
If you believe you have been discriminated against by an employer, you may make an inquiry or submit an
intake in one of the following ways:

An intake interview starts the process of filing a claim. During intake, a staff member will ask you about
what happened, when and where it occurred, and who committed the alleged act(s). Staff will determine if
the agency can accept the case and will prepare a formal complaint.

Note: a signed complaint must be filed within one year after the alleged discriminatory act or practice
occurred.

Montgomery County Office of Human Rights (MCOHR)
21 Maryland Avenue, Suite 330

Rockville, Maryland 20850
(240) 777-8450

MC311
(240) 777-8460 FAX

https://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/humanrights

§ By visiting the MCOHR
§ By telephone
§ By fax

§ By mail
§ By printing, filling out and submitting intake form

available at: www.montgomerycountymd.gov/
humanrights/divisions/compliance.html

AGE
DISCRIMINATION

Employment discrimination may occur when
an employer treats you differently than
others because of age in hiring, firing,
assignment, promotion, compensation,
working conditions or benefits.

Fact Sheet About

Unlike Montgomery County law, under the State of Maryland, the Age Discrimination and Employment Act (ADEA) protects
individuals 40 years and older from age discrimination in employment.



Past remedies include:

Staff will either accept
your complaint for
docketing or reject a
claim that does not fall
within MCOHR

If your complaint is
accepted, the parties
discuss the issues and
attempt to settle the
case through a neutral
trained facilitator.

If the complaint does not
settle in mediation, a
staff member will get the
facts from all parties.

If the MCOHR finds
discrimination, a session
similar to mediation may be
scheduled to try to resolve
the issues.

If the MCOHR does not
find discrimination, a
party may appeal the
decision in court or to the
Human Rights Commission
    within 30 days.

All the processes in the
MCOHR are confiden-
tial and details are not
disclosed to the public
(except public hearing).

If the case is not
resolved in conciliation,
a public hearing will be
held, the outcome of
which may be:

You may file a discrimination
case in court after 45 days of
filing the signed complaint at
MCOHR. If you file with the
court, your case with MCOHR
will be closed.

§ Reinstatement of position;
§ Promotion or reassignment;
§ Reinstatement of lost wages and benefits;

§ Compensation;
§ Payment of attorney's fees and costs;
§ Civil penalties
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A decision will be
written and sent to all
parties in the case.
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A fair work environment is important to everyone. There are times when that environment can be
disrupted by discrimination in the workplace.

The Montgomery County Office of Human Rights (MCOHR) enforces laws against discrimination in
employment, housing & real estate transactions, hate/violence, and public accommodations.

§ You are better qualified for the position and
you learn someone younger/older and less
experienced was promoted.

§ Your employer refuses to pay you the current
county minimum wage after you turned 18
years of age and after completing your training
period.

§ Your boss uses inappropriate language to
describe you, a younger/older member of the
staff. For example, “wet behind the ears” or
“old timer.”

§ You along with other employees were laid off,
most were older, while younger workers with
less seniority and less experience were kept
on.

Chapter 27, Article 1, Section 27-20 of the Montgomery County Code requires: “Every employer,
employment agency and labor organization must keep posted in conspicuous places on its premises,
where notices to employees, applicants for employment, and membership are customarily posted, a
notice in the form and language approved by the Commission summarizing the pertinent provisions of
this division and how to file a complaint.”


