Skip to main content

Investigative Services Bureau 

Criminal Investigations Division


    Captain Pierce

     Captain Michael Ward, Director

The Criminal Investigations Division (CID) is comprised of several sections responsible for investigating a wide range of property crimes and crimes against persons.

 District Investigative Sections

Our six district stations have fully operational investigative sections. Detectives conduct investigations of burglary, theft, missing persons, assaults, citizen robberies, minor sex offenses, blackmail, telephone misuse, hate crimes, and other criminal acts.

District Contact Numbers:

1D 240.773.6084

2D 240.773.6710

3D 240.773.6880

4D 240.773.5530

5D 240.773.6237

6D 240.773.5771

 Forensic Services Section 240.773.5180

 Crime Analysis Section 240-773-5120

Financial Crimes Section

The Financial Crimes Section investigates crimes involving forgery/uttering, embezzlement, counterfeiting of checks/credit cards, financial exploitation of the elderly, and identity theft. The Electronic Computer Crime Unit (Computer Crime Unit), which is housed within the Financial Crimes Section, is responsible for computer forensics and conducting investigations involving computers, cell phones, and digital devices used as tools in a crime. Main Office Number – 240-773-6330

Central Auto Theft Section

The objective of the Central Auto Theft Section (CATS) is to reduce vehicle thefts in the County through investigation, enforcement, and theft prevention education. Main Office Number – 240-773-6370

Crime Laboratory

The Crime Laboratory consists of the Forensic Biology Unit (DNA), the Forensic Chemistry Unit, the Crime Scene Unit (FSS), the Firearms Examination Unit, the Latent Print Unit (RAFIS), and the Photography Unit.  The Crime Laboratory, including the Electronic Crimes Unit in the Financial Crimes Section, underwent an external American Society of Crime Lab Directors/Lab Accreditation Board-International (ASCLD/LAB-International) accreditation inspection in November 2011 and achieved accreditation in June 2012.  The Crime Laboratory is also licensed by the State of Maryland, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Health Care Quality. Main Office Number – 240-773-5555


Montgomery County Department of Police · Marcus Jones, Acting Chief
Public Safety Headquarters
100 Edison Park Drive · Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Non-emergency: 301.279.8000

Go Top