Workforce Development Board


Established by Executive Order, Montgomery County Workforce Development Board 132-15-AM, effective 8/31/2015, amended by Executive Order 132-15-AM1 effective, 7/1/2020.


The Workforce Development Board advises the County Executive on the administration of the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 and serves as a strategic convener to promote and broker effective relationships between the County Executive and economic, education, and workforce partners throughout the local area. The Board is responsible for developing a strategy to continuously improve and strengthen the workforce development system through innovation in, and alignment and improvement of, employment, training, and education programs to promote economic growth.


The Executive must appoint, subject to confirmation by the Council up to 35 members: up to 18 business representatives; of those, 2 must be small businesses; up to 9 workforce representatives, including 2 labor organization representatives and up to 7 community-based/non-profit organization representatives; 8 other members must include: the Chief Executive Officer/President of the Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation; and one representative each from the Maryland Department of Labor Licensing and Regulation; the Maryland Division of Rehabilitation Services; Montgomery College as an organization administering adult education and literacy activities; Montgomery County Public Schools; a four-year post-secondary educational institution in Montgomery County; the director or designee of Montgomery County’s Department of Health and Human Services, and a community action agency representative.

Board Members

Name Business Title
Kevin Armstrong Maryland Works Director of Marketing & Training
Sonya Bruton CCI Health Services CEO & President
Jamie Carmen Atlantic Coastal Cooling & Heating President
Stephanie Crane United Way of the Greater Capital Area Director, Community Impact and Engagement
Mark Drury Mark Drury & Associates
Barbara Ebel Maryland Dept. of Labor Executive Director, Strategic Partnerships
Wyatt Genser Capital Bank Senior Vice President
Scott Goldberg Streamline Management, LLC CEO
Chris Gordon Compass Group, USA VP of Operations
Steve Greenfield Montgomery College Dean of Instruction, Workforce Development & Continuing Education
Courtney Hall Interfaith Works CEO
Yamil Hernandez ExeGi Pharma, LLC Co-Founder
Amelia Kalant UNITE HERE Local 23 | STEP Training Director
Mahesh Kalva AmeriinfoVets Inc. President & Chief Technology Officer
Mary Lang Universities at Shady Grove (USG) Chief Strategy Officer
Vacant MD DOE, Division of Rehabilitation Services Regional Director
Omar Lazo Los Chorros Restaurant Owner
Nagender Madavaram American Center for Community Integration Services President
Roxana Mejia International Union of Painters and Allied Trades Political Affairs Director
Yomi Ntewo Sodexo Senior Director, Talent Acquisition
Conrad Samuels DC Water, Vice President, Transformation & Operations
Grant Shmeltzer Independent Electrical Contractors (Chesapeake) Executive Director
Michelle Bell Smith 1st Choice, LLC CEO
Christa Tichy C&T Electrical Contracting President
Bill Tompkins MCEDC President & CEO
Diego Uriburu Identity, Inc. Co-Founder & Executive Director
Dr. James Bridgers Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Director
Dr. Peggy Pugh Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) Chief Academic Officer
Charlene Muhammad Community Action Agency Executive Director

Meeting Information

Currently the Workforce Development Board meets quarterly by videoconference. When in-person meetings resume, the Board will meet in Rockville.


The new meeting schedule, effective July 1, 2023 is:

  • August 2, 2023
  • October 4, 2023
  • December 7, 2023 - cancelled
  • April 3, 2024
  • February 7, 2024
  • January 4, 2024

The 2024 schedule and meeting agendas:

The 2023 schedule and meeting agendas:

The 2022 schedule and meeting agendas:

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 843 1238 7628
One tap mobile
+13017158592,,84312387628# US (Germantown) 13126266799,,84312387628# US

Dial by your location
        +1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
        +1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
Meeting ID: 843 1238 7628
Find your local number:

Meeting Agendas


Anthony Featherstone
Executive Director
Worksource Montgomery, Inc.
[email protected]

Sarah Van De Weert
Director of Government Relations
WorkSource Montgomery, Inc.
[email protected]