On Expures On| X
+% 36 NOV 20 29 NOV 20

D STATES OF AMIET )
* PASSPORT CARD * ¢

P - ——— e — -

PASS
PASSEPORT
it

MOSS & .*:.3 A
\mMr'(JFW‘!"m

.-Mr.u:r"‘:axvru”ch)' Eedadn  Adberlys Aot ) 4

. - United States -
T DR ey P airaion | 3

16 NOV 2013

P(USAHOSS((F RANK<<<<<<<<(<<<<<<;<2<<<£<<£<-<< '
0000780043USA5001013M1511169100000000<381564



ey 1S# Category
©000-000-000 IR1 =
Country of Birth
Republic
Date :‘
14 OCT 1990
Card Expires:

OCS Gal 21 10505052 NN3-0000-49W

ID Gallery '
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HAZ NONE
Height Lestrictions”,
6FT OIN  "NONE

3ﬁﬁﬁn1s e

Exp
03/21/2023

« 'O Organ Donor 9
=

" /w.,j T %
5 LONE S| : L e ahl
of / g HERNDON, VA 20170-2608
B ey

DD 074303812

UNDER 18 UNTI 21 UNTIL Date of birth
\03/21/2013 M 03/21/1995/

Vertical IDs

Issued to residents under age 21. No math required - expiration date on the ID

DISTRICT o« COLUMBIA

DRIVER LICENSE

o Do n
1231231

-
2212021
ot ot

10 170
5 30 nos

ALY n.

SAMPLECARD

T s 3

MICHAEL

ALAN

PP

QQ;C”COﬂMOOOﬁf JOSHUA BARNEY DRIVE NE
"

WASHINGTON, DC 00000-5000
*SLASE

(o]

e DNOOR PN Ty

NONE

3 B S et TN

1




s an ID Fake, Borrowed, or Stolen?




Par’r /

e Eval & Goodbye for Some




Before you
Leave

» Fill out the form to receive credit
for attending this training

» 3 Ways To Do If:
o Click on the link in the chatlbox

o Type link below on your
browser (Case Sensitive)
https://bit.ly/3bFZ0wJ

o OR Scan this QR code

5

it
L

Thanks for participating today

[m] =]



https://bit.ly/3bFZ0wJ

n o >

Call: 240.777.1900 — Monday-Friday,
8:00AM — 4:30PM

Email; ABS@montgomerycountymd.gov

Connect: With ABS experts, two-way
communication

Proactive outreach: on order status and
product availability

Measured responsiveness: To your
Inquiries

iStore: Connect with ABS experts on any
Inquiries regarding your iStore account

ABS Communication Center
We're Here for You!

67


https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/cc/
mailto:ABS@montgomerycountymd.gov
https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/cc/

ALS

-
ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES

Division of Licensure, Regulation & Education

Licensing Manager 240.777.1989
Compliance Manager 240.777.1999
Pre-Licensing 240.777.1936
Community Ovutreach 240.777.1999




Follow Us On Social Medio ¢

Instagram:
@MOCORAS
P




Part 8

BLC Hearings Tutorial

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES




Who iIs the Board of
License Commissionerse

/1

» ABS-LRE staff supports the County Executive appointed
Board of License Commissioners (Liquor Board)

» Approves new and transfers licenses and approves one
day licenses

» Any changes (including floor plans, seating capacity
and hours of operation) must be submitted to the
licensing office. Nofify the licensing office in writing to let
them know of changes

» Annual renewals
» Show-cause hearings/violations
» Fine up to $20,000, may suspend or revoke licenses

IMPORTANT: If a license is revoked, the licensee may
never again hold an alcohol license in Maryland

Photo credit: Bethesda Magazine



Preparing for the
Hearing PREPARE

All applicants & managers must attend the

hearing ‘

Hearings are held in our offices located at 201
Edison Park Dr. Gaithersburg, MD

Briefly describe the type of business, the business
concept, & the unigueness of the business

Be prepared to talk about any alcohol:

o Experience you may have had in
Montgomery County (serving food and/or
alcohol, bartending, managing a facility,
owning a business, etc.)

