
 
 
 

 

Accessible Disability Parking:  What Every Montgomery County Property Manager, 
Condominium, and Homeowner's Association Needs to Know – FAQ’s 

 
This document contains information to Montgomery County property managers, condominium and 
homeowner associations and their residents about their responsibilities under the Fair Housing Act, the 
American with Disabilities Act and the Maryland Accessibility Code as they relate to the provision of 
accessible disability parking spaces. We will address the most frequently asked questions related to 
buildings and accessibility. Information in this article is being provided to you by the Montgomery County 
Department of Permitting Services, Office of Human Rights, Department of Health and Human Services, 
Commission on People with Disabilities, Maryland Codes Administration, and the County's Interagency 
Fair Housing Coordinating Group. 
 

What can I do if I suspect that the person issued a disability parking plate or placard does not 
need it?  
For persons who use mobility assistive devices such as wheelchairs or scooters, the property manager 
can readily appreciate the need for designated disability parking.  The needs of persons with hidden 
disabilities (such as a serious heart condition) for reserved parking are not readily apparent but must be 
accommodated when they have the requisite Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) permit.  Drivers who 
regularly transport persons with disabilities are issued MVA permits or stickers that entitle them to 
reserved parking only when they are transporting a person with a disability that has been certified as 
needed a plate/placard.  If property managers suspect a permit is not justified, they may report it to the 
MVA which issued the plate/placard as that office will follow up.  A property manager may not ask for 
proof of disability.  Only a police officer or an official designee in some jurisdictions is authorized to 
request to see the medical certification of having been issued a plate/placard. An individual must always 
have the copy of the medical certification in his/her possession whenever using the placard or plates. 
This certification must be presented to law enforcement upon request. Anyone committing fraud or 
misrepresenting themselves when applying for or using a parking placard for people with disabilities is 
subject to a fine of up to $500. If disability conditions are not met, the plate/placards may be revoked. 
 
What is proper signage and who tickets cars that are illegally parked in designated accessible 
parking spaces? 
The police will only enforce the accessible parking restrictions by issuing citations if the sign reserving 
the space complies with the requirement of the Maryland Accessibility Code.. Wheelchair symbols 
painted on the space are not official.  Multi-family residential parking lots and commercial parking lots 
must conform to specific legal standards for providing and erecting signs for disability parking spaces. 
 

 There must be a visible sign to identify each accessible space  

 Free-standing signs must be mounted at least seven feet above the ground with the wheelchair 
symbol of accessibility, and include the supplemental signs indicating, “Maximum Fine $250” and 
“Reserved parking” 

 A sign mounted flush to a building or wall must be at least six feet but no more than ten feet 
above the ground 

 Van accessible spaces at least 96” wide are to be identified with a supplemental “Van Accessible” 
sign and are accompanied with a supplemental 8 feet access aisle that has a “No parking in 
Access Aisle” sign 
 

Anyone can call the Montgomery County Police Department non-emergency line at 301-279-8000 to 
come and ticket an illegally parked vehicle where the official sign is displayed.  On private property the 
owner may also contract with a towing company to patrol and tow on its own motion. From a police 
perspective that enforcement for parking violations on private property is restricted to properly erected 
signage only for disabled parking and fire lanes. Please keep in mind that if a vehicle is left in a disabled 
parking space for an extended period, over 48hrs, then the Montgomery County Police Impound Lot 
Manager Vehicle Recovery Section can be contacted by a property representative to have the vehicle 
towed. Police would have the property representative fill out a consent form for removal of the vehicle. 



Usually, the property owner incurs the cost of the tow, normally $75-100. However, if the vehicle is in a 
properly marked parking space designated for a disabled person, then that fee can be waived. For more 
information about the removal of abandoned vehicles please call 240-773-6411 Office.  
 
 
What is the responsibility of property managers and owners to provide reserved accessible 
parking spaces? 
It is the responsibility of the property owner or association, when requested to do so, to provide a 
reserved parking space for a person who possesses a disabled person's registration plate or placard 
issued by the MVA.  The only reason this could be exempted if there is undue hardship or expense or it 
is architecturally infeasible to do so.  Property owners and associations must provide reasonable 
accommodation and could be challenged in court on this issue.  If there are assigned or deeded parking 
spaces, a visitor space or other owner space may have to be converted to a reserved accessible parking 
space. 
 

