Skip to main content

Single-Family Rehabilitation Loan Program

Until further notice, the Department of Housing and Community Affairs (DHCA) will not be accepting new applications to participate in the Single-Family Rehabilitation Loan Program.  Please check this webpage for any further announcements regarding this program.  Any further information on the resumption of this program will be available at this website.

Since January 1985, Montgomery County has helped many households afford to make vital repairs to their homes. This program provides both financial and technical assistance to eligible homeowners living within Montgomery County.

Program Eligibility

Applicants are eligible if they meet the following requirements:

  • The applicant is the owner and occupant;
  • The property has one or more housing deficiencies or violations of the County's housing code;
  • The household income is within the income limited for the program;
  • The title of the property must be in the applicant's name;
  • The applicant must have owned and resided in the property for a minimum of two years; and
  • The value of the property, according to the most recent tax assessment, cannot be more than $450,000.

Eligible Repairs

The following repairs are eligible through the Rehabilitation Program:

  • Roofing
  • Porch Replacement
  • Wheelchair Ramp
  • Plumbing Repairs
  • Electrical Repairs
  • Energy Conservation
  • Repair Termite Damage
  • Furnace Replacement
  • Replace Hot Water Heater
  • Interior/Exterior Painting
  • Bathroom Fixtures
  • Replace Some Appliances
  • Floor Replacement

Loan Terms

  • LOW monthly payments, based on ability to repay
  • LOW interest rates
  • LONG terms - up to 20 years
  • Amount determined by a DHCA Specialist, according to repairs needed

Income Qualifications

Family Size and Annual Income (max allowed)
Family Size Annual Income (max allowed)
1 $45,100
2 $51,550
3 $58,000
4 $64,400
5 $69,600
6 $74,750
7 $79,900
8 $85,050


Go Top