

Commission on Children and Youth Meeting Summary March 11, 2020

Members Present at Meeting: Stephanie Clark, Luciana Crotti-Espinoza, Itamar Fiorino, Uma Fox, Victoria Koretsky, Jeanett Peralta and Ashley Thommana

Members Present via Skype: Kirsten Andersen, Leslie Copeland-Tune, Karen Duffy, Lynne Harris, Jerome Jackson, Renae McPherson, Stephanie Nesmith, Julie Reiley, Andrea Shore and Shané Tate

Members Absent: Shruti Bhatnagar, Joseph Hooks, Alexander Kern, Ijeoma Okoro, and Pamela Taylor

Staff Present: Erin Stillwell (DHHS)

Due to the recent changes via the COVID-19 pandemic, a portion of the CCY meet via Skype

Kirsten Andersen, chair, called the full commission meeting to order at 7:12 pm

Meeting Summary Review and Vote: Review and vote February 12 meeting summary

ACTION: Unable to vote on minutes due to lack of quorum

Past Commission Business

- **34th Annual Dworkin Awards:** Due to uncertainly being caused by COVID-19, CCY needs to make alternative plans for Dworkin Awards
 - Discussion/Ideas: continue with nomination process and have award ceremony next year, have awardees come to June 2020 meeting to receive awards, postpone event until next year
 - Chair recommended that commissioner consider different options to celebrate awardees and bring ideas to April meeting

Looking Ahead Commission Dates to Consider:

- April 1, 2020-need to build slate for chair/vice chair election—send nominations to Erin via email prior to April 1st meeting
- May 13, 2020-Election for chair/vice chair (either via ballot or acclamation)

• June 10, 2020-CCY's Annual Planning Retreat (new chair/vice chair to assume to roles; will determine priorities for new commission year)

Subcommittee Break Outs

Subcommittees will break out via conference call and videoconference. Co-chairs of subcommittees are asked to provide a brief report out to Erin that can be shared with the full CCY via email after subcommittee sessions.

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.