

January 17, 2024

Staff Proposal: No-Electioneering boundaries for the 2024 Elections Polling Places

The Election Law provides for the establishment of no-electioneering boundaries at the early voting centers and election day polling places.

Section §10–101 of Election Law stipulates that electioneering shall be allowed up to the electioneering boundary at a minimum from 5 a.m. the day immediately preceding election day until 8 a.m. on the day immediately following Election Day.

Section §16–206 states that in Montgomery County, on approval of the local board, the no-electioneering boundary line may be located at any point between 25 feet and 100 feet from the entrance and exit to the polling place. The line will be established by posted signs that read *'No Electioneering Beyond this Point'*.

At each polling place, one election judge from each principal political party shall be designated by the local board and, acting jointly, shall post signs delineating a line around the entrance and exit of the building that are closest to that part of the building in which voting occurs.

The Election Law also says that a person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$500 or imprisonment for not more than 60 days or both.

In preparation for the 2022 Gubernatorial Election cycle, Montgomery County Board of Elections approved no-electioneering boundaries for 2022 election cycle polling places. The Staff's recommendation to the Board for the 2024 Presidential Election Cycle is to consider and approve the 2022 no-electioneering boundaries for reapproved polling places and approve no-electioneering boundaries for the new polling places approved by the Board during the October 16, 2023, meeting.

The new polling places are:

- Burnt Mills Elementary School for Precinct 05-05.
- Stonegate Elementary School for Precinct 05-16.
- DuFief Elementary School for Precinct 06-04.
- Parkland Middle School for Precinct 13-45.
- South Lake Elementary School for Precinct 09-07.

Respectfully submitted,

Boris Brajkovic Election Director