NOTICE TO ALL SOLID WASTE COLLECTORS

Chapter 48, Sections 19-30, of the Montgomery County Code, requires anyone transporting solid waste within
Montgomery County, Maryland be licensed. Listed below are the necessary instructions and a list of licensing
requirements. If you have any questions, please contact the Licensing Program at 240-777-6565.

The following documentation is required to apply for a COLLECTORS license.

v Application Form. The form must be completed and signed by the applicant or the applicant’s agent.

Business Address: The office must be located in Montgomery County or you must provide a local
telephone number or a toll-free telephone number.

v Performance Bond. A performance bond must be submitted in the amount of $500.00 for each vehicle, with a
maximum of $10,000.00 for twenty or more vehicles. The bond may be in the form of a Performance Bond or a
Check Bond. If you are submitting a check, please make it payable to Montgomery County, Maryland, and submit
a separate check for the licensing fees.

v Affidavit. The County Approved Affidavit must be completed and signed by an authorized representative of the
company.

v' Memorandum of Understanding. This is a legally binding agreement between Montgomery County, Maryland,
and all licensed collectors. The first and last pages must be completed, and the last page must be signed and
witnessed. This agreement is required for all collectors, regardless of the type of refuse collected.

v Solid Waste Vehicle Registration Application: One form must be submitted per vehicle and/or trailer.

v Legible copy of the State Vehicle Registration Card: Must be submitted for each vehicle to be permitted.
Please note: if a truck is leased, then a copy of the lease agreement between lessee and lessor must be submitted
along with the rest of the application. The lease agreement should include the vehicle(s) information (state tag,
year, make, model and VIN) and clearly indicate which company will be responsible for: licensing, maintenance
and enforcement.

v Consolidated list of trucks: If two or more vehicles will be permitted. The list should include: fleet number, state
tag, year, make, model, and VIN.

v Fees: The fee for the Solid Waste Collector license is $25.00. Solid waste vehicle permits are $5.00 per vehicle.
Please make your check(s) payable to Montgomery County, Maryland. These fees do not include disposal fees.

Expirations. The Solid Waste Collector licenses expires one (1) year from the date of issuance. Vehicle permits will expire
the SAME month as the Solid Waste Collector License.

Solid Wastes Law. You are responsible for following the provisions of Montgomery County, Maryland, Solid Wastes Law;
located on www.amlegal.com/montgomery_County md/. (Click on NO FRAMES). Search Chapter 48.

Solid Waste Tonnage Report. This data is required by the State of Maryland and must be submitted semi-annually. If you
have any questions, please contact Jeanne Risher (240)777-6434.

Solid Waste Disposal Account. If you can guarantee that you will dispose at least 20 tons per month of solid waste at
Montgomery County’s Shady Grove Processing Facility and Transfer Station, you may qualify for a Disposal Account.
For further information contact Jeanne Risher (240) 777-6434.

NOTE: The Licensing Program DOES NOT accept incomplete packages. Please follow the check list above to make sure
all documents are submited accordingly. Incomplete appplications will be returned. Copies must be legible. Faxes will
not be accepted. NO EXCEPTIONS.
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