Resolution No.: 17-124

Introduced:

May 10, 2011

Adopted:

May 10, 2011

## COUNTY COUNCIL FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND

By: County Council

SUBJECT: Appointment of the Charter Review Commission

## **Background**

- 1. Section 509, Montgomery County Charter, specifies that a Charter Review Commission shall be appointed by the County Council, within six months after the Council assumes office, for the purpose of studying the Charter.
- 2. The Charter Review Commission must submit its recommendations concerning proposed Charter amendments, if any, to the County Council no later than May 1, of every even-numbered year.
- 3. The Charter Review Commission has eleven members, with no more than six members of the same political party, five of the members shall be appointed from a list of names submitted by the County Executive.
- 4. The Council designates the Chairperson of the Commission and the County Executive designates the Vice-Chairperson.

## Action

The County Council for Montgomery County, Maryland approves the following resolution:

Page 2 Resolution No.: 17-124

1. Appointment of the following County Executive designees to the Charter Review Commission:

<u>Democrats</u>	<u>Republicans</u>
Mark Feinroth Olney, MD	Diane Nash Dillon Kensington, MD
Wendell Hollloway Potomac, MD	<u>Independent</u>
Guled Kassim Derwood, MD	Mariana Cordier Potomac, MD

2. Appointment of the following County Council designees to the Charter Review Commission:

<u>Democrats</u>	<u>Republicans</u>
Jeannie E. Cho, Esq.	Thomas M. King
Rockville, MD	Olney, MD
Molly Mahoney Matthews	Pamela A. Mason
Bethesda, MD	Glen Echo, MD
Jerry Pasternak Silver Spring, MD	Albert J. Pearce Olney, MD

- 3. The County Council designates Molly Mahoney Matthews as Chairperson and the County Executive designates Mark Feinroth as Vice-Chairperson.
- 4. The term of the Commission expires on December 1, 2014.

This is a correct copy of Council action.

Jinda M. Jauer Linda M. Lauer, Clerk of the Council