Skip to main content

About the Commission on Common Ownership Communities


Created  Montgomery County Code, Section 10B-3 (Jan. 1991); Emergency Bill No. 8-95 (June 1995); Emergency Bill No. 11-96

Purpose  Through regulation and education, promote an equitable balance between the powers of governing bodies, owners, and residents; mediate disputes; adjudecate disputes when necessary, etc.

Membership  Fifteen members consisting of 8 residents of common ownership communities and 7 professionals associated with common ownership communities (attorneys, property managers, realtors, developers, etc.).  Designees of the County Council, Planning Board, Dept. of Environmental Protection, Dept. of Housing and Community Affairs, Dept. of Permitting Services, Dept. of Transportation, and Office of Consumer Protection are ex-officio non-voting members of the Commission.

Terms  Three Years

Meetings  First Wednesday of each month. Monthly committee meetings and dispute hearing panels as scheduled. A current schedule is available upon request.

County Attorney's Office  Walter Wilson, Associate County Attorney

Resident/Lot Owner Representatives

Professional Representatives

Volunteer Hearing Panel Chairs  Hon. Bruce Birchman, Esq.; Rachel Browder, Esq.; Charles H. Fleisher, Esq.; Douglas A. Shontz, Esq.; Dinah Stevens, Esq.

Go Top