Just outside of Washington, D.C., Montgomery County, Maryland, covers 507 square miles and has a population of nearly 1.1 million residents. Home to Brookside Gardens, Strathmore Arts Center, the Capital Crescent Trail, the Josiah Henson MuseumGlen Echo Park, the Olney Theater, and Butler’s Orchard, the county consists of three cities, twelve towns, four villages, and five unincorporated communities. There are 156,000 school-aged children, two dozen lakes, and its county seat is Rockville City.

The Montgomery County Department of Police, located in Montgomery County, Maryland, includes approximately 1,300 sworn officers and 650 support personnel.

The Police Department is structured into the Office of the Chief, under which is the Internal Affairs Division, Professional Accountability Division, Media & Public Information Office, and then five major bureaus: the Community Resources Bureau, the Field Services Bureau, the Investigative Services Bureau, the Management Services Bureau, and the Patrol Services Bureau. The Patrol Services Bureau, the most prominent and visible bureau in the Police Department, oversees most of the Department’s uniformed officers on patrol. The Patrol Services Bureau is divided into six police districts.

Our Mission

The Montgomery County Department of Police's (MCPD) Mission is to safeguard life and property, preserve the peace, prevent and detect crime, enforce the law, and protect the rights of all citizens. We are committed to working in partnership with the community to identify and resolve issues that impact public safety.


{C} {C} {C}

County Executive's Customer Service Commitment

Montgomery County Government is committed to providing exceptional service to our many diverse communities, residents and businesses. I encourage you to contact me if you feel that you have not received excellent service, or have compliments or other comments related to the service you received from your county government.
-Marc Elrich, Montgomery County Executive
Send email to County Executive Marc Elrich