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Group Home License Application Instruction Checklist 
(LICENSES ARE NOT TRANSFERABLE FROM LOCATION TO LOCATION OR PERSON TO PERSON) 

NEW Application for Elderly and Non-Elderly Group Homes 

Group Homes in Montgomery County with 3 to 16 residents require BOTH a Montgomery County and a State of 
Maryland license.  According to Montgomery County Code, Chapter 23A-8(a) “A building must not be advertised 
or used as a group home until the Director issues an annual license.  A building must not be advertised or used as a 
group home after a license has expired or has been revoked or suspended.” 
 
Step 1-Review Montgomery County Code, Chapter 23A or visit our office at the address listed above, to purchase 
a Group Home packet, which contains Chapter 23A. The cost is $5.00. 
 
Please check ALL appropriate boxes to confirm items submitted with your new application.  An incomplete 
application packet will delay the licensing process. 

 
 Submit ALL the following documents with your new application: 

 Montgomery County Group Home License Application 

 Fees (per bed):   $60.00 (Elderly) or   $50.00 (Non-Elderly) 

 Emergency Contact Form (Attachment A)  

 Complaint Procedure (see Attachment B for guidelines) 

 Use and Occupancy Permit, if required by the county or the jurisdiction. (Attachment C) 

 Fire Approval Report AND Board and Care Fire Permit.  All applicants are required to arrange for a 
fire inspection from their local jurisdiction. (Attachment C)  

 If you have a well and septic system, provide proof that you have paid Permitting Services for your 
inspection.  

 Program Statement which describes each of the following items from Chapter 23A-9(d).  
         (You may substitute equivalent policies sent to the State agency for this requirement) 
 

 The program purpose, goals, and objectives 
 The means to accomplish the goals and objectives 
 The needs and capabilities of the population served 
 The proposed budget, resources, and procedures to meet those needs 
 The proposed operating methods and procedures for medication management, transportation, 

social and recreational services, 24 hour supervision, personal care services, and food service 
 Client admission and retention criteria 
 Qualifications and experience of the applicant and personnel operating the group home 
 Emergency Preparedness that includes evacuation plans for all disasters, alternative location for 

continued operations, and a signed letter from the alternative location. 
 
 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Licensure and Regulatory Services 

255 Rockville Pike, Suite 100, 1st Floor, Rockville, MD  20850 
Phone:  240-777-3986  /  Fax: 240-777-3088 

www.montgomerycountymd.gov/licensure 
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Step 2- (Elderly)  

 
To obtain a State Assisted Living license (see below):  
 

 After completing the Montgomery County application process, call the Maryland Department of Health 
and Mental Hygiene, Office of Health Care Quality at: 410-402-8217 to request an application or go 
online to the website below and click link Assisted Living. 

 A person may not operate an Assisted Living Program in the State of Maryland for 2 or more residents 
without obtaining a State License.  Their website is: www.dhmh.state.md.us/ohcq 

 Mail the original State Assisted Living application and documentation to: 
 

   Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
   Office of Health Care Quality  
   Bland Bryant Building-Spring Grove Hospital Center 
   55 Wade Avenue 
   Catonsville, Maryland  21228 

 
Step 3- (Non-Elderly)  
 
You must submit applications to the State Agency listed below before submitting your Montgomery County 
application. 
 

To obtain a State license (see below): 
  

 Before submitting your application to Montgomery County Licensing Office for a Group Home 
license for Individuals with Mental Illness, call the Montgomery County local Behavioral Health 
Authority at 240-777-1400 or call the Maryland Office of  Health Care Quality at 410-402-8060 or 
(toll free 1-877-402-8220 or go online at www.dhmh.state.md.us/ohcq and click link Mental Health. 

 

 Before submitting your application to the Montgomery County Licensing Office to obtain a license to 
care for Minor Children, you must first attend an informational session by registering online at the 
Maryland Governor’s Office for Children at www.goc.state.md.us and click group homes or single 
point of entry.  You will only be able to register if the State has determined there is a current need for 
such homes. 

