Bicycle and Pedestrian Priority Areas are defined geographical areas in Montgomery County, where the enhancement of pedestrian and bicyclist traffic and safety is a priority. The objective of the BiPPA program is to improve safe bicyclist and pedestrian access to support cohesive neighborhoods and vibrant communities. Thirty BiPPAs have been identified in the county.


First Five BiPPAs

The first five BiPPA areas considered for evaluation and construction are:

  1. Silver Spring
  2. Grosvenor
  3. Glenmont
  4. Wheaton
  5. Veirs Mill/Randolph

The process of identifying and planning specific potential projects within the five identified BiPPAs began in FY 2015 (July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2015). Construction funding became available in FY 2016.

Matt Johnson, AICP
Bikeways Coordinator
Montgomery County Department of Transportation
Division of Transportation Engineering
100 Edison Park Drive, 4th Floor
Gaithersburg, Maryland 20878
E-mail: [email protected]