

For Immediate Release: June 4, 2019

Montgomery County Board of Elections Holds Swearing-In Ceremony and Election of Officers

The official swearing in ceremony of the Montgomery County Board of Elections took place on Monday, June 3, 2019. The Honorable Barbara H. Meiklejohn, Clerk of the Circuit Court, performed the swearing in ceremony in the presence of elected officials, county residents, family and friends.

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan reappointed James Shalleck, Nahid Khozeimeh, David Naimon, Jacqueline Phillips and Alan Banov to the board, while Diane Dillon and Elisse Barnes were newly appointed. Each board member serves a four-year term.

Following the swearing in, the Montgomery County Board of Elections unanimously re-elected James Shalleck as president and Nahid Khozeimeh as vice president of the board. David Naimon was newly elected as secretary of the board, also by unanimous vote. Light refreshments and guided tours of the facility followed the ceremony.

The Montgomery County Board of Elections conducts federal, state and county level elections. Members of the board are responsible for selecting early voting locations, polling places, appointing election workers, overseeing the canvass of ballots and for certifying election results.

The next board meeting will be held on June 17, 2019, at 2:30 p.m. The Board of Elections is located at 18753 N. Frederick Avenue, Suite 210, Gaithersburg, MD 20879. All board meetings are open to the public. The board would like to extend a special thanks to outgoing board members Mary Ann Keeffe and Alexander Vincent for their years of service.

Your Time, Your Voice, Your Vote!

Media Contact: Gilberto Zelaya, 240-777-8625