 
Please sign, date, and return completed form along with your application and payment to our office.  Failure 
to submit each applicable item will delay the application process. 
 
Review and Sign Statement below: 
 
I have submitted all of the information as indicated on this checklist, and confirm all items submitted with this Group 
Home application are accurate and current. 
 
Signature:              _____________________________________________________________ 
 

Printed Name:      _____________________________________________________________ 
 

Date:                         _____________________________  

http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/ohcq
http://www.dhmh.state.md.us/ohcq
http://www.goc.state.md.us/


Revised 05/25/2018                                                            

               
               
               
               
                                                                                                     
                                            

 

Group Home License Application (New) 
                  Application is hereby made for a license to operate a Group Home in Montgomery County, Maryland 
                                           (LICENSES ARE NOT TRANSFERABLE FROM LOCATION TO LOCATION OR PERSON TO PERSON)   
                                        
 
                                                                                                                                                          TODAY’S DATE:________________________ 
 
☐ FACILITY NAME CHANGE: _____________________________________________ 
    (previous name) 
☐   CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP 
 

 
GROUP HOME TYPE:    ELDERLY / $60 per bed               NON-ELDERLY / $50 per bed (select type below) 
 

                                                                              MINORS   or    CHRONICALLY MENTALLY ILL      
GROUP HOME/ FACILITY: 
 
NAME: ________________________________________________________________________________________________  
      
ADDRESS: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street Number and Street Name                         City                            State                       Zip Code 
 

TELEPHONE: ___________________________    FAX: ___________________________    
 
WATER SOURCE:     WSSC/City      Well                        SEWAGE DISPOSAL:     WSSC/City       Septic 

              
OCCUPANCY: 
 
NUMBER OF OCCUPANTS WHO CLAIM THE HOME AS THEIR PLACE OF RESIDENCE: 

  RESIDENTS (Number of licensed beds):                                       _______ (Add numbers down) 
     

  NUMBER OF LIVE IN EMPLOYEES     + _______ 
      

  OTHER (Children, Family, or others residing on the premises)    +_______ 
  
   TOTAL (NUMBER OF ALL OCCUPANTS WHO CLAIM RESIDENCE):      = _______   Number of rotating staff (non-occupants): ______  
 
 
THE STATE LICENSING AGENCY FOR THE GROUP HOME: _____________________________________________________________ 
 
 
COMPANY/ CORPORATION (who owns the facility): 
 
NAME: ____________________________________________________________________ FEDERAL TAX ID: ___________________________ 
      
ADDRESS: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street Number and Street Name                         City                          State                         Zip Code 
 

TELEPHONE: ___________________________    FAX: ___________________________   
    
EMAIL: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
*PLEASE NOTE: If an annual renewal application is filed after the license has expired, a late fee of $100.00 will be charged  
        in addition to the annual renewal fee. 
 
            PRINT NAME: _________________________________    TITLE:______________________________________ 
 
            SIGNATURE: __________________________________     DATE:______________________________________ 
 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Licensure and Regulatory Services 
255 Rockville, Suite 100, 1st Floor,  

Rockville, Maryland  20850 
240-777-3986 /     Fax 240-777-3088 

www.montgomerycountymd.gov 
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PAYMENT INFORMATION 
 
 
Payment Method:         Check       Money Order       Visa        MasterCard   
 
Make checks or money orders payable to “Montgomery County, Maryland”.  Cash is not accepted.  Credit card payments may be 
faxed to 240-777-4531 (confidential fax line).  
 
 
Credit Cardholder’s Name (printed):  ______________________________________________________ 
 
Amount Charged: $______________  Credit Card No:  ____________________________________________________    
 
Exp. Date: __________________  3 Digit Security Code (required) ____________ 
 
 
 
I agree to pay the indicated total amount according to card issuer agreement: 
 
CARDHOLDER’S SIGNATURE:  __________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Receipt No.:  _______________________               Date Issued:  ____________________    Staff Initials:_______ 

Amount Paid:  ______________________                

Check/Money Order No.:  ___________________  Credit Card Approval Code (MC/VISA):________________ 
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ATTACHMENT A 
 

EMERGENCY CONTACT INFORMATION 
 

GROUP HOME APPLICANTS (NEW) 
 
 
                                                                                                        Completion Date:______________________ 
 
Group Home Licensee: 
 
In the event of a county-wide emergency we may need to contact each group home in Montgomery 
County.  *Please provide the group home owners contact information or after hours’ emergency contact. 

