Criminal Justice Coordinating Commission


Montgomery County Code Section 2-60 (as amended 2/08)


Promotes the orderly coordination and communication of criminal justice policies among the multiple criminal justice and law enforcement agencies. This Commission provides analysis and information to support the activities of these multiple independent agencies, as well as evaluating the adequacy and organization of law enforcement and the administration of justice in Montgomery County.


32 members total (twenty are ex-officio; see list on the  Committee Members tab). The County Executive appoints, subject to Council confirmation, a member of the MC Council selected by the Council President, a member of the County Legislative Delegation selected jointly by the Chairs of the House and Senate Delegations; 7 members of the public, one of whom must be a member of the Maryland bar who practices law in the County; an employee of the Division of Parole and Probation in the State Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, after giving the Director of the Division an opportunity to make a recommendation; an employee of the State Department of Juvenile Justice, after giving the Secretary of the Department an opportunity to make a recommendation; and a member of the Advisory Board on Victims and their Families, after giving the Board an opportunity to make a recommendation.

Financial Disclosure -- Not required.

Terms -- Appointed members serve three year terms.

Chair and VC -- After considering recommendation of the CJCC, if any, the CE must Designate the Chair and Vice Chair who serve one-year terms.

Meetings -- The Commission must meet at least four times per year.


  • Evaluate the organization and adequacy of law enforcement and the administration of justice in the County;
  • Review and comment, at the request of the County Executive or County Council, on programs proposed by law enforcement and criminal justice agencies for:  long-term impacts on the criminal justice system, feasibility, and implementation issues;
  • Respond to requests from the Executive, Council, and the judicial system for any analysis concerning criminal justice programs;
  • Educate the community about law enforcement, crime prevention, reentry of individuals to the community, and other criminal justice issues, promote respect for law, and encourage community involvement in law enforcement and other appropriate components of the criminal justice system;
  • Facilitate coordination of the programs and activities of County law enforcement and criminal justice agencies;
  • Facilitate coordination of County law enforcement and criminal justice agencies with those of the State and neighboring state and local governments;
  • Promote efficient processing of criminal cases at every stage from arrest to completion of trial and correctional programs;
  • Serve as the Local Advisory Board that reviews and makes recommendations on all County Local Law Enforcement Block Grant (LLEBG) expenditures;
  • Advise the County on how to achieve fair and effective law enforcement, crime prevention, and juvenile justice.
  • The Commission makes reports and recommendations to the Executive and Council as it finds appropriate.
  • The Commission must report to the Council and Executive on request.

Meeting Information

Meetings are currently held in Hybrid format the fourth Wednesday of every other Month, from 7:30am-9:00am.  The In-person location for meetings is the Executive Office Building Auditorium (101 Monroe Street, Lobby Level, Rockville, MD 20850).
Note: In recognition of the Thanksgiving holiday, CJCC has decided to reschedule their November 27th, 2024 meeting to November 20th, 2024 from 7:30am-9:00am.
Please refer to the Montgomery County Boards, Committees and Commissions Meeting Calendar  which will note whether the meeting is being held virtual only or hybrid, with virtual and location details noted.

Meeting agendas will be hyperlinked to their corresponding date when available and include a link to join the meeting virtually using Microsoft Teams.

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes


  • November 20, 2024
  • September 25, 2024
  • July 24, 2024
  • May 22, 2024
  • March 27, 2024
  • January 24, 2024



Committee Members

Appointed Members

Ex-Officio Members


Kurt van der Walde, CJCC Chair

Dawn Luedtke, CJCC Vice Chair
County Council Public Safety Committee  

Marcus Jones, Chief
Montgomery County Police Department 
Rochelle Perry 
Employee - Dept. of Public Safety and Correctional Services,
MD Division of Parole and Probation
Hon. James Bonifant, Administrative Judge
Circuit Court of Montgomery County 
John Nesky, Chief
Chevy Chase Village Police Department 
Frank Duncan
Employee - MD Dept. of Juvenile Services 
Hon. Sherri Koch, Administrative Judge
District Court of Montgomery County
Mark Sroka, Chief
City of Gaithersburg Police Department
Carole Brown
Member - Commission on Juvenile Justice
Karen Bushell, Clerk
Circuit Court of Montgomery County
Victor Brito, Chief
City of Rockville Police Department 
Kathryn Pontzer
Member - Victim Services Advisory Board
Hon. John McCarthy, State's Attorney
State’s Attorney for Montgomery County
Antonio DeVaul, Chief
City of Takoma Park Police Department 
Jeff Waldstreicher 
Member- County Legislative Delegation
Michael Beach, Public Defender
Public Defender for Montgomery County
Maxwell Uy, Sheriff
Montgomery County Sheriff's Office

Open Vacancy

MD Bar Member practicing in Montgomery County


Richard Madaleno, Chief Administrative Officer
Office of the County Executive

Darryl McSwain, Chief
MD National Capital Park Police Department

Marielsa Bernard
Rolando Santiago, Chief
Behavioral Health and Crisis Services
Department of Health and Human Services
Tracy McDonald (Coleman), Assistant Fire Chief
Montgomey County Fire and Rescue Services
Debra Grandy

Dira Treadvance, Chief
Children, Youth and Family
Department of Health and Human Services


School Safety and Security
Montgomery County Public Schools

Florence Jewell
Gail Roper, Chief Information Officer
Department of Technology and Enterprise Business Solutions
Stefan LoBuglio
Ben Stevenson
Director, Department of Correction and Rehabilitation
Eric Schneider


Earl Stoddard, PhD, MPH, CEM
Assistant Chief Administrative Officer, Office of the County Executive