

Facts About Lead Rental Registrations

What You Need to Know

Registration fees for rental properties in Maryland are legislated. They are set in Annapolis by your legislators. Fees or penalties cannot be waived or changed by those answering phones. An owner of a residential rental property built prior to 1978 must register the property with Maryland Department of the Environment (the Department) unless the property is Lead Free.

Rental properties may be registered any time during a calendar year. Properties must be registered prior to occupancy. After the initial registration, the renewal fees are due for each subsequent calendar year. If a rental property is occupied at any time during the calendar year, the registration fee must be paid for that calendar year. Owners of rental properties should notify the Department in writing when a property is sold, no longer for rent, or becomes lead free. Owners should also notify the Department of any changes in mailing address.

Renewal fees for rental properties are due by December 31st of each year for the following year. For example, 2017 renewal fees were due by December 31, 2016. Renewal worksheets are mailed in October/November and the year for which you are paying the fee is in the heading of the worksheet.

Renewal fees for a calendar year may be paid online until March 31st. Once you enter the "Renewal" screen online, the year for which you are paying flashes in red. Penalties and/or prior year payments cannot be paid online.

Please read your lead certificates. The following are three different types of certificates issued:

Lead Free Certificate - Property is free of lead-based paint on the inside and the outside. Property will not need another inspection and does not need to be registered or stay in our system. Fees are not required for the Lead Rental Registry, but a one-time only \$10.00 processing fee is due when you receive your certificate.

Limited Lead Free Certificate – Property has no lead-based paint on the inside of the dwelling, but there is lead on the outside. Certificate has an expiration date and only the outside of the property needs to be inspected every 2 years prior to the expiration date. Property does not need to be registered as long as the certificate is current. The one-time \$10.00 processing fee is due when you receive your certificate.

Full Risk Reduction Certificate – Property has no chipping, peeling or flaking paint. This property must be registered and renewal fees must be paid annually. Re-inspection must occur at each change in occupancy.

If you are the new owner of an occupied rental property that was built before 1978 and is not Lead Free, you have 30 days in which to register the property with the Department. If the property is not registered in that time period, a penalty of up to \$20.00 per day from the date of ownership may be accrued.

On the renewal forms, we ask for the Date of Most Recent Turnover and the Date of Most Recent Lead Certificate. These dates are important, and we cannot guess what the dates are, nor can we look up every date for you. If you do not fill in a month, day and year, we will leave it blank. If these dates are blank we cannot determine if a certificate is valid for the current residency.