

MEDIA ADVISORY

For Immediate Release: June 6, 2024 Montgomery County Board of Elections Held Swearing-In Ceremony and Election of Officers

The official Swearing-in ceremony of the Montgomery County Board of Elections took place on Monday, June 5, 2023, at the Montgomery College Germantown Campus Bioscience Education Center. The Honorable Karen A. Bushell, Clerk of Circuit Court, performed the swearing-in ceremony in the presence of elected officials, county residents, family, friends, and Board of Elections staff.

Maryland Governor Wes Moore reappointed, and Maryland Senate confirmed Diane Nash Dillon, Amoretta M. (Amie) Hoeber, David A. Naimon, and Alexander C. Vincent to the Board, while Keyna I. Anyiam, Daniel A. Koroma, and Margie C. Delao were newly appointed. Each board member serves a four-year term.

Following the swearing in, the Montgomery County Board of Elections unanimously elected David A. Naimon as president and Daniel A. Koroma as vice president of the board. Amoretta M. (Amie) Hoeber was elected as secretary of the board, also by unanimous vote.

The official program included a keynote address by the Honorable Connie Morella. Other speakers included Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich, Montgomery County Council Vice President Andrew Friedson, Maryland State Senator Cheryl Kagan, Maryland State Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, and Election Director Boris Brajkovic. Event pictures and speaker details are available on the Montgomery County Board of Elections social media handles, while event recording will be available on www.777vote.org.

The Montgomery County Board of Elections conducts federal, state and county level elections. Members of the board are responsible for selecting early voting locations, polling places, appointing election workers, overseeing the canvass of ballots and for certifying election results.

The next board meeting will be held on June 26, 2023, at 3 p.m. As we near the Board session, agenda, and livestream link will be available at www.777vote.org. The board would like to extend special thanks to former board members Nahid Khozeimeh, Elisse W. Barnes and Alan Banov for their years of service.

For election related information, call 240-777-8500, visit www.777vote.org, the Maryland State Board of Elections' website at https://elections.maryland.gov, or follow the Montgomery County Board of Elections on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter.

Your Voice, Your Vote!

Media Contact: Gilberto Zelaya, 240-777-8625