o Violations during this time




Preparing for your
Hearing

You will be asked to:

» Scan & send a floor plan via email prior o the
hearing showing all areas of your facility,
including entrances, individual seats, storage
areas, bathroomes, kitchen, bar, outdoor cafes,
exits & walls

» Briefly explain the floor plan
Submit a copy of your menu if you serve food

» Take an ID test through Zoom prior to your
hearing date. You will analyze 10 ID's for
validity

v




Qualifying Questions

74

» How old does a person need to be to purchase alcohol?¢

Age 21
p

» How old does a person need to be to serve alcohol in MD? y

Agel8 J
» What are the 5 acceptable forms of ID? ‘

o State Issue Driver's License

o State Issued (MVA) ID Card >

o Passport -

o Military ID

o Immigration Card/Green Card



Qualifying Questions

» Employee records & all alcohol receipts:

@)

O

Where will you keep your employee records & alcohol invoices/receipis?
On premise, unlocked, available at all times for the inspector or police

d
How long will you keep employee records after they are no longer working for
you?e

?ne year after they leave, current employees will have records on premise at all
imes

How long will you keep your alcohol invoices/receiptse
Two years or longer

» Purchasing alcohol:

O

Where will you purchase your alcohol?

Montgomery County Alcohol Beverage Services, one of the Montgomery County
Liquor Stores, or authorized small wineries, breweries, or distilleries

75



Qualifying Questions

Only for Class B License (Beer, Wine & Liquor] What is the maximum legal

food to alcohol ratio requiremente What ratio do you expect to have?
60% alcohol /40% food, (60/40) the higher the food sales the better

Have you attended the ALERT Classe How many staff members will you
have attend the ALERT Classe

Best practice is to have all staff trained

How many employees will you have2 How many will be Alcohol
Awareness Certified?

o Best practice is to have all or most staff trained
o Someone must be on premises at all times with this certification

Are you aware of the high schools in the area of your business?

/76



Qualifying Questions

» Be ready to answer the following questions:

@

O

List your reqular hours of daily operation (these may be changed)

What policies & guidelines do you have for the sale of alcohol?

What written, alcohol-related policies do you have for your

employeese

Will vou be using promotere

Will you be accepting vertical IDs¢e

Vertical = Under 21

Y& MARYLAND

Driver's License

Horizontal = Over 21

Ny ~

-

77



The Liguor Board
Hearing — Almost Done

» You will receive a cover letter & copy of the resolution
within 10 days via email

» Following the hearing, call the Licensing Office
240.777.1999 to schedule a final inspection so you may
then pick up your alcohol license

» For the final inspection, you will need:
o Certificate of Use and Occupancy
o Food Service Facillity License
o Alcohol Cerfificate
o Maryland Sales and Use Tax License.
o Traders License
o Bulk Transfer Permit (for Transfer Applications)



Annual License Renewal

» Alllicenses to sell/serve alcohol in Montgomery
County expire at 12:00 a.m. on May 1 each
year

» Applications must be received or postmarked
by March 31. ABS suggests filing your
o}pphco’non online by visiting: .
hitps://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/li
censure/license/

» Two fees are due annually:

o A $100 processing fee due at the time of
renewal application submission

o The license fee (varies by license) due when
the license is picked up



https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/licensure/license/
https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/ABS/licensure/license/

Before We Close.... -

» You have:

o 30 days upon receipt of the
Resolution to transfer your license
and 2 years to pick up a new
license

o 30 days to turn in a transfer
application from the purchase of @
business

» If you close for 10 consecutive days,
you must notify the Board in writing or
via email fo avoid a 10-day notice

leading to the expiration of the license e

» Questionse



ASS

ALCOHOL BEVERAGE SERVICES
Division of Licensure, Regulation & Education

Licensing Manager 240.777.1989
Compliance Manager 240.777.1999
Pre-Licensing 240.777.1936
Community Ovutreach 240.777.1999

Follow us on Facebook @MoCoRASP or
Twitter @MoCo RASP
Instagram @mocorasp
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