What does a person do to request a reasonable accommodation for a designated disability 
parking space in a Condominium Association? 
The first step is for the resident to put a request in writing to the Condominium Association or property 
manager for a reasonable accommodation for a designated disability parking space, and they should 
explain where they think that space should be located so that they can effectively and safely utilize their 
unit.  The resident should also explain that they have been certified by MVA that they need a disability 
parking space and ask for a response within a reasonable amount of time such as 30 days.  If the 
Condominium Association or property manager fails to respond on or before that day, it would be 
assumed that it is a denial or a delay, then the resident can contact the Office of Human Rights to file a 
fair housing complaint at 240-777-8450.  OHR has  investigators and enforcement authority. Similarly, a 
condominium may have a shortage of parking spaces and a waiting list.  If a disabled person needs a 
parking space in order to utilize a unit, that person must be moved to the head of the waiting list.  If the 
disabled person must park next to the building exit and that space is already occupied by an existing 
owner who does  not need an accessible parking space, a reasonable accommodation might be to give 
the non-disabled person a parking space further from the exit and the disabled person the more 
accessible spot.  A lower federal court in New Jersey has ruled that a condominium association must 
accommodate a disabled person's request for a reserved parking space near the entrance of the 
apartment even though the master deed provided that parking spaces were common elements and 
required that decisions regarding commonly owned property be made by a vote of all the unit owners.   
 
How many accessible parking spaces must be provided on each residential building site? 
When parking is provided at the site, for residents or visitors, the following must be included: 
 

 accessible parking on a route accessible to wheelchairs for at least 2% of the covered dwelling 
units; 

 on the same terms and with the full range of choices; e.g., surface parking or garage, that are 
provided for other residents of the project  

 designated accessible parking as close as possible to the dwelling units upon request of 
residents who have MVA disability placards/plates 

 accessible visitors parking which is sufficient to provide access to grade-level entrances of 
covered multifamily dwellings; and 

 accessible parking at common use facilities (e.g. swimming pools, community centers) that serve 
accessible buildings. 

 

For visitor parking and parking at facilities such as swimming pools the Guidelines do not require a 
specific number or percentage of spaces.  Such parking should be provided in accordance with the local 
code, or at a minimum, provide at least one space for visitors and one space at each common use 
facility. 
 
A person with a disability lives in a townhouse, and would like a reserved parking space and an 
accessible parking sign installed. How can they get one? 
First the individual should make a written request for a reasonable accommodation to the association or 
management company requesting a response on or before a certain date such as 30 days.  If they do 



not respond within the reasonable time requested such as 30 days, contact the Office of Human Rights 
Complaint Intake Line at 240-777-8450.   
 
How does a person request a disabled street parking space in public residential area? If you or 
someone living in your home has a disability, you may be able to reserve a parking space near your 
home. (Private property such as roads controlled by HOA are issued by HOA or property manager in 
malls or private roads.) The steps for you to follow in requesting the action are described below: 
 
You should request an Application for Personal Residential Permit for Reserved Parking Space from the 
MVA. You may obtain the form downloading a copy from the MVA's website or: 
:  

 ByCall MVA’s Fax on Demand System at 410-424-3050  

 Call MVA’s Customer Service Center at 410-768-7000 

 Call MVA's Customer Service Center from out-of-state at 1-301-729-4550 

 TTY for the hearing impaired at 1-800-492-4575 

 Visit any MVA branch office (excluding Oakland) 

Note: If you are requesting a space on behalf of a private business or an apartment or condominium 
complex, you must contact your local county government, rather than the MVA. 

When you receive the application, complete and return it. The MVA Investigation and Security 
Services (ISS) division will review the application to see whether any of the following conditions exist 
that may disqualify your request:  

 Your doctor certifies your disability is not permanent; 

 Your residence is located in a private community or is located on a private roadway; 

 Off-street parking is already available (e.g., garage, driveway, parking pad); 

 No member of your household has a Maryland registered vehicle; OR, 

 Your residence is on a street where parking is prohibited. 

If your application is accepted, the MVA Investigation and Security Services (ISS) division will mail a 
medical certification form to your doctor to verify your disability. 

The MVA Investigation and Security Services unit will conduct a site visit. 

If everything is acceptable, you will receive a letter and stickers for up to 2 different vehicles. In 
Baltimore County, the county traffic division makes the final decision on reserving a space and will 
notify you. 

Reserved Accessible parking signs will be installed within 30 days after the letter of approval is sent. 
If your request is denied, you will receive a letter with information about how to appeal the decision. 

There is no fee charged to reserve the parking space. 

To request a replacement residential street sign please contact the Montgomery County Department 
of Transportation, Division of Traffic Engineering and Operations, Traffic Engineering Studies Section 
at  mcdot.TrafficOps@montgomerycountymd.gov and provide a street name and preferably the 
residential address these signs are adjacent too.  This way our technicians can quickly find the 
location and process a work order to have new signs installed. 