   
 
PRIMARY CONTACT PERSON: 
 
Name: ______________________________________________________________________  
 
Position / Title to the Business:  __________________________________________________ 
 
Address: (personal) ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone (personal)  home: ______________________________    cell: ______________________________ 
 
Email (personal): _____________________________________________________________ 
      
SECONDARY CONTACT PERSON: 
 
Name: ______________________________________________________________________  
 
Position / Title to the Business:  __________________________________________________ 
 
Address: (personal) ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone (personal)  home: ______________________________    cell: ______________________________ 
 
Email (personal): _____________________________________________________________ 
  

Please notify me in writing or contact me directly at 240-777-1063, if any of the information above 
changes. Thank you in advance for your cooperation 

 
      Sincerely, 

        
      Kendra Queen 
      Group Home Licensing Coordinator 
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CHECKLIST FOR THE PROGRAM STATEMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR NEW HOMES 
 
 
Montgomery County Code, Chapter 23A-9(d) requires a Program Statement (policies) for 
new group homes and it must describe the following listed below.  Please check each box and 
return all listed policies with your application. 
 

 program purpose, goals and objectives; 
 
 means to accomplish the goals and objectives; 

 
 needs and capabilities of the population to be served; 

 
 proposed budget (an actual budget), resources, and procedures to meet those needs; 

 
 proposed operating methods and procedures for medication management, 

transportation, social and recreational services, 24 hour supervision, personal care 
services, and food service; 

 
 client admission and retention criteria; 

 
 qualifications and experience of the applicant and the personnel operating the group 

home (a resume); and 
 

 emergency preparedness that includes: evacuation plans for all disasters, the 
alternative location for continued operations, and a signed letter from the alternative 
location preferably on their business letterhead. 

 
 
 
           Signature:  __________________________ 
 
           Date:          __________________________ 
 
 
 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Licensure and Regulatory Services 

255 Rockville Pike, Suite 100, 1st Floor, Rockville, MD  20850 
Phone:  240-777-3986  /  Fax: 240-777-3088 

www.montgomerycountymd.gov/licensure 
 

 

http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/licensure
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ATTACHMENT B 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Complaint Procedure Guidelines 

For Renewals and New Homes  
 

 
Montgomery County Code, Chapter 23A, requires Group Home licensure applicants to provide 
the Department of Health and Human Services with “the steps the staff Director will take to 
receive, investigate, and respond to inquiries and complaints from residents and non-residents”.   

 
A Complaint Procedure must accompany NEW and RENEWAL Group Home licensure 
applications and is subject to approval by the Licensure & Regulatory Office.   

 
To expedite your license application these guidelines have been created to assist you.   

 
Please include ALL the following in your procedure and return with your application: 

 
 How resident and community complaints will be addressed? 
 
 Name(s) of staff authorized to receive complaints from residents and non-residents. 
 
 Timeframe for the licensee to investigate complaints (no longer than 30 days). 
 
 How the licensee will inform the complainant of the investigation results. 
 
 How the license will attempt to resolve complaints? 
 
 List the County and State licensure agencies, phone numbers and addresses to contact if 

complaints are not resolved satisfactorily, including the Licensure & Regulatory Office. 
 

 Any complaint that has not been resolved to the complainant’s satisfaction should be 
forwarded in writing to the Licensure & Regulatory Office. 

 
 
 

 

Department of Health and Human Services 
Licensure and Regulatory Services 

255 Rockville Pike, Suite 100, 1st Floor, Rockville, MD  20850 
  Phone : 240-777-3986    /    Fax:  240-777-3088 

   www.montgomerycountymd.gov/licensure 
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