Skip Navigation
DHCA logo
Smoke Alarm Law
English / Spanish (Español)

Community Development Advisory Committee

The Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) is
recruiting new members.

If you are interested in becoming a CDAC member you can learn more about the process here or you can contact Stevens Brown at (240) 777-3685 or by email at

The Community Development Advisory Committee (CDAC) is a diverse group of county residents appointed by the County Executive to make recommendations regarding Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding. Every fall, the CDAC reviews applications for CDBG-funded Public Service Grants, and interviews each of the eligible applicants to determine their capacity and the eligibility and worthiness of their project to receive these funds. If you are interested in serving on this committee or require more information, or if you would like to contact members of the CDAC, please call Luann Korona at (240) 777-3656 or Matthew Greene at (240) 777-3631.

Created MCEO 165-94, dated October 17, 1994; Executive Order No. 176-95; effective date 9/26/95 revised name to CDAC:  Executive Order No. 191-07 effective date 6/19/07 revised to increase membership from 15 to 20.
Purpose Makes recommendations to the Director, Department of Housing and Community Affairs, and the County Executive on applications submitted for the Community Development Block Grant Program and any successors to this program; reviews the consolidated plan and makes recommendations on the plan; and conducts public hearings to review community development needs when necessary.
Membership No fewer than (15) or more than twenty (20) members serving during any given year. Membership should be broadly representative of the County as a whole, with participation encouraged by persons from low income, urban and rural areas, the elderly, women, minorities, persons for whom English is not a native language, persons who are or have been homeless, as well as by persons with physical or mental impairments. Employees of the County, HOC, MNCPPC or elected officials are not eligible to apply.
Terms Members are appointed by the County Executive and serve three year terms. Members may be reappointed by the CE no more than once. The Chairperson will be designated annually by the CE and may serve no more than two years.
Meetings A public hearing is held in October; meetings are held weekly while applications are being reviewed and recommendations developed. (Members will be asked to serve on one of three subcommittees).
Staff Matthew Greene, Sr. Planner, DHCA 100 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, MD (240) 777-363; Fax (240) 777-3653
Membership Members:  Mercy Joseph (Chair), Kenneth Alexander, Jon Cook, Jasper Cox, Angela Dawson, Althea Grey-McKensie, Judith Jamison, Blaise Kapombe, Tracee Matthias, Daniel Prywes, Debra Roane, Aisha Satterwhite, Sheila Williams.