I am designing a parking lot. What are the dimensions for accessible parking spaces? 
There are different dimension for cars, vans and access aisles.  Most vans are equipped with a lift or 
ramp at a side door so they need the extra wide access aisle (8 feet wide not 5 feet wide) for the lift to 
come down, and for the person using the wheelchair or scooter to have sufficient space to roll on or off 
the lift.  In Maryland, the ratio for a van accessible space to accessible parking spaces is 1:4.  If your lot 
only requires one accessible parking space then that one must be van accessible.  Generally, in addition 

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/_docs/IS-022.pdf
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/locations/index.htm
mailto:mcdot.TrafficOps@montgomerycountymd.gov


to an 8 feet wide parking space, cars need a 5 feet access aisle and vans need an 8 feet access aisle.  
Check to be sure that there is a nearby curb cut onto the sidewalk.  Also, please try to make the parking 
spaces as level as possible with no more than a 2% grade of slope.  Contact Permitting Services Zoning 
Line by calling 311 for complete information. 
http://permittingservices.montgomerycountymd.gov/DPS/pdf/MarylandAccessibleParkingSpaces.pdf 
 
How many reserved accessible parking spaces are required? 
It depends on whether the project is commercial or residential. Contact Permitting's Plan Review Section 
by calling 311. 
 
What does an official reserved accessible parking sign look like? 
Contact Permitting at 311 or go to the MD Accessibility Code.  Sign needs to meet height requirements 
and Fine needs to be posted. Police cannot write a ticket for signs painted on pavement.  
http://dhcd.maryland.gov/Codes/Pages/AccessibilityCode.aspx 
 
I am a tenant in a strip shopping center built in 1980.  Does my retail space need to be 
accessible? 
Yes, all lots shall conform with the requirements of the Maryland Accessibility Code after October 1, 
2010. Especially those do something to their lot. 
I am being told that if the parking lot was established prior to the ADA that they do not have to 
comply.  Is this true? 
A. Not true. 
 
Can I obtain a waiver from the Maryland Accessibility Code? You must first file a written formal 
request with the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development 301-429-7400 or go to 
the web at http://dhcd.maryland.gov/Codes/Documents/AccessibilityCode/waiver.pdf 
 
I intend to obtain a building permit. Do my plans have to conform to the Maryland Accessibility 
Code? Do my plans also have to comply with ADA? 
Yes, in both cases.  The Maryland Accessibility Code exceeds the ADA in that it requires one van 
accessible parking space in every four accessible spaces, but not less than one.  The Code also requires 
that each van accessible parking space aisle have a “No Parking in Access Aisle” sign to prevent illegal 
parking.  
 
I do not understand a provision of the ADA related to building accessibility. To whom can I 
speak? 
Contact the U. S. Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board 1-800-872-2253 or the 
ADA Information Center for the Mid-Atlantic Region at 301-217-0124.  You can also contact Permitting's 
Plan Review Section by calling 311 and that will give you a technical opinion, but not an official 
interpretation of the ADAAG. 
 
I have a complaint about the lack of accessibility at a local shopping Strip. Whom can I contact? 
Contact Montgomery County: 311 
U. S. Department of Justice:  1-800-514-0301 (V), 1-800-514-0383 (TTY) 
Montgomery County Office of Human Rights:  240-777-8450 (V), 240-777-8460 (TTY) 
Maryland Disability Law Center:  301-925-9871 or 1-800-870-6362 
Maryland Commission on Human Relations: 410-767-8600 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
Permitting's Plan Review Section enforces the Maryland Accessibility Code for any building issued a 
construction permit after May 15, 1975.  The Plan Review Section also enforces the Fair Housing 
Amendments Act of 1989 for all multi-family buildings.  The Plan Review Section reviews all commercial 
plans for conformance to ADAAG, but lacks enforcement authority. Design consultation with the Plan 
Review Section is available by appointment by calling 311.  A licensed architect must attend the 
consultation.  The Plan Review Section does not enforce accessibility standards for the City of Rockville 
nor Town of Gaithersburg.  Contact these respective municipalities for assistance. 

 
 
 

http://permittingservices.montgomerycountymd.gov/DPS/pdf/MarylandAccessibleParkingSpaces.pdf
http://dhcd.maryland.gov/Codes/Pages/AccessibilityCode.aspx
http://dhcd.maryland.gov/Codes/Documents/AccessibilityCode/waiver.pdf

