Holiday Schedules - Recycling/Trash Collections and Facilities

Sign up for text and email alerts!

Our schedules apply to recycling and trash collection service provided by Montgomery County, Maryland, to single-family homes and townhomes. Check whether your address receives County-provided service.

If you live in a municipality, your holiday schedule for recycling or trash collection may be different from the County schedule. See recycling/trash contact information for municipalities.

All items to be collected must be out at the curb by 7:00 a.m. on your collection day.

Which holidays are affected?

We do not make County-provided recycling or trash collection on these County holidays with the following exception: If the actual holiday falls on the weekend , but the County observes the holiday on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, there is no change in the collection schedule .*

  • New Year's Day - January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., Day - third Monday in January
  • Presidents Day - third Monday in February
  • Memorial Day - last Monday in May
  • Juneteenth - June 19
  • Independence Day - July 4
  • Labor Day - first Monday in September
  • Veterans Day - November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day - fourth Thursday in November
  • Christmas Day - December 25

If a County holiday falls during the week (Monday – Friday), all collections scheduled on or after the holiday will be made one day later that week.

Sign up for text and email alerts!

Memorial Day, Monday, May 27, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, May 28, 2024
Tuesday Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Wednesday Thursday, May 30, 2024
Thursday Friday, May 31, 2024
Friday Saturday, June 1, 2024

Juneteenth, Wednesday, June 19, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday June 17, 2024 (NO CHANGE)
Tuesday Tuesday, June 18, 2024 (NO CHANGE)
Wednesday Thursday, June 20, 2024
Thursday Friday, June 21, 2024
Friday Saturday, June 22, 2024

Independence Day, Thursday, July 4, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, July 1, 2024 (NO CHANGE)
Tuesday Tuesday, July 2, 2024 (NO CHANGE)
Wednesday Wednesday, July 3, 2024 (NO CHANGE)
Thursday Friday, July 5, 2024
Friday Saturday, July 6, 2024

Labor Day, Monday, September 2, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, September 3, 2024
Tuesday Wednesday, September 4, 2024
Wednesday Thursday, September 5, 2024
Thursday Friday, September 6, 2024
Friday Saturday, September 7, 2024

* Indigenous Peoples' Day, Monday, October 14, 2024 (NORMAL SCHEDULE)

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is NORMAL
Monday Monday, October 14, 2024 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, October 15, 2024 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, October 16, 2024 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, October 17, 2024 (no change)
Friday Friday, October 18, 2024 (no change)

Veterans Day, Monday, November 11, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, November 12, 2024
Tuesday Wednesday, November 13, 2024
Wednesday Thursday, November 14, 2024
Thursday Friday, November 15, 2024
Friday Saturday, November 16, 2024

Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 28, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, November 25, 2024 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, November 26, 2024 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, November 27, 2024 (no change)
Thursday Friday, November 29, 2024
Friday Saturday, November 30, 2024

Christmas Day, Wednesday, December 25, 2024

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, December 23, 2024 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, December 24, 2024 (no change)
Wednesday Thursday, December 26, 2024
Thursday Friday, December 27, 2024
Friday Saturday, December 28, 2024

New Year's Day, Wednesday, January 1, 2025

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, December 30, 2024 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, December 31, 2024 (no change)
Wednesday Thursday, January 2, 2025
Thursday Friday, January 3, 2025
Friday Saturday, January 4, 2025

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 20, 2025

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, January 21, 2025
Tuesday Wednesday, January 22, 2025
Wednesday Thursday, January 23, 2025
Thursday Friday, January 24, 2025
Friday Saturday, January 25, 2025

Presidents Day, Monday, February 17, 2025

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, February 18, 2025
Tuesday Wednesday, February 19, 2025
Wednesday Thursday, February 20, 2025
Thursday Friday, February 21, 2025
Friday Saturday, February 22, 2025