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Texting

A law took effect in Maryland in 2009 that banned
texting while driving. The primary texting law
prohibits a driver from writing or sending text
messages while operating a motor vehicle that is in
motion or in the travel portion of the roadway. This
law does not apply to texting 9-1-1 or using a global

position system. Only a few 911 centers in Maryland
can receive text messages.



Things to remember

* A driver of a motor vehicle that is in motion may not use the driver’s
hands to use a handheld telephone (cell phone) other than to initiate
or terminate a wireless telephone call or to turn on or turn off the
handheld telephone

* It does not apply to law enforcement and emergency personnel when
those individuals are acting within the scope of their safety and
emergency duties

 Calls to 9-1-1, a hospital, ambulance provider, fire department, law
enforcement agency and first aid squad are all exempt for emergency
situations only




What am I?

* | am more powerful than the combined armies of the world. | have
destroyed more men than all wars of all nations. | massacre thousands of
people every year. | am more deadly than bullets and bombs. | have
wrecked more homes than any natural disaster.

* | find my victims among the rich, the poor, the young, the old, the weak
and the strong. You are warned against me, yet, you heed me not.

* | lurk in unseen places and do most of my work silently. | am everywhere:
in the home, on the streets, in the factory, in the air and on the sea.

* | am relentless, merciless and cruel. | bring sickness, degradation and
death, yet few seek me out to destroy me. | crush, | maim, | will give you
nothing and rob you of all you have.

* | know you will not see me coming even though | am your worst enemy! |
am undefeated.



Carelessness







Driver onFacebook




Pre-Trip and Post Trip Inspections

15 minutes
can save you
hundreds of
dollars...
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Response begins with identification!




State Law Violations

e Covered Loads/Loose Materials
* Projected Loads

* Extended Loads

* Bed Enclosures

 Removal of Spillage

* Load Securement

* Gross Weight



Commercial Vehicle Alcohol and Drug
violations

Commercial vehicle Regulations
Transportation Article
Civil Violations
FMSCA Penalties



Maryland Transportation Article DUI Laws

* 21-902 Al

* A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol

* 21-902 A2

* A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while under the influence per se

* Penalties for A charge
. $1000 and/or 1 year in jail 15t offense
. $1000 and or 2 years in jail 2" or subsequent



Maryland Transportation article continued

 21-902 B
* Driving while impaired by alcohol

* A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while impaired by
alcohol

* Penalty S$500 and or 60 days in jail

e 21-903
- consumption of Alcoholic beverages while driving on highway

e A driver of a motor vehicle may not consume an alcoholic
beverage in the passenger area of a motor vehicle on a highway

* Penalty - S530 and 1 point



Maryland Civil Violations

. CR 10-125 (b)(2)- It is illegal for passenger to consume alcohol
In a motor vehicle.

* Penalty $25.00

. CR 10-125(a) - An occupant of a motor vehicle may not
POsSsess an open container that contains any amount of alcoholic
beverage in a passenger area of a motor vehicle on a highway
(driven, stopped or standing)

* Penalty $25.00



CDL Suspension Lengths

Violation In CMV HazMat Non CMV

1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd
D.U.l./Refusal 1Year LIFE 3 Years LIFE 1Year LIFE
.04 or Greater 1Year LIFE 3 Years LIFE N/A LIFE
C.D.S 1Year LIFE 3 Years LIFE 1Year LIFE
Leaving the scene 1lYear LIFE 3 Years LIFE 1Year LIFE
Using vehicle in felony 1 VYear LIFE 3 Years LIFE 1 Year LIFE
Suspended/Revoked* 1Year LIFE 3 YEARS LIFE N/A N/A
Fatality(Negligent Op) 1Year LIFE 3 Years LIFE N/A N/A
Felony CDS** LIFE LIFE LIFE
Violation In CMV Within 3 Years Non CMV ***

2nd 3rd 2nd 3rd

Speeding (+15) 60 Days @120 Days 60 Days 120 Days
Reckless 60 Days @120 Days 60 Days 120 Days
Improper Lane Change 60 Days 120 Days 60 Days 120 Days
Follow Too Closely 60 Days @120 Days 60 Days 120 Days
Drive CMV w/o CDL 60 Days 120 Days N/A N/A
Drive CMV w/o CDL in Posession 60 Days 120 Days N/A N/A
Drive CMV w/o Endorsements 60 Days 120 Days N/A N/A
Texting 60 Days 120 Days N/A N/A
Cell Phone 60 Days 120 Days N/A N/A

Violate OOS Order

In CMV
1st

(Within 10 Years) HazMat & Buses

2nd

3rd

1st

2nd

3rd

180-365 D 2-5Years 3-5Years 180D-2Y 3-5Years 3-5Years

*As a result of prior violations committed operating a CMV, the CDL is revoked, suspended or canceled. Driver DQ
**Using vehicle in comission of a felony involving manufacturing, distributing or dispensing CDS
***if the conviction results in revocation, cancellation or suspension of CDL or non-CDL
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						CDL Suspension Lengths

		Violation				In CMV						HazMat						Non CMV

						1st		2nd		3rd		1st		2nd		3rd		1st		2nd		3rd

		D.U.I./Refusal				1 Year		LIFE				3 Years		LIFE				1 Year		LIFE

		.04 or Greater				1 Year		LIFE				3 Years		LIFE				N/A		LIFE

		C.D.S				1 Year		LIFE				3 Years		LIFE				1 Year		LIFE

		Leaving the scene				1 Year		LIFE				3 Years		LIFE				1 Year		LIFE

		Using vehicle in felony				1 Year		LIFE				3 Years		LIFE				1 Year		LIFE

		Suspended/Revoked*				1 Year		LIFE				3 YEARS		LIFE				N/A		N/A

		Fatality(Negligent Op)				1 Year		LIFE				3 Years		LIFE				N/A		N/A

		Felony CDS**				LIFE						LIFE						LIFE



		Violation				In CMV						Within 3 Years						Non CMV ***

								2nd		3rd										2nd		3rd

		Speeding (+15)						60 Days		120 Days										60 Days		120 Days

		Reckless						60 Days		120 Days										60 Days		120 Days

		Improper Lane Change						60 Days		120 Days										60 Days		120 Days

		Follow Too Closely						60 Days		120 Days										60 Days		120 Days

		Drive CMV w/o CDL						60 Days		120 Days										N/A		N/A

		Drive CMV w/o CDL in Posession						60 Days		120 Days										N/A		N/A

		Drive CMV w/o Endorsements						60 Days		120 Days										N/A		N/A

		Texting						60 Days		120 Days										N/A		N/A

		Cell Phone						60 Days		120 Days										N/A		N/A



						In CMV		(Within 10 Years)				HazMat & Buses

						1st		2nd 		3rd 		1st		2nd		3rd

		Violate OOS Order  				180-365 D		2-5 Years		3-5 Years		180 D-2 Y		3-5 Years		3-5 Years

		*As a result of prior violations committed operating a CMV, the CDL is revoked, suspended or canceled. Driver DQ

		**Using vehicle in comission of a felony involving manufacturing, distributing or dispensing CDS

		***if the conviction results in revocation, cancellation or suspension of CDL or non-CDL






Disruptive Behavior Orders
Trespass orders



QUESTIONS?

Phil Butler

Montgomery County Police Department
240-773-6618
mcp.cvu@montgomerycountymd.gov
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