Commission on Children and Youth: Membership 2023-2024

The Commission on Children and Youth is comprised of 27 members, all who are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. Twenty-two of the members are divided equally to represent the following categories: 1) individuals with recent experience in agencies providing services to children and youth 2) youth and young adults from Montgomery County, and 3) parents of children and youth who live in Montgomery County. The remaining five members are ex-officio representatives from the following departments: 1) a representative from the public school system 2) a representative from an independent school in Montgomery County 3) a representative from the Department of Recreation and 4) two representatives from Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services. Each commissioner serves a three-year term with the option of serving two full terms. Youth commissioners serve a one-year term with the option of serving two full terms.

Parent Representatives:

- Jane Chappell
- Michael Jimenez
- LaTanya Johnson, *Commission Chair*
- Constance Mordecai
- Johnnie Peace
- Gregory Pollock
- Sara Rosen
- Gregory Tucker
- Corinne Yourman

Private Agency Representatives:

- Stephanie Clark, Leaders Institute
- Jose Diaz, CCI Health Services
- Kimberly McLurkin-Harris, MCPS Recovery and Academic Program
- Chanel Speaks, EveryMind
- Shane Tate, Six Tool Solutions

Youth Representatives:

- Ellyce Butuyan
- Aliza George
- Jackie Wang, Commission Vice Chair
- Angela Wu

Ex Officio Members:

- Kirsten Andersen, Linkages to Learning, Dept. Health and Human Services
- Walter Pegues, Department of Recreation and Parks
- Jeanett Peralta, School Health Services, Dept. of Health and Human Services
- Julia Guillen Williams, Montgomery County Public Schools
- Vacant, Representative, Private/Independent School Community

Staff to the Commission:

Dr. Pearline Tyson, Staff to the Commission Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services 240-777-1791 pearline.tyson@montgomerycountymd.gov