Commission on Remembrance and Reconciliation

The Remembrance and Reconciliation Commission was formed on January 29, 2019, with resolution by Councilmembers Hans Riemer, Will Jawando and Craig Rice. The commission was established to support the goal of bringing the county together to promote a better understanding of our history. The Commission is comprised of community leaders, who will work with the Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) and other stakeholders to help the County claim and install the County's monument commemorating the three locations in the County where lynching have been documented. In addition the Commission will create and install historical markers for each of the three locations, collect and display soil from each of the three locations and design programs to advance the dialogue that the monument, historical markers, and soil collections should foster.

The Commission on Remembrance and Reconciliation is composed of 19 members. Out of 19 members 10 are appointed from public and  have voting rights while 9 non-voting members represent the following agencies of Rockville City and Montgomery County government;  Montgomery County Human Rights Commission; Rockville Human Rights Commission; Lincoln Park Historical Foundation; Maryland: National Capital Park & Planning Commission; Maryland Lynching Memorial Project; Arts & Humanities Commission of Montgomery County; Montgomery College; Montgomery County Public Schools; and Montgomery County Historical Society. Every voting and non-voting member is appointed by the County Executive with recommendation from Montgomery County Office of Human Rights and confirmation by the County Council. 

The Remembrance and Reconciliation Commission meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 4:00 pm. Meetings are open to the public and time and dates of each meeting is published on the official county calendar found on the county website. Meeting information and announcements relating to the Commission can  and also on the Office of Human Rights Calendar found on the agency website. 

Voting Members

Jason Green, Chair

Sheila Bashiri, Vice Chair

Jacqueline Matise Peng, Secretary


Alexa Fraser  

Robert McGarrah  

Aisha Satterwhite  

Jeanne Toungara  

Rev. Timothy  Tutt

Bishop Paul Walker Sr. 

Michael Williams  

Non-Voting Members  

Anthony Cohen  

Okianer Christian Dark  

Suzan Jenkins  

Matt Logan  

Sherlene Lucas  

Oyebisi Olatoye  

Gboyinde Onijala  

Tina Patterson  

Jeanette Rojas  


James Stowe, 240-777-8490, c.240-888-5502  
Anis Ahmed, 240-777-8454, C-240-888-4753