Holiday Schedules - Recycling/Trash Collections and Facilities

Sign up for text and email alerts!

Our schedules apply to recycling and trash collection service provided by Montgomery County, Maryland, to single-family homes and townhomes. Check whether your address receives County-provided service.

If you live in a municipality, your holiday schedule for recycling or trash collection may be different from the County schedule. See recycling/trash contact information for municipalities.

All items to be collected must be out at the curb by 7:00 a.m. on your collection day.

Which holidays are affected?

We do not make County-provided recycling or trash collection on these County holidays with the following exception: If the actual holiday falls on the weekend , but the County observes the holiday on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, there is no change in the collection schedule .*

  • New Year's Day - January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., Day - third Monday in January
  • Presidents Day - third Monday in February
  • Memorial Day - last Monday in May
  • Juneteenth - June 19
  • Independence Day - July 4
  • Labor Day - first Monday in September
  • Veterans Day - November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day - fourth Thursday in November
  • Christmas Day - December 25

If a County holiday falls during the week (Monday – Friday), all collections scheduled on or after the holiday will be made one day later that week.

Sign up for text and email alerts!

* Indigenous Peoples' Day, Monday, October 10, 2022 (NORMAL SCHEDULE)

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is NORMAL
Monday Monday, October 10, 2022 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, October 11, 2022 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, October 12, 2022 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, October 13, 2022 (no change)
Friday Friday, October 14, 2022 (no change)

Veterans Day, Friday, November 11, 2022

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, November 7, 2022 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, November 8, 2022 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, November 9, 2022 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, November 10, 2022 (no change)
Friday Saturday, November 12, 2022

Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 24, 2022

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, November 21, 2022 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, November 22, 2022 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, November 23, 2022 (no change)
Thursday Friday, November 25, 2022
Friday Saturday, November 26, 2022

* Christmas Day, Sunday, December 25, 2022 (NORMAL SCHEDULE)

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is NORMAL
Monday Monday, December 26, 2022 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, December 27, 2022 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, December 28, 2022 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, December 29, 2022 (no change)
Friday Friday, December 30, 2022 (no change)

* New Year's Day, Sunday, January 1, 2023 (NORMAL SCHEDULE)

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is NORMAL
Monday Monday, January 2, 2023 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, January 3, 2023 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, January 4, 2023 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, January 5, 2023 (no change)
Friday Friday, January 6, 2023 (no change)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 16, 2023

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, January 17, 2023
Tuesday Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Wednesday Thursday, January 19, 2023
Thursday Friday, January 20, 2023
Friday Saturday, January 21, 2023

Presidents Day, Monday, February 20, 2023

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, February 21, 2023
Tuesday Wednesday, February 22, 2023
Wednesday Thursday, February 23, 2023
Thursday Friday, February 24, 2023
Friday Saturday, February 25, 2023

Memorial Day, Monday, May 29, 2023

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, May 30, 2023
Tuesday Wednesday, May 31, 2023
Wednesday Thursday, June 1, 2023
Thursday Friday, June 2, 2023
Friday Saturday, June 3, 2023

Juneteenth, Monday, June 19, 2023

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, June 20, 2023
Tuesday Wednesday, June 21, 2023
Wednesday Thursday, June 22, 2023
Thursday Friday, June 23, 2023
Friday Saturday, June 24, 2023

Independence Day, Tuesday, July 4, 2023

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, July 3, 2023
Tuesday Wednesday, July 5, 2023
Wednesday Thursday, July 6, 2023
Thursday Friday, July 7, 2023
Friday Saturday, July 8, 2023

Labor Day, Monday, September 4, 2023

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, September 5, 2023
Tuesday Wednesday, September 6, 2023
Wednesday Thursday, September 7, 2023
Thursday Friday, September 8, 2023
Friday Saturday, September 9, 2023