Skip to main content

Holiday Schedules - Recycling/Trash Collections and Facilities

Sign up for text and email alerts!

Our schedules apply to recycling and trash collection service provided by Montgomery County, Maryland, to single-family homes and townhomes. Check whether your address receives County-provided service.

If you live in a municipality, your holiday schedule for recycling or trash collection may be different from the County schedule. See recycling/trash contact information for municipalities.

All items to be collected must be out at the curb by 7:00 a.m. on your collection day.

Which holidays are affected?

We do not make County-provided recycling or trash collection on these County holidays with the following exception: If the actual holiday falls on the weekend, but the County observes the holiday on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, there is no change in the collection schedule.

  • New Year's Day - January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr., Day - third Monday in January
  • Presidents Day - third Monday in February
  • Memorial Day - last Monday in May
  • Independence Day - July 4
  • Labor Day - first Monday in September
  • Veterans Day - November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day - fourth Thursday in November
  • Christmas Day - December 25

If a County holiday falls during the week (Monday – Friday), all collections scheduled on or after the holiday will be made one day later that week.

Sign up for text and email alerts!

Presidents Day, Monday, February 17, 2020

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Wednesday Thursday, February 20, 2020
Thursday Friday, February 21, 2020
Friday Saturday, February 22, 2020

Memorial Day, Monday, May 25, 2020

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Wednesday Thursday, May 28, 2020
Thursday Friday, May 29, 2020
Friday Saturday, May 30, 2020

Independence Day, Saturday, July 4, 2020 (no change)

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, June 29, 2020 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, June 30, 2020 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, July 1, 2020 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, July 2, 2020 (no change)
Friday Friday, July 3, 2020 (no change)

Labor Day, Monday, September 7, 2020

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Tuesday Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Wednesday Thursday, September 10, 2020
Thursday Friday, September 11, 2020
Friday Saturday, September 12, 2020

Columbus Day, Monday, October 12, 2020 (no change in scheduled services)

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, October 12, 2020 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, October 13, 2020 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, October 14, 2020 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, October 15, 2020 (no change)
Friday Friday, October 16, 2020 (no change)

Veterans Day, Wednesday, November 11, 2020

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, November 9, 2020 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, November 10, 2020 (no change)
Wednesday Thursday, November 12, 2020
Thursday Friday, November 13, 2020
Friday Saturday, November 14, 2020

Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26, 2020

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, November 23, 2020 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, November 24, 2020 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, November 25, 2020 (no change)
Thursday Friday, November 27, 2020
Friday Saturday, November 28, 2020

Christmas Day, Friday, December 25, 2020

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, December 21, 2020 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, December 22, 2020 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, December 23, 2020 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, December 24, 2020 (no change)
Friday Saturday, December 26, 2020

New Year's Day, Friday, January 1, 2021

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Monday, December 28, 2020 (no change)
Tuesday Tuesday, December 29, 2020 (no change)
Wednesday Wednesday, December 30, 2020 (no change)
Thursday Thursday, December 31, 2020 (no change)
Friday Saturday, January 2, 2021

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 18, 2021

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Tuesday Wednesday, January 20, 2021
Wednesday Thursday, January 21, 2021
Thursday Friday, January 22, 2021
Friday Saturday, January 23, 2021

Presidents Day, Monday, February 15, 2021

If your collection day is Your collection day this week is
Monday Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Tuesday Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Wednesday Thursday, February 18, 2021
Thursday Friday, February 19, 2021
Friday Saturday, February 20, 2021
Go Top