How to Report a Crime or Incident

  • Crime in Progress or Just Witnessed an Emergency Situation - Call 911
  • Reporting a non-emergency incident in progress - Call 301-279-8000
  • Submitting an anonymous crime tip - Use Crime Solvers

News Releases

View all >>

In the News

Who We Are

The Montgomery County Department of Police, located in Montgomery County, Maryland, includes approximately 1,300 sworn officers and approximately 650 support personnel. The Police Department was established in 1922, and today is responsible for policing a County with a population of over one million people.

The Police Department is structured into the Office of the Chief, under which is the Internal Affairs Division, Professional Accountability Division, Public Information Office and then five major bureaus: the Community Resources Bureau, the Field Services Bureau, the Investigative Services Bureau, the Management Services Bureau, and the Patrol Services Bureau. The Patrol Services Bureau, the largest and most visible bureau in the Police Department, oversees the majority of the Department’s uniformed officers on patrol. The Patrol Services Bureau is divided into six police districts.

Learn more >>


In 2020

people talking


SINCE 2016

back to school day

  (Source: dataMontgomery)