Montgomery County, Maryland

DISPOSABLE BAG LAW

rvcountymd.qov/BAG
Call 311



http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/BAG

SLOGAN AND WEBSITE

www.montgomerycountymd.gov/BAG

=)
Bring Br:l:ng Your Bag'



http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/BAG

POSTER

KEEP THE CHANGE
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BAG

FIGHT LITTER

Starting January 1, 2012

Retailers in Montgomery County who provide plastic or paper
bags to customers are required to charge 5 cents a bag.
Keep the change. Do yourself and the environment
a favor - bring your reusable bag.

S

montgomerycountymd.gov/bag
or call 311



OVERVIEW

e Effective January 1, 2012

e 5-cent charge on most carryout plastic and
paper bags from County retailers (includes
all municipalities)

e Must charge 5-cents for each bag. Retailer
retains 1-cent



GOALS AND OBJECTIVES
e

Decrease the use of disposable bags in
Montgomery County

Increase consumer, retailer and retail employee awareness of
new law

Enable and motivate consumers to embrace the new law
Ensure that retailers are prepared to implement bag law
Prepare retail workers to effectively implement bag law

Enlist cooperation and support of business and community
organizations to educate and motivate all affected parties

Educate consumers on environmental advantages of reusable
bags



WHY WE NEED A BAG LAW

Montgomery County’s new Carryout Bag Law is
designed to improve our environment by reducing
the number of bags that become litter

e Plastic bags are a significant source of litter
e They pollute our streets, streams, and playgrounds,

and harm property values

In fact, the biggest single source of litter in our
streams Is plastic bags

Currently, the County spends $3 million a year on
litter clean up efforts



WILL THE BAG LAW WORK?
e

e A similar program has been in effect in
Washington, DC for the past 18 months

e DC’s program has already reduced plastic
bag litter that clogs rivers and streams in
Washington DC by an estimated 65 percent



HOW WILL THE FUNDS FROM THE
BAG CHARGE BE USED?

e Montgomery County hopes we don’t collect
any money from the Bag Charge

e Residents can avoid the charge for carryout
bags by bringing their own bag when they
shop

e Proceeds from the Carryout Bag Law will go
exclusively to programs that fight litter and
provide stormwater pollution control



WHAT STORES ARE REQUIRED TO
CHARGE FOR BAGS?

Stores that provide bags to their customers to carry purchases out of the
store:

Grocery stores
Service stations
Food vendors
Convenience stores
Liquor stores
Hardware
Department stores
Drug stores

Other sellers
Permanent booths



WHAT OTHER PURCHASES DOES
THE LAW COVER?

e The 5-cent charge applies to purchases
made over the phone/lnternet/fax when
delivered in a carryout bag provided by the
store

e The 5-cent charge applies to bags provided
by the store at a self-checkout counter



SOME BAGS ARE EXEMPT
FROM THE BAG LAW

Packaged bulk or perishable items
Bags used to hold prescription drugs

Paper bags from restaurants and delis for carry out, prepared
or left-over food or drink

Plastic bags in grocery stores used for produce
Bags sold for initial use as yard waste bags, pet waste bags,
garbage bags, dry cleaning bags or newspaper bags

Bags provided by a seasonal stand or street fair stall, such as a
farmer’'s market, yard sale or “occasional retailer” (defined in
the law as “...a retail establishment that engages in the retail
sale of goods no more than six days in any calendar year)



WHAT DO RETAILERS
NEED TO KNOW?

e A secure website will be set up for submission of the charge

e A retail establishment must record on the customer’s
transaction receipt the number of carryout bags that were
provided to the customer and the total amount charge levied at
a rate of 5 cents per bag

e On or before the 25th day of each month, each retail
establishment must remit the full amount of the charges
collected for all carryout bags provided to a customer during the
previous month, at a rate of 4 cents per bag.

e Retailers are required to pay only after their cumulative revenue
from bags exceeds $100 (at least 2,500 bags paid for by
customers)

e Information required for payment is the total number of bags
paid for by customers and retailers’ identity facts



WHAT DO RETAILERS
NEED TO KNOW? (continued)

e Retallers are not required to provide cash
credit for bags that customers voluntarily
bring to the store

e Retallers who provide a cash credit for bags
can continue to do so purchases is not
required in the Law.

e Under the law, retailers must charge
customers for bags and may not provide a
store credit to cover the bag tax amount



WHAT ARE WE DOING TO EDUCATE
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS?

e Created website

e Created fact sheets and FAQ's for residents
and retailers

e Created “kitchen cabinet” of large and small
retailers to advise on most effective ways to
reach out to businesses

e Informally canvassed consumers and front-
line retall employees



REACHING OUT TO
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS

Major retailers

Retall property owners and management firms
Corporations with affinity for environmental issues
Utilities

Business associations and Chambers of Commerce
Media outlets

Environmental groups

Education community (K-12 and higher ed)
Umbrella community groups

Multi-cultural outreach groups

Low income outreach groups

Senior organizations



REACHING OUT TO
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS

(continued)

Messaging and materials will vary based on target
audience demographic

Multi-lingual materials

Dynamic website

Social media (Facebook, Twitter, YouTube)
Media materials

County email taglines

Materials for retailers

Materials for consumers and residents
Consumer advertising on buses



REACHING OUT TO
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS

(continued)

Public Events

e Campaign Kick-off in November
e Bag Distribution Days
e Green Friday



REACHING OUT TO
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS

(continued)

e MCPS involvement

e Canvass at high traffic retail areas and
community events

e Coordinate with community and business
partners

e Publicize at malls and shopping centers
e Information on 311




Phase 5. Distribution of Bags to
Lower Income Households and
Seniors

e Seek counsel and coordinate with community
partners for grassroots outreach

e Free bag distribution days throughout campaign
e First order of 30,000 bags now available

e DEP coordinates with Manna, other non-profit
groups and multiple county agencies to distribute
bags to targeted population

e Elected officials to participate in distribution



REACHING OUT TO
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS

(continued)

Kitchen cabinet
Direct mail (12,000 County retailers contacted)

Two Webinars monthly to brief retailers (led by DEP
and Finance)

Messaging for association partners to send to
membership

Briefings for broad-reaching business groups

Work with retall property owners, management
companies to reach tenants

Workshops for retailers



REACHING OUT TO
RESIDENTS AND RETAILERS

(continued)

e Seek counsel of kitchen cabinet for most
effective approach

e “Train the trainer”

e Countdown flyers in break rooms
e Provide check-out materials

e Coordinate with organized labor



JANUARY OUTREACH
e

e Continue portions of education and outreach
throughout January, including bus ads

e Consumers will have increased focus and
Interest after January 1



GROUPS AND VOLUNTEERS CAN HELP
GET THE WORD OUT ABOUT THE BAG LAW

Handing out flyers at events

e Working with the County to reach out to lower income and
senior residents

Grassroots outreach to our culturally diverse communities
Participating in “reusable bag distribution” days
Putting posters and flyers at work or other locations

Including messages to clients and community members through
newsletters, circulars or listservs

Educating County residents on disposable bag alternatives
Hosting workshops to educate residents



QUESTIONS?
N




