it could happen to you

You have to arrange a
funeral—immediately *

hen her husband unexpect-
edly died in December 2012,
Dayna Sefcik of Texas says,

the funeral home took advantage of her
grief and her wallet.

Showing her prices only for expensive
funeral packages and insisting that regula-
tions allowed it to charge for certain services
whether she used thern or not, the funeral
home persuaded her to spend more than
$18,000, Sefcik says, which caused her to
go into debt. Having since seen what others
paid for funerals, she thinks she should
have spent less than half that amount. “In
my heart of hearts, I believe they saw me
driving up in my SUV and thought, ‘She can
afford this, ” Sefcik says.

People trying to make fast arrangements
for an unplanned funeral are especially vul-
nerable to such funeral-home “upselling,”

says Lisa Carlson, executive director of -

the Funeral Ethics Organization, based in
Vermont, and co-author of “Final Rights”
(finalrights.org), a consumer guide. The
- pressure to upsell may only get worse as big
corporations buy more funeral homes and
baby boomers increasingly choose simple

cremation over more lucrative burials with -

funeral services.

HOW TO PROTECT YOURSELF

B Choose your options. Meet with loved
ones to decide what to do with
the body: State law dictates the
person responsible for mak-
ing funeral arrangements—
usually the spouse, followed
by adult children. Unless your
religion requires burial within
24 hours, you’ll have sev-
eral days (or longer) to make
arrangements.

R Decide between cre-
mation and burial. Direct
cremation, without a formal
viewing and service, is usu-
ally the least costly option,
between $700 and $1,200.
Most costly is a full-service

b

funeral with burial, espe-

cially if you need to purchase .| p i

Some facilities list prices on their websites.
The rule also prohibits funeral homes from
compelling you to buy unwanted products
or services, such as a‘{askej:, which the law
allows you to buy from other sources or even
make yourself~Go to consumer.
fic.gov/articles/0300-ftc-funeral-

eople trying rule to review your rights.
a cemetery plot. If you're Ifa home pressures you to buy
undecided, Carlson advises to make more than you want or balks at
calling the cemetery first to fast funeral letting you use your own casket
see whether the thousands arrangements  or other items, “you should get
of dollars a burial adds to are especially P and leave, absolutely;” says
the cost will make cremation . Valerie Wages, funeral direc-
worth considering instead. vulnerable to tor at Tom M. Wages Funeral
| Calculate how you funeral-home Service in Georgia.
will pay. Generally, the de- ‘upselling.’
WAYS TO SAVE

ceased’s estate is responsible

for reasonable funeral expenses, which take
priority over other debts. But until the estate
is settled, you will have to dip into your own
pocket or ask family members and friends to
chip in. So set a budget, and don't let anyone
guilt-trip you into spending more than you
can afford or feel is appropriate.

& Shop around. Start at the website of the
Funeral Consumers Alliance (funerals.org), a
nonprdﬁt consumer-protection organization.
It has a lot of helpful information, including,
in the FAQ section, tips for reading a funeral
home’s price list. Also go to funeralethics.
org/rights.htm to review your state’s rules
governing such matters as embalming, cas-
kets and vaults, burial, and cremation.

® Contact more than one facility,
even if you have a trustworthy referral.
“Taking the time to make three to five phone
calls can save you anywhere from $1,000
to $4,000 for exactly
the same thing,” says
Joshua Slocum, the
alliance’s director.

The federal Funeral
Rule can prevent fu-
neral directors from
* taking advantage of
people at a vulner-
able time. Among
its requirements,
funeral homes must
provide prices by
telephone and a gen-
eral price list when
you visit, even if you
don’t request one.
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W Know before they go. Don't authorize
a funeral home to remove the deceased
until you're sure it’s the facility you want to
use. Once the body is moved, the charges
start. Transferring it to another facility only
increases the cost.

M Comparison shop online. Avoid pack-
age deals promoted by the funeral home.
Many third-party sources sell caskets, urns,
and other funeral products online; we found
caskets for as low as $822 at walmart.com.
Many sites offer quick delivery. Alternatively,
you can use online prices as a basis for negoti-
ations with the funeral home. But never reveal
your overall budget or you'll probably spend
every penny of it, Carlson says.

B Cremation caskets and burial con-
tainers. Don't let a funeral director insist
that you car't use a less costly cremation cas-
ket for viewing instead of the more expensive
rental casket that many funeral homes offer,
in some cases for $800 or more. We found
cremation caskets for $370. Many states
don't require a casket or outer container for
burial, but cemeteries might.

B Embalming. Some states mandate
embalming only if the body is not disposed
of within a certain amount of time, usually
about 24 to 48 hours. The funeral home might
require embalming if there will be a public
viewing, but refrigeration is often an option.

B Seek government help. Ifyou don’t
have money to pay for a funeral, many states
have programs that can help. Contact the
local social-services office. Social Security
provides a one-time funeral payment of
$255 to the surviving spouse. $
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