The Office of the Chief has responsibility for the overall management, direction, planning, and coordination of all Montgomery County Department of Police programs and operations. The Chief is responsible for administering the Department in accordance with applicable laws and regulations and ensuring that organizational objectives are met. The offices directly under the Office of the Chief include  Internal Affairs DivisionProfessional Accountability Division and Media & Public Information Office.


Message from the Chief

Chief of Police -Marcus G. Jones

On behalf of the officers and professional staff of the Montgomery County Department of Police, I welcome you to our website. I hope the information provided here will be useful and promote a stronger relationship between the community and our agency.

Our Department is committed to going beyond just responding to calls for service. We want to engage our community in a variety of ways and create partnerships with all our residents to provide the best service for a safer community and reduce crime.

The sworn and professional staff of the Montgomery County Department of Police care about the communities they serve. Our goal is to build solid relationships with the residents, schools, faith communities, and business owners. It is our belief that when police officers and community members take the time to know each other, trust grows and is nurtured. Working together, we can strengthen our neighborhoods and create safe and inclusive communities by preventing and deterring crime.

We are an agency that is dedicated to public safety and strongly committed to service within our communities. It is an honor to serve as the Chief of Police for Montgomery County. Thank you for your interest in the Montgomery County Department of Police.

Marcus G. Jones
Chief of Police


Chief Marcus G. Jones
Montgomery County Police Department
100 Edison Park Drive, 3rd floor
Gaithersburg, MD 20878


[email protected]

Follow Chief Jones on Twitter @mcpdChief

Executive Officer: Lieutenant Sunyoung Kim
Email: [email protected]